We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 'base' for exploring the park and environs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We rented the Akala guest house for five adults; it allowed us to have a good 'home base' for exploring volcano national park. The breakfast lanai offered sufficient 'self serve' breakfast and snacks (cinnamon bread, fruit, cereal - the basics).

Like all structures in such a climate, the rain forest is eager to 'take it back' and there is some tendency for the place to feel a little damp.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for four nights, in the Upstairs in the main building. The choice of staying in Volcano Village was a good one as it allowed us 1) to visit the national park any number of times, including at night time, without any need for planning; and 2) to drive down to the Puna coast in a moderate amount of time, for instance to take a lava boat tour (driving to the coast takes about 1-1.5 hours, depending on where you want to go).

The guest house is nicely tucked away in the rain forest, quite a distance away from the highway and the "downtown" part of Volcano Village. While we were there we saw both Alan and Bonnie a couple of times, and although they were certainly friendly and answered all our questions, they either did not have the time, or were not inclined for longer chats. Except at breakfast time we also did not see much of the other guests, so that in the end it almost felt as if we had the entire place to ourselves.

It rained quite a lot, although not heavily, and temperatures felt chilly in the night. Being such a wet place, it was necessary to keep the windows open during the day to keep the mould out. Unfortunately, open windows + fresh air = cold rooms when you get back from a day trip in the evening.

A few other points:
- Good breakfast with fresh fruit. The breakfast lanai is a large room, if you look around you will find plenty of food.
- Small kitchen in the Upstairs so you can prepare your own food (we only made soup)
- Extremely (!) comfortable and cozy beds, making it even harder than usual to get up in the morning
- Free wi-fi
- Friendly dog :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herzbube102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were in one bedroom in a separate cottage for just one night but it was like feeling at home. Extremely clean and with everything you may need! It is not in the center of volcano village but you don't miss that much as there is no life there either.
They have an open room for breakfast and snacks where you an cater during all day long... Really a detail!
The place is charmful , in the middle of a great garden...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pepaypepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We rented the cottage and it was lovely to have our own space. Wifi was free and worked in most places. We cooked in the cottage one night, the cooking utensils are basic but you can borrow what isn't supplied from the communal kitchen or the owner. It's convenient to the national park and we drove down to the lava boat launch and back from there (about an hour each way). The lava boat was a high light! We were there in the middle of summer and it was cool - so don't worry that there isn't air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoiltkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Volcano Guest House which was so close to Volcano National Park and convenient enough to visit the park at night. We have visited the park many times but always had to rush back to our hotel and missed the night glow of the volcano. At the guest house, there were many unique features I especially liked. The lanai was an excellent private retreat away from the family for writing as I heard the pitter-patter of the afternoon rain. I wish I had more time there. The guest room had an excellent view of multi-color tree ferns which numerously backed the property. Our make-your-own breakfast was exceptional and we were the only ones there so it was like being in our own miraculously well stocked kitchen. I am glad an authentic place like this is available for visitors to rest in. They should be prepare everyone to remember that they are staying in a real rain forest with its humidity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB_guest29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We met up with friends from the mainland to stay in Twin I and Twin II. The shared lanai between these two units made it the perfect arrangement. We each had our own space, but met up on the lanai for breakfast in the morning and to reflect upon the day's activities, over a glass of wine in the evening. The cottage was clean and very tastefully and attentively appointed. We found everything we needed and were very comfortable. Since it can often be moist and cool in the rain forest, the heated mattress pad was truly a treat! It was rainy and damp when we arrived so the dehumidifier made the place cozy. My husband was in charge of planning, so I didn't realize that breakfast was included. What a nice surprise... lots of fresh fruit like: bananas, papaya, lilikoi, local baked goods, hard-boiled eggs, freshly brewed coffee, juices... to name a few. Reminded me of boutique hotel faire in Europe. The 'secret garden' between our cottages and the lanai were magical - wabi-sabi, not manicured. Created over time with lots of love. We like that we were left alone, but the owners were always around and made themselves available to answer the many questions we had about the rainwater collection system, the animals they raised, and the what's what of tropical plants. The hot tub was another luxury to indulge in at the end of a long day exploring the island. We spent half of our stay in Volcano for easy access to many places that were on our to list, for that side of the island. If you're into 'alternative to mainstream' travel accommodations and you want to experience a bit of local culture, this place is a great find. The sustainable practices like hanging towels and wet clothes out to dry or saving food scraps for the ducks, though optional, made us feel right at home! The owners were both born in Hawaii (not on Hawaii); they were kind and super intelligent/interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWB-DJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I totally agree with a review here that said that "you don't feel like a guest, for better and for worse". For better, because they leave you alone, no chit chat or socializing, which I like. For worse, because the place feels a little abandoned. When we left, there was noone around, so we just..left. The place is hidden in a lush rainforest, amazing, about 7 minutes to Volcano village, which is tiny. If you arrive at the Volcano Guest House in the evening, bring your own food, or you'll have to drive back to the village for dinner, and the options are very few. The house we stayed in was cosy, it reminded me of B&B in the U.K, with that rundown air, but the bed was comfortable, and as it was a bit humid and chilly , we turned on the radiator and we were really cosy at night. The breakfast lanai is nice, but the food was just cereal from the supermarket, orange juice or milk, and some bagles, the jam jar was empty, and there wasn't much choice. A bowl of boiled eggs which reappeared every day... On our last day the coffee was awful, we thought it might be from the previous day. So, to sum up, a nice hideout in the rainforest, you see the giant ferns on your window, very quiet and silent, but for the price you pay, you deserve a better, bigger breakfast, more in line with the "eco.natural" life style they try to foster.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariana60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 32 in Volcano
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano Teapot Cottage
Volcano Teapot Cottage
#2 of 22 in Volcano
336 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £83 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing