We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst meal in two weeks of vacation”

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
LEXINGTON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst meal in two weeks of vacation”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was one of a limited number of restaurants available in the evening for dinner. Waited in line for far too long (35 min) with most tables empty (only had a limited number of serving staff working). Wait was so not worth it - the worst food I ever eaten out. Awful. The woman singing and playing the ukulele was fantastic. Only thing that made the experience bearable. Maybe we ordered the wrong food but anywhere else on the Big Island that we ordered fresh fish - we were so pleased........ might be okay if you are looking for pasta or burgers but I felt it was a horrible waste of time and money :(

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    385
    255
    78
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Food and service were good. Lots of people go there so get there early. We got there at 5:30pm and it was already getting full.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stopped by for lunch after visiting the Volcano Winery (GREAT PLACE!). There were 3 of us in our party and took several minutes waiting to be seated even though there were only 2 or 3 tables taken at the time. The bus boy goes to seat us at the closest table to the door. Was very put out when we asked to be seated further inside due to weather conditions outside. After getting another table, we had to wait almost 10 minutes to see the waitress and get drinks ordered. Since we had her and didn't want to risk waiting so long again, we placed our lunch orders, a salad and two sandwiches, nothing special or complicated. We did eventually get our drinks and waited for our lunches. In the meantime 4 other parties, one of at least 6 people were seated, orders taken and food was being served !! Asked another waitress what was going on or to get our waitress and didn't even see her approach her. She probably wasn't too concerned since we were not one of her tables! We spent almost 50 minutes in the restaurant, when the 4th table to be seated after us was getting food, we stormed out! I was trying to be patient since I was on vacation to relax and not get upset, but even my two kids were completely irritated by the whole ordeal!! NEVER, EVER STOP IN HERE!!! FIND ANYWHERE ELSE! LESS THAN ONE STAR IS DESERVED!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast & lunch”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ate here a couple of times during our stay at the volcano. Food was tasty, fresh and plentiful. Fresh coffee selections next door.
We'll be back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The people who waited on us were super helpful, accommodating our family group and one member's experimentation with uniquely Hawaiian cuisine. Breakfasts were delicious. The waffle-pancake group were offered lilikoi syrup, as well as maple, and the omelets were nicely cooked. Dinner was pretty basic, but good, with hamburgers, pulled pork and fresh fish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DansMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing