We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location to visit the volcano can't be beat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmizz
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location to visit the volcano can't be beat!”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights in Volcano and thoroughly explored the park. The location of this house is less than 5 mins from the park. We went a number of times at night to see the volcano - a sight not to be missed.
The house is surrounded by a bonafide rain forest -so we got to experience the non-beach side of Hawaii's beauty.
Our host Beate could not have been nicer. She gave us great tips on things to visit and avoid. The house was clean and ready for us when we arrived. The hot tub was a nice thing to do after we returned from night trips!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrafrom...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hideway”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a party of 4 who travelled from Brisbane Australia to Volcanoes National Park and stayed at Maunaloa Cottage in October 2012. We were delighted with the accommodation. We stayed for 2 nights and would stay at this property again.
Before we travelled I contacted Beate who was fantastic and indeed made our stay easy. She told us where in Hilo to get our supplies before heading up the Mountain, as once you are there, you can’t purchase fresh produce. Although the store does stock the necessities – frozen meals, coffee, milk, wine.
The cottage and grounds are gorgeous and for those who desire there is an outdoors shower! The kitchen was brilliant, modern and stocked with everything you need including a coffee perculator.
After almost 24 hours of travelling, it was great to be able to relax in the Jacuzzi, which was all set up and ready to go.
MaunaLoa is in a delightful location, it feels private and secluded and only minutes to the Volcanoes National Park.
The drive from Hilo to Volcanoes is an easy one, but for us Australians we have to drive on the opposite side of the road – a bit of an adventure in itself..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Private Jacuzzi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane14_3
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed in the cottage for two night while we were doing tours of the area. It is a great cottage. There is a gas wood stove, outdoor jacuzzi, laundry facilities and a great kitchen. I would recommend staying here. You are right down the road from Volcano National Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a home to stay in and not a hote.
Liked least: The area is very rainy. So be prepared for rain.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerseyGir...
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The location was wonderful and the hot tub was a welcome bonus!”
Reviewed 22 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Mauna Loa Cottage (aka Lava Tube Hale) is a sweet little cottage in a quiet subdivision on the east side of Volcano. It's only a few minutes from the national park, which is great, and morning walks around the neighborhood were lovely too. The hot tub was an added bonus, especially after a day of hiking or one of the passing rainforest showers. And the onsite lava tube opening was pretty cool.

Be forewarned that there aren't too many groceries in Volcano -- we were told that most folks head to Hilo for food (45 minutes away) but we didn't want to waste time shopping when we were there. Volcano has a couple grocery stores, but not much fresh food and both were pretty expensive. After a bit of searching, we were able to find a couple frozen stir fry dinners, but next time, we'll stock up on the way from the airport.

I read a couple other reviews that pointed out the musty smell of this cottage -- and yes, it was a little bit musty when we first arrived. But I imagine that's a fact of life in the rain forest and it was not a big deal for us. All in all, this suited our needs quite well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porterville
Reviewed 19 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;