We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful cottage!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2005

We stayed at the Hale Koa Nani cottage. It was a beautiful cottage. It had everything one could possibly need including flashlights, games, movies books. We ( 2 adults and 2 kids) absolutely loved the cottage. It is very close to the Volcanic National Park. So we could go hike there in the morning, come back, rest and have dinner and go back for the night viewing. There are not many restaurants in the village. We went to the Thai Thai restaurant and we were told there was an hours wait so we chose to do a takeout. So you might want to make dinner reservations. The breakfast was only so-so and not very plentiful either. You are better off fixing your own breakfast at the cottage.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jand12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2005

We were very pleased staying at the Country Goose and would highly recommend it. Joan made us feel welcome and was informative on questions we had about the area.
We were very impressed at the cottage we were staying at. It was very large and accomodated us nicely (our 8 yr. old son was with us).
The B & B is located in the middle of a rainforest and it was certainly a unique experience. We have family that lives 2 blocks from The Country Goose.
The Volcano National Park was certainly a different experience, one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous12852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2005

We were on our honeymoon and the Hale Iki cabin tucked in the middle of the jungle was just perfect. It had everything you could possibly need . I especially loved the wrap around porch or deck that it had. I noticed that some previous posts mentioned spider webs and that it could be cleaner. We didn't have that experience at all. The place was very clean. I highly recommend it and wished I could have stayed longer than just two nights.
The rate is very reasonable, especially when you get a huge delicious breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2005

We stayed 4 nights at the Hale Iki and had a wonderful stay. This cabin is tucked away in the woods- very secluded and romantic. The place was not fancy but a great place to come back to after a long days hike in Volcano National Park (only 5 minutes away!). The stairs up to the loft are a bit narrow and the loft heats up very quickly. There were some spiderwebs inside so it could have been cleaned a bit better but we were in the midst of the forest so this can be expected. But the overall atmosphere was great- my husband loved that we had this place all to ourselves. Joan was very helpful in recommending restuarants and hikes in the park. The town of Volcano is small but the restaurants were great. We recommend the Lodge for a fancy meal, Volcano House and Thai restaurant for more casual dining. Pizza place is good but a bit overpriced. We enjoyed Volcano more than Kona and Hilo. Plan on staying out here a few nights if you want to see the Volcano in all its glory.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2005

If you ever need a wonderful place to stay near the Volcano, Joan Earley’s Country Goose will meet or exceed every expectation. My wife and I have been staying at the Country Goose every year since 1992 and love it. We usually stay in one of her vacation cottages rentals and meet her in the main house for a sumptuous breakfast.
The cottages are immaculate, comfortable and cute, (we have stayed in many). Beds in all cottages are clean and with just right pillows and mattresses. The kitchens are well stocked with all appliances and utensils necessary to prepare and serve good meals.
Joan’s breakfasts are an experience you will not soon forget. This generally starts with a healthy serving of island fruits. She serves egg dishes along with a selection of a couple of breakfast meats, and some form of breakfast bread (waffles, French toast, pancakes, crepes or if you are lucky her “baked oatmeal”). The meal is always accompanied by juice, coffee and/or tea. Breakfasts are even more enjoyable because of the warm conversation. Joan always introduces everyone and we share our Hawaiian adventures.
Joan has a wealth of knowledge about the area. She knows and shares the condition of the volcano (the main attraction in the area) and all the hiking trails and will tell you how to get to almost anyplace on that part of the island. She is a gracious hostess with cheerful, helpful disposition. If fact she is just “good people”
On thing that visitors should be aware is that the elevation is 3500 feet plus… It is 20 to 30 degrees cooler than the sea level Hawaiian attractions. A light jacket is welcome in the evening.
All cottages are readily accessible and are near the Volcano National Park, golf course and winery. There is a virtual cornucopia interesting things to do and see in the area.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2005

My husband and I have been annual visitors to Hawaii every year for the past 14 years. It took us a few years before we discovered the Country Goose and we have been staying with Joan ever since. The Country Goose is located very conveniently to the Volcanoes National Park. The accommodations are well furnished and always very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are exceptional - offering a delicious variety of food that keeps us satisfied all day for our hikes in the park. Joan is a wonderful host. She is knowledgeable about the area and goes that "extra mile" to make sure you are well taken care of. We always look forward to staying with Joan. I would highly recommend the Country Goose to anyone.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2005

I have spent 4 trips with Joan at the Goose, twice in the main house on short visits and once at the remote Hale Iki and once at the Hale Oma'O, two of her rentals homes for 3 weeks stays. Joan will do or fix anything for you, just ask, and she knows the island like no one else. I go because the Volcano Park is the most amazing place on earth, and I've spent months exploring it and have much yet to see. It's at 4000' elevation, so it's 50 degrees in the morning, but it's a big breakfast with Joan and a 10 minute drive to the main crater to see if the ground is still where it was yesterday. Awsome. Short drive to darling Hilo or Kapoho for Snorkeling, day trip to Hamakua rain forests or Kohala beaches, best in the world, or drive the saddle road to get to the the big volcanoes. I can spend a day or 2 over in Kona where most Hawaii tourists flock to, but then I can't wait to get over to Volcano to see Joan, and start exploring. If you're not happy with Joan's accomodations or hospitality, you belong at a Hilton, not at a nature retreat. My favorite place, can't wait to get back and try another rental home . . .

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
0.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Goose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Goose Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Goose Bed & Breakfast
Address: 113870 Ruby Avenue, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Goose Bed and Breakfast and Rental Homes is the premier destination spot on the Big Island of Hawaii. Relax and let Joan take care of everything including an amazing breakfast including Kona coffees and all the best traditional Hawaii foods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Goose Bed & Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing