We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the ordinary, if you don't mind paying for location and quaintness”
Review of Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary, if you don't mind paying for location and quaintness”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My husband enjoyed the Volcano Inn a bit more than I did. He liked that it felt like he was staying in a cabin in the woods, something we don't get on most of our travels. The big windows looking onto the lush greenery outside were neat for sure, but I'm not sure it was worth the price. Still, I'd recommend the place.

The Inn is actually a few different houses/cabins in an area very near Volcano Park, my review might not apply to all of the rooms available.

PROS:
-little kitchenette with microwave, fridge, cutlery, cups, plates, toaster, coffee, tea
-near Volcano National Park and village (with restaurants)
-good shower
-like staying in a 3-star cabin; unique experience
-big windows offered a neat view of secluded jungle outside our door

CONS:
-no air conditioning
-bed was a bit older, but still okay (not too saggy, but it's getting there :) )
-heated with a loud space heater
-dehumidifier was useful but too loud to run at night
-power goes off when you leave the room, so you can't leave the heater or dehumidifier running
-tight parking space

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    136
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
108
239
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The Volcano Inn is a lovely, clean, convenient place for people to stay when visiting the southern part of Hawaii (the big island). But be careful when you make your reservations. There are at least three or four places that have similar names and a couple of them are not fit for your pets, let alone your family.
We enjoyed the convenience of being near the volcano park and were able to get over for sunrise in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This place may have gotten a recent makeover, cause the Mauna Loa room was beautiful, spacious, quiet, had every convenience, scrupulously clean and inexpensive. I don't know what others are talking about. We found it a real haven.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passeggiatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Great room, centrally located. Great access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, close to other great places to go. Enjoyed the local restaurants. Teenager did fine; toddlers would go nuts. Avoid the first floor rooms if you like to sleep past dawn - sound proofing between floors is poor.Get a second story room if you can.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jveal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurajyl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The Volcano Inn was the perfect spot to explore Volcano National Park and the surrounding areas. The rooms are clean and comfortable, in a beautiful location. The owner provides helpful information about restaurants and sight-seeing. This are of the Big Island is a magical place--make sure to explore everything you can!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurajyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This is small operation, but well run. So if you are looking for the luxury hotel with room service, this is not for you. But if you looking for a beautiful rainforest location with a sense of privacy, great rates and friendly owners, it's perfect.
We reserved one of the corner rooms which had huge windows overlooking beautiful ferns. The room was very clean except for a couple of extra used towels that had been overlooked behind the door and on top of the wardrobe. I got the feeling this was a rare oversight. The room was well-stocked with a dehumidifier, microwave, small fridge, toaster, wine glasses, coffee maker, coffee, tea and drinking water. It also seemed pretty eco-friendly since used a solar water heater and the room key had an attachment which you must use to turn on the electricity in the room when you are present (no lights accidentally left on when you walk out the door). The fridge is separate from this system.
Our room was in a location separate from the main building about 1/2 mile away. But we were able to drive over to use the hot tub at any time of day (no closing time).
The owner was very friendly and suggested two great places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Three-men-and-a-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My partner and I stayed in one of the corner rooms at the Volcano Inn for two nights in early July. Although it was surprising to find that the cabins are not actually located next to the check-in location but a couple of minutes away, we found this was not a problem as management were easy to reach by telephone if you have any queries or problems. The main street in Volcano Village was also only two minutes up the road if you have a rental car. It really is a great base. The fact that it is off a very quiet residential street makes it feel quite remote and exclusive when you are in your cabin, although in fact you aren't so far from civilization at all!

The room itself was great, with a WONDERFUL view of the rainforest, stocked tea/ coffee, a working fridge (if you read the notes left by management you will know to switch this on before you use it), absolutely clean without a speck of dust to be seen anywhere, linen and towels smelled nice and fresh. Even the floor was squeaky clean and polished. Also, despite being surrounded by rainforest it was not buggy AT ALL! It was so comfortable we would always look forward to coming back at the end of a tiring day exploring Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

Unlike one of the recent reviewers, we really didn't find the fact that there were some 'instructions' (more guidance or requests, really) and helpful hints left by management in the room for guests. It just helps to keep the room in the lovely condition for the duration of your visit, as well as for future guests experience a great stay. How much of a problem is it really to remove your shoes so as not to dirty the uber-clean floor?

There were only a few minor disappointments. For one, the outdoor lighting installed to illuminate the rainforest view of the corner room was not working at the time, but I am sure this is something management would have fixed by now. It would also have been nice if they served breakfast, but it was not a problem to pop to Kilauea Lodge for this (their breakfasts are very very good). Lastly, the free wifi signal seemed to be very weak where we were situated (the Nene cabin) and so we were not able to use the internet as we would have liked. Reading other reviews, this does not seem to be a blanket case for all rooms, so if you are considering staying at the Inn it would be worth checking whether you will have good internet access from your room if wifi is very important to you!

We would definitely recommend Volcano Inn to others, it is really worth the stay in Volcano Village if you plan to explore HVNP. The price we paid was very reasonable for the experience. The Village is not so empty as it would seem, and there are some great places to eat. Although the selection of eateries is few, the standards are high and the food tasty!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmarramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn

Property: Volcano Inn
Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve unique rooms, all with their own private bathroom. We have rooms to accommodate two guests or six. We have a common area for complimentary morning coffee and breakfast. Relax in our hot tub after a day at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is only a couple miles away. We have the nicest rooms and the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing