We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pristine home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Pukeawe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room--cozy wood burning stove
Dining Room
Kitchen
Laundry Room
downstairs bathroom with tub/shower
twin bedroom
Downstairs twin bedroom--roll top desk
Downstairs Bedroom #2--Queen
queen bedroom
Master suite king bed
Master suite sitting area
Master suite
Upstairs master bath with tub/shower
kitchen porch
Sun deck
Side yard patio
Meditation garden
Bamboo
Bird Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
baycity
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pristine home away from home”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was by far the cleanest vacation home we have ever had the pleasure of renting. Absolutely spotless!!
If I did not know better, I would not have known that it was a rental. It was in absolutely excellent condition. Just like home.
We only spent one night in order to explore VNP, but would have been very comfortable at that location for an extended period. They truly have everything you need to have an enjoyable experience.
I would like to thank Joan for her prompt response to my email inquiries and excellent breakfast. What a great way to start our day of exploration.
Thank you for opening your home to my family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super clean home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I'm glad you found our home inviting. We take pride in trying to keep everything in good condition and making sure that all needs are met.
Margaret Pierce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hugs4u
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“They've thought of EVERYTHING!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

When I began looking for a rental near Hawaii Volcano National Park, I was surrounded by options! After studying MANY and sending inquiries about several, I settled on this location. Why? Several reasons...I received a swift response from Joan who answered all my questions, the location and proximity to the park and not an exorbitant cleaning fee, which all others required.

This cottage truly has it all!! It is a gorgeous community with a nearby golf course, the pictures showed it to be super clean and well appointed. The cottage lived up to the photos and then some! The kitchen appliances are super clean and high end quality. The kitchen counter-tops look brand-spanking new, no clue if they really are. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and shiny clean. In fact, the entire cottage is so beautifully decorated and appointed! It is clear that the owner takes great pride in making this cottage beautiful, homey and comfortable as opposed to stuffy or lower "rental quality". This feels just like you are staying at a favorite family member's home, warm and welcoming!

The refrigerator holds some staples, such as condiments. There are flashlights for outside walks, umbrellas should you need them, DVD movies for entertainment. I really appreciated the free WiFi and instructions how to connect. You want for NOTHING at this charming cottage!

Joan could not have been sweeter upon greeting us and offering great directions to the cottage, how to use the security system, etc. Unfortunately, our hiking schedule did not allow us to partake of the nice breakfast she provides, but the reviews say that it is incredible. Next time!

The grounds are gorgeous and peaceful. We were witness to the local, wild pheasants that roam the ground, we saw a random chicken in the back yard, and delighted at the provided birdseed so we could watch the saffron finches feast! Chairs are provided for some quite time after a long day's hiking.

The cottage can be cool at night, but in September we had no need to light the fire. A few degrees cooler and we may have had to, so come prepared.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COTTAGE!! I promise you, you will not be disappointed!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness. Wish I could grade better than
Liked least: Having to leave so soon!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greglena
Fair Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice break from the heat”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Great place. I think the recent reviews summed it up pretty well so I will concentrate on a few things that stood out for us:

-DVD collection was great, with some relatively recent titles too.
-Place was by far the cleanest and most modern of the houses we stayed at on our trip to the big island.
-All the rooms were pleasant to stay in.
-Having birdseed available for feeding the pheasants and other birds was a great idea. It was nice to hear them clucking around in the mornings.
-Other than wind gusts that occurred occasionally the cabin was quiet. It was one of the few places on the island where I didn't hear those noisy coqui frogs at night.
-Cabin was in a good location. It was in a quiet residential neighborhood, yet only about 5 minutes from the national park entrance and 6-7 minutes from stores and restaurants in Volcano village.

Overall the cabin was put together very well. We own a vacation rental in northern California and plan on borrowing a few ideas.

Note on the weather: the cabin is located around 4000 ft, and it will be cool at night. Our rental car's temperature gauge indicated 58 degrees around 9 PM. Be prepared to start a fire as that's the main source of heat for the cabin (fire starters are thoughtfully provided). Also the climate can change drastically in just a mile. The cabin is on the "sunny" side of the volcano area, which is a relative term. The weather is much better than at Joan's (manager and breakfast provider) place, but during our stay we frequently encountered misting rain at the cabin. The good news is that, if you want a break from rain, the weather can be even better just a few minutes away. Try the Bird Park, just a mile or two to the south on Highway 11. In addition the Jagger museum, which is a couple miles inside the national park, was noticeably drier (with less vegetation to prove it) than at the park entrance.

Note on lava walks: When we were here, views of the hot lava were accessible from Kalapana which is outside the park and a ways away from the park entrance. In addition the use of private tour guides were required. If you decide to do the walk you may want to stay closer to Kalapana especially if you do the night walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice place to stay when not exploring the park.
Liked least: No complaints with the cabin
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Thank you for the positive and thorough review of our cottage and the surrounding area. We appreciate your taking the time to write the review.
Mike and Margaret Pierce
Owners of Pukeawe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Su H
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming and cosy”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A friend and I stayed for just one night and wished we could have stayed longer. It was homely, comfy, quiet and had many quirky little collectibles which just added to its charm.

Had it been sunny we would have enjoyed the little garden.

The owners have thought of everything. Torches, umbrellas, ponchos, electric blankets in the beds, coffee machine etc.

Thanks to Joan for being so welcoming. Unfortunately we didn't have time for her breakfast.

We hope someone enjoyed all the chocolate we accidentally left behind in the fridge. We missed it terribly!

SH

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: Couldn't get shower downstairs to convert from bath
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2013
Thank you for submitting your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your short stay and so sorry you
forgot your chocolate.
I am sure someone else did enjoy it.
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizziesmo...
North Canton, Oh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, daughter, son and his wife and I decided to stay at Pukeawe Cottage so we could be close to Volcanoes National Park. We were extremely pleased with our decision. For starters, Joan, the cottage manager, was prompt in her replies to my inquiries about availability and cost. Once we arrived at the cottage, we found that it was exactly as advertised. The rooms were immaculate and the wood ceiling and furniture gave the cottage a very cozy feel. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms and kitchen were well equipped. We enjoyed reading the album with information about the cottage and its surroundings, which the owners provided. The owners also provided Wi-Fi, TV, CD's, DVD's and board games so, if you spend a lot of in the cottage, you'll never be bored. Nature lovers will enjoy the garden and the birds that inhabit it, especially the pheasants.

Pukeawe is around the corner from the Volcano Golf and Country Club and a short drive from the entrance to Volcanoes National Park. It is also close to Kilauea Lodge, where we ate dinner one night and breakfast the next morning. I'll definitely stay at Pukeawe again if I get back to the Big Island. If you stay there, you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, layout, cleanliness and value for our money.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and
hope you return in the future.
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan C
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous, cozy and welcoming home.”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with our daughter, her husband, 2 grandsons (4 & 6) and us two Grannies. From the moment we entered we were thrilled. Clean, beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, everything available we could want - flashlights and rain ponchos for volcano watching- comfy beds, a wood stove to beat the chill air. We will return on our next trip to Volcano.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return. If there is anything that we need to improve please let us know. Mike and Margaret (owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denezy
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location, perfect hostess”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Right from the start, we knew this stay was going to be something special. Joan always returned my emails quickly, professionally and answered all my questions clearly. Booking with her was easy.

I stayed at Pukeawe Cottage with two girlfriends for just two nights so we could spend a full day exploring Volcanoes National Park, but we all wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage is in pristine condition, very clean and lots of extra directions are left in the house book (make sure you read it!) The weather was quite cool and rainy for our visit (we felt quite blessed by Pele) so we took full advantage of the wood stove and many space heaters. We were completely cozy and comfortable.

Also loved to take advantage of the delicious breakfast at Joan's house, just a few minutes up the road. She sure knows how to take care of you!! We felt like family and can't wait to come back!

Volcanoes National Park is just a few minutes up the road. The winery is practically in your backyard and definitely worth a visit at happy hour.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing