We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cabin in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eric G
1 review
“Nice cabin in a great location”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This cabin is less than ten minutes from the entrance to the park, and it would be hard to imagine something more convenient. The cabin itself is sort-of-attached to another house, but we never saw another human until we were leaving.

The owner is friendly and very pleasant.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radfahren...
Girardville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Secluded Cabin”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

About 20 minute drive to downtown Kona.

Pros: Very well equipped. Clean. Beautiful setting.
Cons: Damp.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2018
Thanks for the review, Peter! Great to have you as guests. Yes, the rainforest area is damp and humid, that's a fact. It's why we have the dehumidifiers in each unit, to help dry your towels and room, but we can't control the weather, ha. It's been a -very- wet year so far. Even the park's usually drier micro-climates have been wetter than usual. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee J
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hideaway”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was very close to Volcanoes National Park, in the delightful town of Volcano Village. Would work best for a couple: one bed only. Felt very much in the jungle. Lovely. We never saw hosts, but never needed them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrett K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and beautiful rainforest stay”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Hikers Retreat was the perfect rainforest stay. It was so nice falling asleep to the sound of rain and waking to the sound of birds every day. Dale was very helpful in suggesting things to do or see during our stay, especially since it rained more than usual. But it's a rainforest! and it's Hawaii! We would return in a heartbeat if we ever get back to the Big Island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy B
1 review
“Peaceful volcano retreat”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We loved staying in the Hiker's rain forest retreat. Volcano was a great place to stay for easy access to the national park. We were just minutes away. The garden was beautiful and so was the accommodation. The hikers retreat was so peaceful, we just wanted hang out with the door open and listen to the sound of the birds.
Dale took us out on a bird and local plant walk during our stay. He is very knowledgeable and a great local guide!
Next time we are in Volcano, we would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric T
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 25 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What an amazing place to spend 3 nights! The house is fabulous as the garden and pond. It has everything we needed... even a double shower! The owners were always available to answer our questions! Our little paridise at night fall!

A must!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Great guests - left the rental spotless, too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercury19...
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Place We Have Stayed on Hawaii”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

While my girlfriend was reluctant to stay at a vacation rental property (typically opting for resorts), I am pleased to say that the Hiker's Retreat was one of her favorite places we have stayed on any of the Hawaiian islands.

The small guest house was exactly as advertised. It was quaint and comfortable. My girlfriend thought the property looked better than it did in the pictures. While certainly not as luxurious or as spacious as some larger resorts, the Hiker's Retreat was very clean and comfortably furnished.

Best of all, the property is nestled into jungle. The sound of rain falling at night and the surreal jungle surroundings made for a truly unique experience. I would strongly recommend the property. It was a remarkable value given the price-point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint Jungle Feel
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing