We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novelty view, food could be expensive if you did three courses”
Review of The Rim

The Rim
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Novelty view, food could be expensive if you did three courses”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

There aren't a lot of options for dining in this area without driving for miles.
We are in the restaurant, and found the food to be pretty good. We had starters and desserts, which were all excellent and we were full - I couldn't imagine doing the full three courses, the starters themselves were very good value. The mains were a lot pricier.
The staff was great; our server was very attentive and friendly.
We did book but apparently a window seat with of the crater can not be guaranteed. We were sat towards the back by the bathrooms / serving area. At one point during the evening the lights were turned off and everybody got to see the crater and had the opportunity for photos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welly_China_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    78
    32
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Can't beat the location and view of the volcano crater. Didn't have a dinner but the drinks and service were top notch. Very unique experience. Wish we would have had the time for dinner but the home we rented had everything we needed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Uncle George's Lounge review”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Couldn't find a separate entry for Uncle George's Lounge so will enter it here under The Rim. We had bar food & drinks here one night at a window table so we could see the glow of Halemaumau Crater. What an atmosphere that creates! We had sliders which were very tasty, and the sweet potato fries were divine. If you want a lighter & less costly meal with that view of the glowing crater, then try Uncle George's. Our server was friendly & helpful. In fact, we went off to the gift shop forgetting our take out container. When we realized & went back in 20 minutes or so, she had saved it for us just in case. Mahalo nui loa!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texafornian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A view with no view”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We went at night expecting to dine with the glow of the crater before us. It was my husband's birthday and they gave us a great table right in the middle of the restaurant in front of the window. Only one problem -- since they leave the double doors to the fluorescent lit gift shop wide open (hoping someone will get up in the middle of dinner to go buy a T-shirt?), all you can see is the shop reflecting back to you. I mean, that's ALL we could see, even when we squinted as if we were looking at one of those old Magic Eye posters from the 80s. I immediately got the hostess -- practically took her by the hand and had her sit down in my seat. She knew all about it. She was great -- apologized profusely and gave us a table in the corner (which was better, but still a huge reflective glare). I was told management insists the shop doors be left open to drum up more business. At one point they closed the doors and dimmed the (very bright) overhead lights and the view was just magnificent. Why not leave it like that? It was insane.

Food. Well, about what you expect from a National park Lodge. My steak was cooked perfectly but then they ruined it by setting it on top of purple mashed potatoes and pouring some gloopy, sweet sauce over it. Trying to be fancy when they should keep it simple.

You're better off eating in the bar with the better, darker view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chavalaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View and Food”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We ate in the bar or "Uncle George's Lounge" because we were not looking for a full meal. The crab and lobster cakes were fantastic and the Hawaiian Pizza was pretty good as well. They seem to be working out the kinks in their service but we enjoyed our time while at the restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethB586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rim also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing