We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homie, comfortable, relaxing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Centennial, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homie, comfortable, relaxing.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Very detailed and well thought out living, charming, beautiful, senses are stimulated with the rainforest setting, landscaping, birds. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with heavenly waffles with berries and fresh whipped cream, fresh fruit, and very good coffee. Hostess, Joan, made you feel comfortable, good conversation, and great sense of humor. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloryP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Hale Iki, the Little House, that is run by Joan of the Country Goose and let me tell you, the 3 nights we stayed were the highlight of our trip. The cottage is absolutely incredible - from the hidden driveway, the path that leads you into the rainforest, and then this beautiful house appearing out of the trees and ferns. The house is perfect - we were there in June and had rain one night while we were there and had no problems with dampness or anything like that. The house is perfectly set up for a couple on a romantic vacation - fireplace for the chilly nights (we used it once while were there, and it was late-June!), mini-fridge, stove and oven, 2-person tub, windows all over that look out into the forest, wrap around porch, even a washer & dryer so you don't have to go home with so many dirty clothes from vacation! We arrived late on our first night, and Joan had given me the perfect directions to follow (which was great, because it was so dark out) and had our keys waiting on our bullentin board for us with drawn out directions on how to get to this hidden gem. Recommendation: If you can schedule it to get there during the light hours, do it, it is very dark throughout this entire area and makes it difficult to find your way to a new place (plus, comfort levels). We enjoyed breakfast with Joan (and her grandson and his children) at her house, which is located just about a mile away, before heading off to the HVNP for hiking and exploring. This is an awesome place to stay and we can't wait to return!! Thank you Joan and family for a memorable and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed in the Pukeawe Cottage for three days and loved it. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed (see separate Trip Advisor Pukeawe Cottage page for detailed reviews). It was nice to take a break from the heat at the lower elevations.

Joan provided the best breakfast, especially appreciated by our two boys ages 12 and 14. Depending on the day we either had waffles, pancakes, or French toast with handmade whipped cream and syrup, plus scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit and coffee. Definitely didn't go hungry.

Joan was a great host and provided some good advice on things to do in the area (hikes and drives within the park). It was nice to hear her perspective on the goings on around the island.

Room Tip: This B&B is really a collection of nearby vacation homes, and Joan provides breakfast at her hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greglena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Firstly a word of warning - if you go to Volcano expecting wall-to-wall sunshine think again. This place is 3,500 feet above sea level in the tropics. The B&B is great though and surrounded by lush foliage. Room was comfortable, adequate and peaceful. Breakfast time with Joan is great - lovely home cooked food and interesting conversation with Joan and other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. It was our first stop. Room was nice and bed really comfortable. Loved the feeling of being in a rainforest. Slept with windows open to hear all the critters outside. Joan's breakfasts were absolutely fantastic! Her waffles and french toast are to die for! By far the best breakfasts in our entire 2 weeks. We are more b & b type of people than resort, so this place was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent two nights in the Hale Iki last week. It is rustic and private and really does sit in the center of the rain forest. Humidity is an issue, particularly if unit is not used regularly. The dehumidifier had been running and was full. We kept it running while we were gone but did not find the moisture a problem. There is a wood burning stove which we used ( dry kindling would be nice as fire was challenging to get started). Small but adequate kitchen and a loft bedroom. If you cant handle tight stairs dont rent this unit.
Breakfast was at "Joan's", about a mile or so away. She is a very nice and knowledgeable lady who does her best to make people comfortable. Her breakfasts are served as early as 7am which is nice for an early start. They are comfort food and were a perfect start to our active days.
This is not a luxury experience and if you set your expectations too high you will be disappointed. However, we had a very enjoyable experience and take away fond memories.
As an aside, we had a great evening hike with Volcano Discovery Tours which provided viewing of the lava flow into the sea as well as surface flows. See my review if interested. Also did the Kilauea Iki Trail hike which is a good 2-3 hour hike. I like to tell folks that we are in our 60s and while both activities are challenging, they are doable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJDOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in the B&B and it is the type of experience we used to find years ago before B&B in the US became synonymous with luxury. We were shown to a bedroom in someone's home. It's rather like staying with a relative, but with the privacy of a separate entrance and bath. The furnishings were adequate (photos accurate), though the room was rather full. The bathroom was adequate. I would suggest heavier curtains on the windows. It just felt too exposed with the blinds and sheers. Not much light there, though.

A full breakfast shared with guests from the various houses/cottages along with the hosts. This type of B&B is not for people wanting privacy. The spread was generous and good--sausage, eggs, waffles, fruit. We ate twice as much as we usually would for breakfast.

Neighborhood is dark, so plan to arrive during daylight or drive slowly and follow directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
868 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
869 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Goose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Address: 113870 Ruby Avenue, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Goose Bed and Breakfast and Rental Homes is the premier destination spot on the Big Island of Hawaii. Relax and let Joan take care of everything including an amazing breakfast including Kona coffees and all the best traditional Hawaii foods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing