We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, room and service”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent one night in the Pele suite. Spacious room, comfortable setting and fabulous breakfast. 5 minutes from Volcano National Park. Very easy to find and would go back again. Great recommendations for the town and area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    130
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
115
177
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed in the garden room which was very spacious. It had 2 queen beds, a sink in the room along with electric fireplace. The fireplace was really useful. Volcano is in the rain forest and when we got to the room in late evening, it was a little damp but as soon as we turned the fireplace on, it was warm and cozy. We turned the fire off when going to bed and the room stayed nice and warm. There were clean bathrobes which was great too and not many places provide these.

Location is super close to the volcano national park and we went out to see the glow in the night (when it was all fogged up) and again in the morning when it was amazing :) There are flashlights and hiking sticks that you can borrow for the hikes in VNP.

Robert was very helpful with suggestions about dining options which are within a mile of the place.

Highlight of the stay was, of course, the scrumptious hot breakfast with other wonderful guests. There were blueberry and macadamia pancakes (my personal favorite) with all types of exotic syrups including passion fruit, very tasty fresh cooked sausages and eggs from the free range chicken,

I would highly recommend this place. It was the best we stayed at during our week on the big island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJm0m0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Only had 2 nights to spend on Volcano, but after a bit of research, I came across the Aloha Junction B+B. Had the Pele rooms there, which was perfect for a couple plus 12yo kid. Close to the park and happenings in Volcano and Robert was a really friendly and efficient host. Breakfast all ready on the table at 8am, ready to fill you up before you get out into nature. Bet you can't finish all that he puts in front of you !
Great place, cannot think of a thing that you would need that wasn't provided. You could also borrow rain gear, umbrellas etc if you didn't have then with you and you get caught out in the rain/drizzle. Use the heater provided in winter - warms up the rooms nicely at night.
Thanks for a great base for the Volcanoes trip !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Aloha Junction for 5 nights in September. We travelled the Hawaiian Islands for two weeks and we wished we had stayed there for longer! Robert is a very kind host. He prepared an excellent breakfast with generous portions every morning and he was very helpful for advice about the island. We came primarily for the volcanoes National Park and the B&B could not have been better placed. Unfortunately there was no active lava, but fortunately this means we have an excuse to return to Volcano and we hope to stay with Robert again!
Matt and Becky

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for three nights and were bothered by the inconsistency in service, cleanliness and maintenance. The positives are the location both to Volcano NP and the community of Volcano's restaurants and services, and the garden setting of the B&B. Everything else ranges from OK to poor. Lots of amenities but who wants a large bottle of mouthwash, half full and covered with dust next to the sink. At breakfast there was a very large selection of syrups and special sauces available to go on the pancakes/waffles. But the bottles ranged from full to empty some heavily used and sticky to handle, some seldom used and well past a "sell by" date. The sun room could be delightful place to sit and look at the birds/garden, but the windows were so streaked and dirty it was difficult to see out.
We stayed in the Garden Room and it was spacious and clean in the "middle" but, after a good first impressions, we began to notice mold on the ceiling corners and trim that had not been painted, skylights that had not been hosed off in ages, etc. etc. Our three breakfasts were also inconsistent ranging from excellent to poor.
We have lived in tropical climates and understand the difficulty of dealing with issues that rain and humidity bring. But in our opinion this B&B is on a slippery slope to unacceptable accommodations. As the saying goes, "The devil is in the details" and this B&B has a lot of cleanliness and maintenance details that need attention.With some effort the B&B could move from less than average to outstanding.
We would not go back.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is spacious and has a lovely feature of double doors opening on to a large deck with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verdetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in August 2013. It really was one of the best B&B`s I have ever stayed. Everything you could need from sunscreen to slippers to wifi was provided. It is located just in the town of Volcano a few minutes from the National Park entrance. Breakfast was cooked for us, the rooms were clean and tidy, couldn't have asked for more. Be sure to have dinner at the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheyneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There were 12 of us in our party, so Robert agreed to rent us the entire house. Rain gear, flashlights, blankets, hair dryers, plenty of coffee and tea, plus full use of the kitchen made our stay easy and enjoyable. It was a relief to be able to come "home" after a full day of hiking and sight seeing and be able to cook up some snacks for the kids and relax without worrying about finding a restaurant for dinner. The location was PERFECT - literally minutes away from Volcano National Park. Robert also had some other great ideas for local exploring, including Ahalanui Park where we swam in the naturally heated pool. Aloha Junction itself is nothing fancy, so if you are looking for luxury accommodations, this is probably not your place, but if you are looking for authentic easy friendly Hawaii, stay here. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, and Robert was nothing but kind in dealing with some of the food issues in our party. Having raised 4 children himself, Robert did not make us feel like we had to shush our kids and make them seen and not heard. Rather, they were free to explore and play and enjoy the wild beauty. Twelve thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19-4037 Olapalapa Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloha Junction B&B is located in Volcano Village just behind the Post Office noted for proximity to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 1 mile away and restaurants in town. Guests also enjoy the 1930's old plantation structure providing five spaciousness rooms and electric blankets for those chilly nights in the rainforest. In addition free parking and well attended-to children are welcome. Each room has it's own coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave but best of all are Robert's breakfasts. One of his specialties are the Papaya-banana boats with macadamia-nut pancakes. After spending time in this "Drive-in" style National Park, most people want to include some evening time to walk out to the overlook of Halemaumau Crater ~ which convinces even the strongest skeptics that Kilauea is an active volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Junction Hotel Volcano
Aloha Junction b&b
Aloha Junction Bed And Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing