We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place we've stayed at during our visit to Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Volcano Teapot Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

There are no words to express the wonderful time we had in this cottage, which is just THE PERFECT PLACE to stay at on a visit to Big Island.
Close to Volcanoes' National Park Entrance, the cottage is located in a marvelous garden and is really well-equipped (it includes all useful amenities such as an expresso coffee machine, a washing machine and a dryer, high-speed internet and TV, lots of DVD's, an outdoor spa, etc.).
The atmosphere is warm and cosy (confortable bedrooms, spacious dining-room/living room, modern bathroom with shower and bath).
Good quality breakfast items were supplied (fruit, jelly, honey, butter, milk, juices, cornflakes, sausages, home-made scones, different sorts of coffee and tea - of course, etc.).
Bill and Antoinette were charming hosts, and appeared to be thoughtful and helpful when Iselle (a hurricane which turned into a tropical storm, something quite unusual in Hawaii) was making her way to Big Island. Even if it was just going to be a windy and stormy night with a lot of rain, they phoned us in the evening to see if everything was all right and came to see us in the morning to bring us some hot coffee and have a little chat around the fireplace.
As frequent travelers, we therefore very strongly recommend Teapot Cottage which is little piece of heaven on earth, in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CH-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited last July, and thoroughly enjoyed it. So, we decided to return and explore the island more, but we mainly returned because we enjoyed the cottage. We visited over July 4, 2014. The cottage is more quaint than can be captured in photos. The grounds are just beautiful. Bill and Antoinette are such gracious and thoughtful hosts. Each afternoon, they leave pastries and fruit for breakfast. There are hundreds of teas to chose from, and there is also a Keurig coffee maker, with many choices of coffee. The refrigerator is stocked with milk, juices, waters ... and they restock it during your stay. Apparently, they noticed that we'd drank most of the guava juice, and a new half gallon appeared the next day.

Also note: Great internet, and internet television. We caught up on "Orange is the New Black" watching Netflix on their television.

I would give this six stars, if possible.

Thank you, again, Antoinette and Bill!


Dean and Lamar
Washington, DC

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwhitmandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Comfortable cottage on large secluded property. Cottage is well equipped with games, movies, hot tub, breakfast food and coffee, of course lots of tea. A nice change from staying in a hotel or B&B. Great location, just minutes from the National Park. Owners very friendly and thoughtful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiazenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at this fantastic little hideaway for 3 days during a 3 week vacation in the Hawaiian Islands a couple of weeks ago having seen other reviews on TA, and we were not disappointed ! We had done 6 nights on the Kona side of Big Island in a mainstream hotel, which was fantastic, and were due to move on to Maui, but decided to have 3 days in Volcano in between.
Ideally situated for anyone who likes walking, visiting the Kilauea caldera, walking, hiking or just chilling and relaxing away from the clamour of other tourists, the Teapot is the place to stay.
On arrival, there's no fuss and bother. If Bill, the owner ( who lives close by but not adjoining the property) is around he will meet you, if not you just get the key from the lock box once you have the code and let yourselves in.
Bill met us there but quickly said he would leave us to get settled for half an hour or so then come back. He then spent time with us explaining the facilities, telling us all we needed to know about local walks and trails, giving us helpful hints about the local eating / drinking establishments etc. He is lovely, a truly genuine man who seemed to pride himself on us having the best possible experience whilst staying in the village.
I am usually very slow to settle in 'someone else's home' as it were, unlike my Wife, but in this case I was settled within minutes ! The cottage is very comfortable, impeccably maintained inside and out, and the attention to detail from Bill and Antoinette was fantastic.
The place is roomy, all 'mod cons', loads of little touches (freshly delivered cakes and re-stocked fridge every day, flash lights in case you go out / return in the dark, umbrellas, flip flops, bathrobes.....the list goes on).
We did a lot of driving around / hiking in our short time there, but one of the best days of our whole vacation was at the cottage, after walking the Iki trail ( breathtaking if you're into walking, volcanoes and scenery), we spent the afternoon 'at home', making good use of the hot tub in the garden, lazing around, watching TV whilst Caz made excellent use of the spacious claw foot tub in the cottage, and generally just winding down before our move on to Maui.
On our last day, Antoinette came to see us, along with a neighbour who happens to hail from our part of the UK, and we all sat on the veranda chatting.
We were genuinely sorry to leave this wonderful place and will DEFINITELY be back once we have saved enough pennies !!
Thank you Bill and Antoinette for being such an important part of our Hawaiian adventure....
Diolch yn Fawr Iawn !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandCaz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My partner and I just had the good fortune to stay here. This cottage is in Volcano a little town outside the park. Everything was first class. The name comes from owner, who is an expert on tea and giving traditional teas. Her influence is everywhere in the cottage. The gardens are really fantastic and the hot tub is great. We stayed only a couple of nights and had wished we had stayed longer. Every day the place was sticked with great breakfast items. If I were staying in Volcano this is where I'd go. The owner is also very helpful with knowing the area and I recommend talking to him while your there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just came back from Hawaii. We stayed 3 nights at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel in the west side of the island, one night at the Volcano House and the last night at the Teapot cottage. Our best overall experience was at the cottage. Bill and Antoinette are really into details. The grounds, the spa, the privacy, the kitchen filled with goodies, the bathroom, were all amazing! Book way ahead of time for this treat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foncho11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this delightful cottage. Its location, just 1 mile from the park entrance is ideal if you want to dash over to the park to catch the late evening or early morning glow. The cottage is perfect for a couple or a small family. We loved the propane stove and heated blanket on the bed, both of which kept us toasty warm in the evening. The cottage is extremely comfortable and contains pretty much all of the comforts of home, including a front loading washer & dryer. The bathroom is spacious and is comparable amenity-wise to a top resort - large tile shower with skylight, antique claw foot tub, granite counter top, gorgeous chrome fixtures & even a towel warmer. Most importantly the water pressure is excellent! The owners stock the fridge each afternoon with a full array of breakfast fixings, including fresh fruit, sausage, eggs, yogurt, bread, oatmeal, bagels, juices, milks, etc and provide a special baked treat each day. We loved our stay here and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Teapot Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Teapot Cottage

Address: 19-4041 Kilauea Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £155 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Teapot Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Volcano Teapot Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Teapot Cottage Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing