We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to explore Volcano National Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed in one of the Twinn's houses. it's a great location. You have your own appartment where you can park your car in front. Nice appartment with a seperate kitchen/sitting/dining area, a bedroom and bathroom.

You can get some food for breakfast (or at night when you get the munchies) at the main house. There is a seperate area where you can get food 24 hours. Just take what you need and eat it at your own table in the appartment.

Because of the wet climate they leave the windows open to prefent the place to get mouldy and stuff. It was a good idea but a little bit cold. I liked it though!

In between al the ferns the house is located. Such a beautiful place to visit! And just a minutes ride to the entrance of Volcano National Park. Just perfect!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank reis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2008

My third time staying at Volcano Guest House and my husband and I love it there: fully equipped kitchen (except for one unit, which lacks only an oven); comfortable beds; waking up to birdsong in the rainforest; lots of walking trails; fresh papayas, apple bananas, Bonnie’s sweet mochi bread and other goodies available on the communal porch; six entertaining ducks and two cows; a hot tub; and hosts who are always helpful and pleasant. Plus I feel good staying at a place that doesn’t abuse the environment. There’s solar water heating with electricity backup if needed, no energy-wasting clothes dryer (Bonnie line-dries sheets and towels in the greenhouse) and a compost pile, among other green attributes. If you’re into soft towels and being catered to, stay in a fancy and expensive hotel. If you love the restful quiet of the rainforest, close proximity to the park, and helping the environment at the same time, this is the best place to be.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank Annie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We loved our stay at the Maholo Island Retreat. We rented the Olana Cottage, which is a spotless, modern three bedroom plus loft house located with two other similar houses on 10 beautiful acres in a residential area about a mile from Volcano center and five minutes drive from the national park. You can rent a room, a house or all three houses. The house cost us $220/nt, a room for two would be about $130, and the whole retreat would sleep 25 for $975/nt. and include a 1,000 sq. ft. studio.

The houses are all about a year old, clean and modern. The complex is used for a yoga retreat several times a year and is rented to the public the rest of the year. There is a caretaker on the grounds who bakes fresh banana bread and also stocks the place with fruit, cereal, milk, coffee and tea for breakfast. There is a full kitchen (but no microwave or dishwasher), a washer and dryer and free internet.

We found the house through a search of the Volcano town website after all other lodgings in the area were booked. It is so new that it is not in any guidebooks or on any large internet travel agency sites. This is good for you until word gets out and it gets booked more often. In August, we were the only guests, yet this house is bigger and nicer than any other lodgings that we saw in the area, and at a competitive price. We even added an extra night and used the house as our base instead of booking separate accomodations in Hilo about 40 minutes away.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank palace17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

We selected the property after reviewing some sites online. We stayed in the upstairs apartment which was plenty spacious for two people and could easily accommodate four (we basically made the second bedroom our closet, leaving our bags in there and keeping the main bedroom uncluttered).

The hosts were very friendly and polite. It may seem odd at first to be walking into somebody's house and going upstairs at first, but it was second nature after a couple of days.

The hiking trails on the property were nice, and the ability to borrow flashlights and umbrellas are particularly nice. (Be sure to borrow the wind up lights if you visit the Thurston Lava Tube. You'll need them if you were to go to the very end). We had no problem with the food whatsoever.

It is very close to the park, though not inside. The restaurants in town do close down at 9 pm, so plan your day accordingly. We had fresh bananas and apples to take with us on our day trip around the volcano, so were weren't hurting for food.

The views on the property were tremendous, and the many windows gave great views. Waking up this morning, our final morning here, with the sound of the rain on the roof and the breeze through the trees outside was a pleasant experience. The house is environmentally friendly, beautifully crafted and comfortable. They have cable TV, a nice selection of DVD's (but you have to show them on your own computer or player) and some VHS movies.

We also utilized the spa, which was nice and relaxing after two long days of walking and hiking. Wish we had used it sooner.

And finally, you have to love Maggie the dog. Every B&B should have a dog.

Regarding the lava flow, it was not directly visible from our site, but as we went to the end of Chain of Craters road, we could see the glow over the mountains and smell the smoke from burning timber. Of course, the knowledge that "Pele" could blow at any moment was an exciting thought in the background.

It's funny, but our experience had virtually nothing in common with the negative reviews on this site. This B&B gave us a little taste of what it is like to live in Volcano. It is not a hotel, not the Ritz. If you are looking for a big gourmet breakfast at a doily covered table, do everybody a favor and go somewhere else. Read the property's web site, as it leaves no surprises. If you are looking for a unique experience in the rain forest, I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Acatchyscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I just came back from a trip to Hilo in late July and spent the time at the Volcano Guest House B&B. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there as we stayed in the twin II guest area. If your idea of a vacation is maid and/or room service in a posh, sterile, manufactured environment, then this is not the property for you. If, however, you're looking for a retreat and appreciate the beauty of nature and want to do so in comfort, then the Volcano Guest House is the place for you.

The rooms were right in the middle of the volcano fern forest and it felt like we were in another place, another era as we live in Honolulu. The guest rooms are well-kept and we were very pleasantly surprised that the beds were especially comfortable - they felt new. Every window (except the one facing the twin I guest cottage) looked out on the fern forest. It was beautiful, and although we missed the new fissure lava flow by a couple of days, we were informed that there is a trail that can be taken at night to see any eruptions.

The kitchenette is well appointed and even included a rice cooker along with the other essential appliances like a mini frig/freezer, overn/stove, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. There is also a common area near the office that is open to guests until 8 pm at night that includes fresh local fruits (we had mountain apples that were grown on property), cereal selection, milk, peanut butter, jams, english muffins, bread, etc. as well as a selection of DVD movies and videos.

I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and family - the caretakers are very helpful and are a reflection of aloha that is Hawaii.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank darsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

We stayed at the Guest House for 2 nights; arrived late one night and left early in the morning after the second night. We paid a total of 244.75. We were expecting more but the price is likely competitive because there is little competition in the area. Located anywhere else, we would not have paid more than $50 per night for the place.

We stayed in the cottage in the main house. There were two bedrooms, a bathroom and a kitchen area. The owner had an inventory of flashlights to borrow to go lava hunting at night except the lava had just stopped flowing. The only site to see now is the crater and the park attractions which can be seen in one day.

The main house had a strange cooking odor and as advertised, the linnens were line dried. However, this means that the towels are 30 years old and feel like sandpaper. For the price paid, certainly the towels could be upgraded and the owner could purchase a dryer and a little extra electricity to run it.

Some breakfast foods were left out on the porch for us to use as this was supposed to be a "bed and breakfast". Some items were stale and not usable. There was nothing fresh or freshly prepared.

The town only has a couple of resturants and they close early. We really wish now that we would have stayed elsewhere, even if that meant driving an hour or so to the park. Since the lava flow has stopped and if the lower crater road is closed, there is no point in staying the night in Volcano and certainly there is no point paying the locals inflated prices for their extra space.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vgh, owner-operator at Volcano Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2007

We are sorry you were disappointed. We are making our website much more explicit. We, like all of the great variety of tourist facilities in Volcano, want our visitors to get what they expect. (Although I don't think we can provide "two bedrooms, a bathroom and a kitchen area" for four people, along with unlimited free local fruit, breakfast materials and snacks 24/7, for $50 per night.).

Your concerns about breakfast materials are right and being fixed. We have limited the choices for breakfast cereals to keep them fresher, and are now serving fresh baked ginger-lemon banana brown rice mochi, a local wheat-free favorite, with mac nuts, and fruit from our own six acres of maintained native rainforest.

We won't be getting a clothes dryer. We have done ecotourism since before the word ecotourism. In our over twenty years we have hung over 100,000 towels and sheets to dry in our greenhouse. That is one of the ways we can provide comfort with less than half the fossil fuel energy impacts of typical B&Bs.

The seven Volcano restaurants, from coffee shop to gourmet, close early. Late arrivals, as well as early and late risers, such as teenagers like yours, are why we provide our breakfast and snacks informally, 24/7.

Volcano provides nature lovers with moonlit hikes through Kilauea Iki crater, morning birdsong, sunsets over Mauna Loa (and volcanic activity not under human control). Regulars come back again and again for weeks at a time. We are sorry it is not your family's cup of tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

My husband and I stayed in one of the Twins for three days last summer after a week at the Marriott, and I liked the contrast. It was nice to be in a place that was simple and ecologically conscious. The owner gave me use of the washers and the clotheslines that give 'solar drying'. The night breezes were great for sleeping, the hot water was ample (and we liked feeling we were showering in the warmth of the sun and were fine with not squandering it.) We used the hot tub too, so did not feel deprived. Bring a good book or spend your evening planning the next day's hikes; the video selection was weak.
We'll be going back next winter with our two young-adult daughters and will stay in The Cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oldhippiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Volcano Teapot Cottage
Volcano Teapot Cottage
#2 of 22 in Volcano
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#7 of 32 in Volcano
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#16 of 32 in Volcano
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £87 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing