We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Hilo, HI
17
Reviewed 13 December 2004

Everything is welcoming at the Guest House at Volcano, from the moment you are greeted outside by Maggie, the super-friendly Border collie (who loves belly rubs), surrounded by hapu’u tree ferns. Bonnie and Alan have created a beautiful, relaxing retreat tucked into the magical rainforest just minutes from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. During our numerous stays, we fell in love with this area of the Big Island – in fact, we believe that the wonderful atmosphere at the Guest House played a part in our deciding to make Hawaii our home. It’s quiet, comfortable, affordable, and full of aloha. We’ve stayed in Twin II, the Cottage, and upstairs at the main house, and have found all three delightful. One of the joys of staying at Twin II is being able to look up from your book and see banana leaves waving at you outside the window. We also highly recommend the cozy box bed, next to a window looking out on trees, upstairs at the main house. The Cottage is terrific, too, allowing the family to spread out upstairs and downstairs. And everybody gets treated to fresh, local bananas and papayas! A very special place.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 182 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Southern California
218
Reviewed 5 December 2004

Bonnie's directions were great: this relaxing retreat was tucked away in a tropical forest far away from the main roads. It was delightful to just have the sounds of water dripping off leaves outside our windows.

We were there in October and stayed in Twin I which, I was told, was newly built with Twin II. Though technically a duplex, these buildings did not share a wall - they were connected by a courtyard covered by a skylight roof. The layout was thoughtful, putting the bedroom away from the parking areas. We slept with the windows open. Being a new building, everything was new and clean.

We really enjoyed the experience. Guests are welcome to help themselves to food that Bonnie sets out in the lobby, such as breads, fruits, cereals, milk, butter, jam and more. We fixed our own breakfast in our kitchenette. We also borrowed a video one night. It was very relaxing.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Claudia's place est bien équipée et confortable
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Akodostef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frits F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Noi abbiamo scelto la camera con vista cratere......così era!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mentally U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ukulele2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#9 of 32 in Volcano
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £85 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing