We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad and close to thai Thai resturant there in the village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Reviewed 19 January 2007

The less expenive rooms are available even during Marrie Monarch festival - if your lucky - not usually. everything is booked.
I always book the Jade Cottage or a room in the main house.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank krisanderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 30 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
147
Reviewed 27 April 2004

Where to begin? Have you ever gone camping? Then you have experienced better accommodations than this shack.

Let me start by saying we got the cheapest and ONLY room available on the windward side of the Big Island because it was Merrie Monarch week, so we didn't have high expectations.

That being said, for 2 people the "room" was barely big enough for our suitcases and us. We had to cram in along with the dehumidifier (the loudest one on the earth I think), the dorm style fridge and the portable electric heater. There's no TV or phone, so you are completely shut off from the civilized world and there's no way to call for help. The shower was no bigger than a phone booth, but at least we had running hot water.

We spent as little time actually in the room as possible, staying out until we were tired enough to fall asleep ASAP.

Our 2 days were capped off by a visit from a Hawaiian Lava Bug. At least that's what I told my wife it was when she saw it crawling in her suitcase. She admitted after we checked out that she knew it was a good ol' American cockroach, but was too tired at that point to freak out (see above), and that is why I married her, but I digress.

The Big Island is so beautiful that we still enjoyed ourselves, but more so after we left the Lava Lodge. So unless you are as desperate as we were or a masochist stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed: May 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: si definitivamente quieren hospedarse muy cerca de los volcanes esta es la mejor opción!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank almagcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Para grupos de 6 o más personas intenta conseguir las cabañas grandes de 2 plantas de madera en el b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurismoBuendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ホットヨガヨガ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
999 reviews
23.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
19.2 mi away
Pele's Breath
Pele's Breath
#1 of 2 in Pahoa
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Lodge at Volcano Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Lodge at Volcano Village

Address: 19-4084 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range: £120 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lava Lodge at Volcano Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our vacation rentals are located in the heart of Volcano Village. Volcano Village is located in the old Ohi'a rain forest. We are only one mile from the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The popular Volcano restaurants and neighborhood shops are within one block walking distance. We are approximately 27 miles from Hilo and 97 miles from Kona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lava Lodge at Volcano Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Volcano
Lava Lodge At Volcano Village Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing