We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local lunch for pre Volcano Park”

Eagles Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local lunch for pre Volcano Park”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a hearty lunch before hiking in the park and so glad we did. They serve an authentic plate lunch daily and amazing sandwiches. Try the cranberry nut bread for your giant sandwhich, half now, half for later during your park day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    135
    42
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You have to try this place for lunch!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Recommended by lonely planet, we thought we would try this place for lunch. Delicious sandwiches and attentive service. Chocolate mousse cake is the best cake we have ever tasted. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went here because of TA reviews. Had great banter with the owner whilst our food was prepared - a real laugh. The food itself was generous and very tasty (beef stew and full tuna sandwich). Place was clean and don't think you could do better anywhere nearby. We were first people to visit from Scotland so got our pictures taken for Hall of Fame!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
214 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A little gem of a deli - fabulous quiche and huge sandwiches - try it!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This little cafe is really just a tiny little room in which to place your order and then some tables and plastic chairs outside. The sandwich was huge and so fresh and original; the desserts looked fabulous. The staff was friendly and helpful. We got our food to go and wished we had gotten the key lime pie to go along with us. The ordering is indeed congested but I would say that it had a spirit of aloha and friendliness and is obviously popular with the locals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PassportTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“typical US roadside cafe to avoid the Visitor center's coffee shop”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just nice people, and a good way to avoid the cafeteria full of tourists at Volcano National Park visitor centre. The cinnamon buns are to die for.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagles Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Eagles Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing