We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer”
Reviewed 3 July 2006

We stayed in the Garden Suite at Aloha Junction for one night in June.

It was better than the pictures on their website because the room was remodeled into a suite. The breakfast was awesome! The host, Robert, was friendly and helpful. The other two couples there liked it very much, too.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    132
    36
    11
    11
See reviews for
117
181
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

We stayed one night only, in the Alpine room. It was recomended to us by a local we met in Kona. Most of the reviews below are right on. I just wanted to update and add a few things. The Alpine room now has its own bathroom. Free wifi internet (a computer/printer is also available). Price was about $100 (The wonderfull breakfast is worth that much by it's self). The place looked/smelled very clean to me. Host was great. It was cool to hear Volcano facts from a local who has seen it in action.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2005

Cannot say enough good things about this place. the location, robert (the owner), the room, everything was just great.

ended up in the pele suite and had a great stay. would definitely recommend staying here to anyone

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2005

We recently got back from Hawaii. We hiked all day at the volcano and was exhausted when we arrived at Aloha B & B. Robert opened the gate for us and showed us our room. The Garden Room was roomy enough for my husband, myself and our son who slept on a futon. On some other posts it mentioned that the room smelled musty. It was very faint and not a big deal. Volcano is a very moist town due to the rain. It probably is an issue everywhere. We had a t.v. in our room. We did share a bathroom but the next morning exceeded our expectations. Robert made the best macadamia pancakes I have ever had. We also met some other nice people from Germany and San Diego. I thought Aloha B&B was a great value and perfect to rest after all day hiking in the crater!
Robert does have dogs and geese on his property. We love animals so we made friends with them quickly!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2005

Aloha Junction B&B is just around the corner from Volcano National Park in the village of Volcano. The perfect location for getting to/from the Park as well as close to Hilo, The Black Sand Beach and even Kona.

We stayed in the Pele Suite at the back of the house for 4 days. We had a private entrance with deck or we could access our room from the main house. The pictures on the web site look just like the room is. It is an older home with lots of character. The grounds are very lush and green. The home was very clean. At first glance we did think a coat of paint might help, but as we stayed, we realized how homey we really felt and it didn't matter. (don't let this deter you from staying here, unless you are someone who needs a place that is more like a new hotel)

Robert fixes a great breakfast with papya boats filled with bananas. Delicious pancakes, or waffles, or muffins with either sausage, bacon and of course eggs. Coffee aroma filled the house each morning.

There are flash lights, extra batteries, rain coats, first aid kits and umbrellas that are available in the entry way to use at the park. We used these for our late evening walk to view the lava in the park. This was very helpful. We used the hot tub that night after our long walk (4.5 hours) and that was so relaxing.

We hope to bring our kids and family back to this bed and breakfast. It is a very relaxed atmoshere that is just what we needed to get out of mainland mode. The living room has a huge leather sofa, fireplace, lovely table to sit at to read or look at all sorts of information regarding the Island and local area.

Any questions you have, Robert can answer. He also told us about the history of the area and of his place. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrealization
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 March 2005

Though this place is great with the ammenities it provides - gloves, flashlights for volcano walking. A full kitchen to use at anytime of the day except breakfast. (a big plus because dining is limited in the town, just bring groceries from Hilo or Kona) There are some big issues. Fist, the shared bathroom. It could use some work. The shower needs to be replaced. Mildew is an issue but I think anywhere in the town would have this problem. Bathroom noise was a problem. The walls are paper thin and depending on what room you are staying in, you get to hear everything that is going on in the bathroom. The garden room seemed okay but our friends in Alpine found the noise the worst. And, the one bathroom just isn't enough if all the rooms are full. They should really put in a half bath somewhere to provide an extra toilet. Gets rather busy in the AM. I have stayed in a lot of B and B's and never had these issues before.

The second issue was Robert. Everyone raved about him and his friendlinees in the previous posts but we did not experience this. Maybe it was a bad couple of days or something. He just seems burned out, a little cranky. And breakfast was disappointing. One day, he didn't cook enough eggs for all the guests, and he took off in his golf cart before we could ask for more. Another time he put juice glasses out and never offered juice. Food was pretty generic quality.

So, for the price, I might stay there again with all the above in mind, (staying in the Pele suite with private bath) but I would first look into other options in town.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2005

The place is relaxed, the host (Robert) very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great (pancakes, eggs, waffles, & papaya). The location and price are also great. We spent our first night in the Pele Suite, which was spacious and has its own bathroom, fridge, and microwave, all in great shape. The next night, however, the Pele Suite was booked, and we had to move to the Heritage Room, which was not so very good. The shared bathroom (needs renovation) and the thin walls (earplugs thoughtfully provided by the hosts) were not deal breakers, but the airborne mold was. A sniff around the place the next morning indicated that the Garden Room was also musty, but the Alpine Room seemed fine. We did not investigate the room downstairs, but did hear at breakfast that its ceiling is a bit on the low side. The hot tub is open all night, there is an intriguing tree house, and a small flock of geese that serve as sentries and provide local color.

We like the place, but it does need some work. Less carpeting (on the rainy side of the island) might be a good start.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank micefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19-4037 Olapalapa Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloha Junction B&B is located in Volcano Village just behind the Post Office noted for proximity to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 1 mile away and restaurants in town. Guests also enjoy the 1930's old plantation structure providing five spaciousness rooms and electric blankets for those chilly nights in the rainforest. In addition free parking and well attended-to children are welcome. Each room has it's own coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave but best of all are Robert's breakfasts. One of his specialties are the Papaya-banana boats with macadamia-nut pancakes. After spending time in this "Drive-in" style National Park, most people want to include some evening time to walk out to the overlook of Halemaumau Crater ~ which convinces even the strongest skeptics that Kilauea is an active volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Junction Hotel Volcano
Aloha Junction b&b
Aloha Junction Bed And Breakfast Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing