We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing big sandwich”

Eagles Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing big sandwich”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stop here before going in to the park got a sandwich that was enough for two people!!! Had lunch and dinner lol. Nice people :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 808volcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    130
    40
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and giant sandwiches”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast and decided to bring a picnic lunch with is to go. The sandwiches were huge- we easily could have split them. Only my 12 year old son finished his. Very friendly- great to pick up food to go.

Helpful?
1 Thank jbeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Crabby service/ok coffee”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stopped for coffee one afternoon after looking around the volcano area. The lady behind the counter was busy making sandwiches and acted like we were a bother. So we had to wait a few minutes for her to come out which wasn't a big deal but jeez, some friendliness would've been appreciated. We got coffee and I got some carrot cake. It was all ok, nothing great. We sat outside at the patio tables. Alot of the reviews are saying how great this place is......I'm not seeing it. Maybe everyone is in la-la land because they're in Hawaii at the volcano? I don't know but I do know crabbiness at having business coming in your door is off putting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sublimity, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some of the Nicest Staff on the Island”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stopped in for Breakfast and while my Family went to hike the volcano, I stayed behind had visited with staff and a friend of theirs Michelle who has become a personal friend of mine. We sat there for almost 3 hrs. talking!! Staff came out to sing Happy Birthday to me along with a piece of wonderful cheese cake! Thank you for making me feel so welcome :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4buddyTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stopped here after trying a couple restaurants and being disappointed.
The vegetarian chili is some of the best I've had ever.
The sandwich was your basic sandwich, but it was huge and delicious!
Great place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelRachelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagles Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Eagles Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing