We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oma's Hapu'u Hideaway”
Review of Volcano Hideaways

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Hideaways
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Oma's Hapu'u Hideaway is a lovely cottage in a rain forest setting just outside the Volcanoes national park.

The cottage is beautiful, very private, and very comfortable. We loved all the funny animal decorations inside the house.

One tip for the owner: WiFi inside the cottage would be great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeEnj0yTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

We have stayed for two nights at the very lovely and cozy The Maid's Quarters. You can just feel the love Todd and Jillian have put in this place, which is the perfect starting point for visiting Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (don't forget to come back after dark for some amazing sights).
Nice free WiFi, Greta outdoor Spa bath and a good bed - we were sorry to be leaving after two days already...

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rcp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent 3 idyllic nights at the Maid's Quarters, part of the Volcano Hideaway. It was the most lovely relaxing place to which to return after a day of hiking volcanoes, lava fields, or black sand beaches. The cottage was beautifully and comfortablly decorated with the best bed I slept on all vacation. The grounds were lush and beautiful. Though we did not avail ourselves of it, there was a lovely gazeboed hottub in the garden. Our hosts were personable and available but not at all intrusive. I cannot more highly recommend this magical place so fairly priced.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank redcat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed in the Maid's Quarters and our friends stayed in the larger house with 3 bedrooms for two nights. We had beautiful weather and we loved staying here. The owners are personable; the cottages are outfitted with every detail. I had the feeling they have collected lovely wallhangings, art, stained glass along the way. The sheets on the beds are luxurious and I loved the bed at the Maid's Quarters.
The prices are fair. Enjoy your stay.

We ate one breakfast att he Lodge, one dinner at Thai Thai, a lunch at Cafe Ono. We made the best choices and the food is just OK. Great Pineapple Salsa at the market, near the house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaiibettina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Such a unique and lovely appointed cottage. It has every possilbe convenience you would require for your stay. Todd and his wife thought of every detail when setting up this wonderful and peaceful place. Not even a 2 minute drive to the VolcanoesNational Park entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Situated in the quaint town of Volcano Village, the Volcano Hideaways properties really are hideaways. Far from the hustle and bussle of the resort beaches, Volcano Hideaways offers up relaxation and peace after a long day of hiking and exploring Volcanoes National Park. After dinner, take a quick ride back to the park to view the glowing cauldron of Halema`uma` crater at night. Staying at Volcano Hideaways is a once in a lifetime type of experience.

Room Tip: All of the properties are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We've stayed at all three Volcano Hideaway houses and all are very special, each in their own way. Haunani House is our favorite. Todd and Jillian are the best and pay close attention to details...no mildew on these shower curtains.

It's close enough to Hilo and also the Black Sand Beach at Punalu'u, yet a million miles away at night. Cool nights, comfortanle beds and furniture make lounging around and sleeping easy. We enjoy a short walk to grab a bite or a shot, or to pick something up at one of the two general stores.

Yea, there are lots of places in the Village you can stay. But there is a reason why we ALWAYS say with Todd and Jillian. No, I lie, there are lots of reasons. But, go and see for yourself...you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank skaughth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hideaways

Address: 6 Hale Ohia Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £99 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering three vacation rental houses in the heart of Volcano Village, at a cool 4000ft elevation, near the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Owners live just across the lane, and are available to offer advise on how to enjoy yourselves in the Volcano area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Hideaways Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing