We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful outlook”
Review of Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed in one of the corner window units – lives up to their pictures on the net with views into a rich forest of tall ferns, and lighting at night available to continue enjoyment of the outlook. These units are located across the highway about a mile from the main Inn but there are good instructions posted in the room on most things. Volcano is a wet area and the Inn is located in a rainforest so the atmosphere is damp. The rooms are equipped with a de-humidifier (although a bit noisy) which keeps the atmosphere pleasant as long as it is kept running. Lots of warm wood and cork finishes, spacious feeling and a lovely place to stay. Stayed two nights but could definitely have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonniesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2010

We had planned to do the Big Island in a dynamic sort of way by arriving and staying wherever the wind took us with as minimal a planning as possible. We found Volcano Inn through this forum so we thought we'd give it a try, since it was in good proximity to the national park, and had very good reviews.

It's such a great well run little place. Thanks to Ron and Co for their hospitality we had a wonderful time. And thanks for all the little tips you gave us (Ron) that the guides would never have told us! If we're back on the Big Island we'll be sure to be back for at least a nights stay.

We stayed in the Corner Room, which was very spacious, comfortable and had everything you needed. It was clean, comfortable and very private. It included a kitchenette which we could have used but instead we couldn't refuse the local restaurants in the village which had some wonderful food! We stayed two nights here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank two_tees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My husband enjoyed the Volcano Inn a bit more than I did. He liked that it felt like he was staying in a cabin in the woods, something we don't get on most of our travels. The big windows looking onto the lush greenery outside were neat for sure, but I'm not sure it was worth the price. Still, I'd recommend the place.

The Inn is actually a few different houses/cabins in an area very near Volcano Park, my review might not apply to all of the rooms available.

PROS:
-little kitchenette with microwave, fridge, cutlery, cups, plates, toaster, coffee, tea
-near Volcano National Park and village (with restaurants)
-good shower
-like staying in a 3-star cabin; unique experience
-big windows offered a neat view of secluded jungle outside our door

CONS:
-no air conditioning
-bed was a bit older, but still okay (not too saggy, but it's getting there :) )
-heated with a loud space heater
-dehumidifier was useful but too loud to run at night
-power goes off when you leave the room, so you can't leave the heater or dehumidifier running
-tight parking space

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The Volcano Inn is a lovely, clean, convenient place for people to stay when visiting the southern part of Hawaii (the big island). But be careful when you make your reservations. There are at least three or four places that have similar names and a couple of them are not fit for your pets, let alone your family.
We enjoyed the convenience of being near the volcano park and were able to get over for sunrise in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This place may have gotten a recent makeover, cause the Mauna Loa room was beautiful, spacious, quiet, had every convenience, scrupulously clean and inexpensive. I don't know what others are talking about. We found it a real haven.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passeggiatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Great room, centrally located. Great access to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, close to other great places to go. Enjoyed the local restaurants. Teenager did fine; toddlers would go nuts. Avoid the first floor rooms if you like to sleep past dawn - sound proofing between floors is poor.Get a second story room if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jveal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The Volcano Inn was the perfect spot to explore Volcano National Park and the surrounding areas. The rooms are clean and comfortable, in a beautiful location. The owner provides helpful information about restaurants and sight-seeing. This are of the Big Island is a magical place--make sure to explore everything you can!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurajyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn

Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: £129 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve unique rooms, all with their own private bathroom. We have rooms to accommodate two guests or six. We have a common area for complimentary morning coffee and breakfast. Relax in our hot tub after a day at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is only a couple miles away. We have the nicest rooms and the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing