We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic little hideaway”
other traveller has booked this property
Rainforest Views from your bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainforest Views from your bed
Apapane (Ah-Pah-Pah-Nay) playing in the Hapu'u tree ferns in the garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Rainforest Views from your bed
Apapane (Ah-Pah-Pah-Nay) playing in the Hapu'u tree ferns in the garden area.
Kalij pheasants can occasionally be seen on the grounds, making soft 'booping' sounds.
Exotic flowers grow amongst the ferns and towering Ohia trees.
A night view of a lava flow - you never know what you might find.
Anthuriums grow brightly under the forest canopy.
Occasionally you'll see a group of Frankolin crossing the road.
Kilauea Crater in Volcanoes National Park is only minutes away.
The gardens contain a few secluded koi ponds for your enjoyment.
This lava gaurdian is actually where lava flowed around a tree in the park.
There are a few lava tubes in the area that you can easily explore - bring a flashlight!
Our beautiful garden paths walk you between the koi ponds and stands of bamboo through the forest.
Well lit graveled paths lead from the parking area.
Koi ponds and ferns along our garden paths.
The park has exotic beauty of many kinds and colors - and many miles of hiking trails.
Hawaii even gets snow in the winter, on the very peaks of the tallest volcanoes.
Kilauea is the active crater, the centerpiece of the park.
Lava sometimes breaks out and heads to the ocean.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mfrieben
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Fantastic little hideaway”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We stayed two nights in the Hiker's Retreat cottage. It's a lovely cottage and it feels very private although it's close to two other cottages. Rain forest all around. Very nicely decorated and the bed sleeps great. It has a fridge and a microwave, could do with an electric kettle perhaps.

5 minutes away from the Volcano National Park entrance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2011
Thanks for the tip! The Hiker's now has an electric kettle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham WA
Reviewed 17 November 2011 for a stay in January 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
danielKei...
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rainforest Cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I stayed in the Hiker's retreat. The 'Alala room. The place is really cute. The hiker's retreat has its own parking spot, a nice path right to your door. The room is very nice. Perfect for a couple. The kitchen consistes of a microwave and fridge. This was perfect for me as I was out hiking most of the day and needed a place to make a quick breakfast and packed lunch. The bathroom is beautifully done. The place is just minutes from the volcano park entrance. BIRDERS NOTE: there are Japanese White-eyes, Kalij Pheasant, 'Apapane and 'Amakihi everywhere around this place and it's close to many great birding areas where Red-billed Leiothrix and Erckel's Francolin can been seen pretty easily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of birds, koi pond.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edsel1330...
Barneveld, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The Hikers Retreat was a GREAT place to spend our nights while visiting the Volcano area. This place was verry clean and well kept. We could not have had a better place to stay, very quite and peaceful. Owner even provided a flashlight for walks after dark a refer and microwave so we could fix a little something to eat. This unit is small and is only big enough for 2 people which worked out perfect for my wife and myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet of the Rain Forest
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKea2...
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

It was a wonderful place to stay! We were at the Hikers Retreat, which is perfect for a couple or one person. I loved the furnishings and the bathroom is really nice. There is a TV with DVDs. The garden is nicely arranged.
I would definitely recommend to someone who wants to escape from the big resorts and have a nice and peaceful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed 6 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HI
Reviewed 16 February 2011 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing