We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Best stay on our vacation”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Huge yard great for the kids to play!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Huge yard great for the kids to play!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
56 reviews
Huge yard great for the kids to play!
Aloha &  Welcome to Halia's Hideaway :)
Fresh picked flowers & a welcome goodie basket just for you!!
Master Suite with Queen Canopy Bed
Double Bed with memory foam topper
Elegant Dining Area
Well stocked kitchen with granite contertops
Living area with recliner & an electric fireplace
full bath with shower
Wood fireplace & BBQ
Covered patio~ perfect for entertaining
Covered Patio
Some of our Hapu'u Ferns
Rainforest Canopy
Lush vegetation
Pineapple
Beautiful Ohia Trees and Hapu'u Ferns
Halema'uma'u Crater at night
We are located about 5 minutes from the entrance to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
YiqingCai
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Best stay on our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We recently went for a 9 days vacation in Hawaii with the whole family (4 adults 1 child), and I would say Halias Hideaway was our favourite stay out of all the hotels and resorts we went. The house was really beautiful, clean, spacious, and have everything you need without asking for it. Kristine even provided a large basket of fresh fruits which was a good surprise. Also it's so close to the Volcano national park which allows you to go for a hike early morning before the crowd comes in or go see the crater glow at night without worrying about the long drive back to Kona or Hilo. Definitely recommend it for any family visiting volcano.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTplano
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful house in the Volcano area. Short drive to the park and even shorter drive to the village. All the amenities needed - kitchen has everything one would need. Bathrooms have little extras like shampoo, soap & shower gel. Plenty of room to spread out - big closets, nice open & large shared space. Patio is great. Washer and dryer worked great. Easy to find (we arrived after dark) & get into. The welcome baskets of fruit, water, coffee, etc. was a nice touch.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Big sectional & large TV to relax in the living area.
Liked least: Musty smell (reccomend some plug-ins...)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rasberrie...
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Perfect location. The house was clean, roomy and just overall a pleasant experience. My only regret is not staying here longer.
Welcome basket made us happy.
Thanks Kris!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Magic_JR
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Lovely Aloha spirit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Very kind host, with great welcome baskets and a very accommodating house. Other than the squeaky bed, a near perfect experience. Spacious, very liveable, plenty of showers and bathrooms, even two bottle openers for beer. Well furnished and comfortable for family or friends. Great value for money.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Lovely welcome baskets
Liked least: Squeaky bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crittenbe...
Madison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Lovely home near Volcano National Park and a great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My family arrived for a short two night stay and were extremely pleased to find that the pictures do not do this home justice. It is extremely well kept, clean, attractive, and comfortable. I love the location as it is very near the Volcano NP entrance and less than thirty minutes from Hilo. This was a two night stay on the Big Island and we only had time for Hilo, the VNP and Chain of Crater's road, but I would like to come back and star gaze at the observatory on Mauna Kea (book early), visit Green Sand Beach, South Point, and for the snorkeler's in my family do snorkeling with the Manta-Rays. During our stay we enjoyed the enclosed lanai very much. We grilled and ate our dinner at a nice wrap around bar and roasted marshmallows in the outdoor wood stove. The house is homey and has night lights and comfy beds with a large sectional couch in the LR and as others have mentioned, a welcome basket of goodies and lot's of fruit and fresh flowers. The yard is pretty and well maintained and has a shade garden that was nice to take a stroll through. We didn't find any spices other than salt and pepper in the kitchen, but there is a large rosemary bush in the garden that you could use some sprigs to season. Another perk was the bottled water provided. The only issue we had was trying to figure out the gas stove in the LR, we did finally succeed, but the directions provided were not as detailed as I would have liked. Kris is a pleasure to deal with, so nice and friendly, I look forward to another visit. I would definitely recommend this rental to my friends and family.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and price
Liked least: Gas stove instructions need to be more detailed
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessel
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We enjoyed staying in the house. Great location and hospitality-fruit basket and gifts. The house is cleaned, cozy and comfortable, has everything we needed and wanted. We really like the bullet smoothy maker. The internet connection was slow but when we moved the silver modem to the window, it was a lot faster.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing