We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sensational Forest Hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle
Entrance
Front door entrance
Beautiful Wooden Soaking Tub
King bed with sitting area
Fireplace and firewood which we supply
Fully equipped kitchen
Bathroom vanity with large walkin shower
Sitting area
King size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
367john
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Sensational Forest Hideaway”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Just down the road from the (presently closed) National Park this cottage is delightful. Extremely well equipped and presented, this home nestles in the midst of large trees and ferns.

Here you can lie back and relax, snooze or have a hot tub. The kitchen is very well equipped and the bed comfortable. Outside the birds greet the morning and farewell the day. It is quiet.

Best of all it is much cooler up here in July than down near the coast. High 60's at night meant for a stress-free sleep.

Brenda, is very helpful and was a great hostess. She had excellent suggestions for getting both a good meal and close proximity to fissure 8, the most active at the time we were there.

Volcano is a very small village, but it fits into this landscape much better than resorts and high rise hotels.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glennjam
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cute cottage”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay we were planning on staying 13 nights but our stay was interrupted by the Volcano and the earthquakes we were feeling so we left after 7 nights, we were given a credit to use within a two year period except we don’t plan on returning here.
Something I might add is the water is not drinkable so you must have bottled water & ice which wasn’t a major concern to us. We stopped at Walmart and went grocery shopping after flying into Hilo,that was the dirtiest store I’ve ever been too... go to Foodland or Safeway.
The prices at Walmart are so inflated too. We enjoyed cooking our breakfasts in the cottage and eating our dinner out. The Thai restaurant was fantastic as well as The Rim. I don’t know when the Volcano natl park will reopen but for us we’re glad we evacuated and returned to Texas before anything major happened and we were stuck!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Owen K
Richland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good times in the slow lane.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Location to slow down and see real nature. Make sure you pick up groceries before you com to volcano.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie H
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfully tranquil, great location, excellent amenities”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were delighted with our recent stay at the cottage, which is ideal for a couple wanting a very comfortable, homely, self-catering stay in the rain forest but close to the park and other amenities (eg shops etc).
Pros:
- very clean and well presented, with personal touches to make it homely but not intrusive
- comfortable, king sized bed;
- well equipped kitchen and laundry (incl washer/dryer); TV, wifi
- wood burning stove .. with logs provided ... great for evening ambience;
- a good heating system to ensure the cottage was cosy
- large bathroom with shower and bath, overlooking back yard and forest
- ample, off road parking
- a jaccousi (no comment as we didn't use it)
- a completely secluded location
Cons:
- we couldn't get the TV to work .. didn't matter though as how wants to be watching TV in such a location!
We loved our stay - I hope you do too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
802Richar...
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A hideout gem.....”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a great little gem to chill out, cosy, comfortable, quiet, extremely well equipped with all the little touches that gives you the feeling of a home away from home. Well located to Volcano and the national park and only 35 minutes drive to Hilo. We travel extensively around the world and pride ourselves in finding the best places to stay. Volcano Singing Forest Cottage has rated very high on our list. And Brenda was a delight to deal with and very accommodating.
Mahalo and Aloha

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melemike
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely luxurious, immaculate and with a zen like feeling. Balinese furnishings and everything is new! We were so relaxed sitting in the hot tub with the Forrest surrounding us. It is more than the description on tripadvisor and better than the photos. Really appreciated the papers explaining about restaurants and things to do in volcano. Actually the email explained a lot thoroughly. There is a list of what is at the house, but there was much more as if someone really cared about you.

The only thing I could ask for is a two step or stool for short people like me to get in the hot tub! We did not get to use the soaking tub but hope to come back soon for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub on the deck facing the forest
Liked least: Wiggling in and out of hot tub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing