We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast american style”

Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good breakfast american style”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

friendly and good It is a american style for breakfast and dinner What else the food are good and you can seva money

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ezio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    386
    257
    80
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice live music, very average food”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stopped in on a Saturday night and were seated promptly, and enjoyed the guitarist and his voice - a nice surprise. The food itself is your average fare. Our burgers were adequate (I added feta and mushrooms), the fries and mac-potato salad were good, and we got a kick out of the Portugese Bean Soup which had four beans in it... we counted! But it tasted just fine.

The price is commensurate with the value so if you're looking to fill up with a basic meal, this restaurant will do you right.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank justinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK place to dine; good sandwiches to-go for your VNP hike”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family of four had a nice time dining at this restaurant. The food was not particularly exciting but it was well-prepared. The kids enjoyed their burgers, and we enjoyed our salads.

We got lucky with being seated, though. We showed up at 6:30 and got a table within five minutes. By the time we left at 7:30, the line was out the door. The staff of two (TWO) was overwhelmed and people in the line were expressing frustration at waiting while there were clearly empty tables. So, show up early or be prepared to be politely patient. Some of the people waiting were getting very rude -- we tipped up because we saw how hard the servers were working.

The next day we picked up some sandwiches in the morning for our Kilauea-Iki hike. They were great. Just what was needed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitsou11217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over-priced restaurant,”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

A glass of chocolate milk for my son cost 3.75 for the milk and .75 for the chocolate mix adding up to $4.50 for a 8 oz glass, and dont expect refills.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank F1502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat in Volcano”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had two dinners here and both were just great. We even had live music on both nights. They feature a lot of local grown produce, meats and fish. Between the two of us, we had a variety of dishes. The cheeseburger, Ahi fish, Kalbi ribs, Kailua pork, portuguese bean & kale soup and garden salad were all really good. The lilikoi viniagrette adds tropical flare to the salad.The second time we ate there, the service was a little slow and sounded like our waiter didn't normally work that shift so was a little confused. But they eventually got it all together.

A word of warning though, they get tour buses there for lunch so we avoided the lunch crunch. We suspect though that their breakfasts and lunches are also very good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaSammis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe also viewed

Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Volcano's Lava Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing