We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hale iki is a Jungle Paradise!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hale iki is a Jungle Paradise!!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

With each step we took down the heavily wooded path our excitement grew. When we rounded the last corner we couldnt believe our eyes. We were going to be sleeping in a perfect rain jungle. And it was pouring rain! The wall to wall windows made it seem as if we were sleeping outside. The gentile sound of the rain put us right to sleep. There was a well stocked fireplace all ready to go with a paper log starter. Even though breakfast was included we bailed because we couldn't bring ourselves to leave till check out. The volcano park was closed, thanks Feds, but staying here made up for that and then some.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaNYandRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is my 6th or 7th trip to Volcano National Park and each time staying at the charming Country Goose homes. The Country Goose has 7 or 8 properties and I'm very pleased to say none have disappointed me. My most recent trip I picked the the Hale Iki, a charming bungalow situated in the fern forest. With a winding path and dense fern forest all round, it felt like you were miles from civilization (but really just 200 feet from the road and the car). The atmosphere here is "simple mountain cabin" but with all the amenities including full kitchen, charming tub, and fireplace. Would not recommend more than 2 people but good cozy for 2. Part of the "country goose" experience is joining the hostess of the country goose in the morning for a hearty breakfast and conversation with hostess Joan and fellow travelers from all over the world. The accommodations are clean, comfortable and upscale. Service friendly and professional. This is much like many bed and breakfast inn's but with your own separate property and more personal attention. Definitely unique and charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We (2 teenage daughters and Wifey) have just stayed at Hale Oma'o cottage via Country Goose for four nights. Apart from a bit of trouble finding Country Goose HQ on arrival night everything was fantastic. The cottage is a couple of hundred yards away from Joan and the Highway but the rainforest garden and peaceful setting are excellent for exploring Volcano and the whole of Big Island. Joan gave us hearty breakfasts every day and really useful advice on what to do/see based on our own ideas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in the Hale Iki, which is the coolest little cottage that Joan from the Country Goose manages. It was exactly what we wanted and loved our time there.

That being said, there were a few cob webs in the corners and there wasn't enough hot water to fill up the giant bath tub. The bedding could also stand to be updated. Breakfast is also included, which is a nice touch, but it is at Joan's house and you do have to drive to get there. It would have been nice to have the option of a breakfast basket or something delivered to the cottage.

We enjoyed talking with Joan and seeing the other side to Country Goose, she is a lovely hostess however I don't think the rest of Country Goose's accommodation is quite our style.

We did love the Hale Iki though, and if you're looking for a rustic, romantic getaway in the rainforest, this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maitai008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This place was beyond my expectations and so was the hospitality that we were greeted with.. Jane has lots of aloha to share! The fern forest was such an amazing get away-you can listen and tune into the wildlife and get lost in the experience. The fireplace was an awe sum addition as the nites get chilly here and nothing like cuddling by a fire. Didn't get to use the tub tho..only unwelcoming thing due to spiders in the tub but thats expected in nature.. All in all this place has it all if u want to retreat into the woods and breathe in the beauty of a simple peaceful and quiet fern forest!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Very detailed and well thought out living, charming, beautiful, senses are stimulated with the rainforest setting, landscaping, birds. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with heavenly waffles with berries and fresh whipped cream, fresh fruit, and very good coffee. Hostess, Joan, made you feel comfortable, good conversation, and great sense of humor. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloryP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alturas, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Hale Iki, the Little House, that is run by Joan of the Country Goose and let me tell you, the 3 nights we stayed were the highlight of our trip. The cottage is absolutely incredible - from the hidden driveway, the path that leads you into the rainforest, and then this beautiful house appearing out of the trees and ferns. The house is perfect - we were there in June and had rain one night while we were there and had no problems with dampness or anything like that. The house is perfectly set up for a couple on a romantic vacation - fireplace for the chilly nights (we used it once while were there, and it was late-June!), mini-fridge, stove and oven, 2-person tub, windows all over that look out into the forest, wrap around porch, even a washer & dryer so you don't have to go home with so many dirty clothes from vacation! We arrived late on our first night, and Joan had given me the perfect directions to follow (which was great, because it was so dark out) and had our keys waiting on our bullentin board for us with drawn out directions on how to get to this hidden gem. Recommendation: If you can schedule it to get there during the light hours, do it, it is very dark throughout this entire area and makes it difficult to find your way to a new place (plus, comfort levels). We enjoyed breakfast with Joan (and her grandson and his children) at her house, which is located just about a mile away, before heading off to the HVNP for hiking and exploring. This is an awesome place to stay and we can't wait to return!! Thank you Joan and family for a memorable and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
846 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Goose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Address: 113870 Ruby Avenue, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Goose Bed and Breakfast and Rental Homes is the premier destination spot on the Big Island of Hawaii. Relax and let Joan take care of everything including an amazing breakfast including Kona coffees and all the best traditional Hawaii foods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing