We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Guest House
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This is a great place to stay when visiting the National Park!

Pros: We stayed in one of the Twin rooms - comfy furnishings, clean and private - well equiped and very nice to come home to after a day out in the national park. The breakfast is self serve but there is more than enough on offer - fresh fruit, breads and coffee (as long as you don't mind making it yourself).

Cons: None - thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntheRoadOpenAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    58
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
65
62
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Bed and accommodations here were fine and the price would have been fine EXCEPT, the second B at this place is terrible. I've never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast that didn't serve breakfast. I don't consider a do it yourself bagel and toaster, cereal and milk a breakfast at a B&B. You also are instructed to put the dishes in the dishwasher. We were VERY disappointed. We've stayed at another B&B in Volcano (Aloha Junction) that does it right. If you want a real B&B experience don't bother with Volcano Guest House. I would not recommend this place based on the quality (or complete lack) of a breakfast. There wasn't even coffee!! Yesterday's old coffee (cold) was in in the pot.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vgh, Owner at Volcano Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
We are very sorry you were disappointed. I cannot speak to the leftover coffee because we were away on vacation, but we had several people taking over for us. If you were there before about 6:30 am when the coffee is made and the breakfast put out, you may well have found lukewarm coffee in the thermal carafe, perhaps left by guests who brewed some the night before. As for the do-it-yourself clean-up, that is a decision we have made to accommodate the many families and mixed large groups, who may stop-by our Breakfast Lanai up to noon, or for snacks later. We will go over our website again to insure that it is very clear what we are offering for breakfast. If you are looking for a home-cooked breakfast we can recommend any number of excellent places here in Volcano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary here from Waimea. We just love this place! Bonnie was so helpful the minute we walk into her house. She gave us tips where all the good spot to eat and places to go. The fact that she takes pride on low energy use, sustainability and sufficiency made us even more proud to be staying in this place. We stayed in the room Olapa 3 and even got the whole house to ourselves. The bed was so soft and comfortable. The kitchen had a nice view of the fern garden from the outside. The whole property was so quiet and peaceful. We really love this place and will definetely come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilo
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

It was our family's great pleasure to decide to stay at Alan and Bonnie's exceptionally lovely mountain retreat in Volcano, HI. They have both dedicated lots of time and love over many years into making their property exceptional. Set amidst a lush rainforest filled with tree ferns the atmosphere ranges from an ethereal fog shrouded forest to crystal clear azure sky and refreshing pure air to breathe.

We stayed in the 'Akala guesthouse which very comfortably accommodated our seven person group. The care and craftsmanship that Bonnie and Alan put into the construction of the house is evident

We have stayed together in Volcano several times previously and this place was by far the best overall experience. Stay with Bonnie and Alan and experience the aloha spirit at its finest.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfarkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Relaxing and peaceful visit with many opportunities for outdoor exploration. My room had a fully equipped kitchen and great wireless internet service. The owners were very friendly and generous and had numerous items you could borrow if needed - flashlights, gloves, bags, etc. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous22833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed in a wonderful room in our own cottage with a kitchen, living area, bathroom and comfortable bed. The innkeepers are very conscientious about leaving a smaller ecological footprint, which was very refreshing when travelling. The self serve Breakfast Lanai was well stocked and we were encouraged to help ourselves to snacks whenever we wanted. Volcano Village was close by, and the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park was about 5 minutes away by car. Beautiful, quiet location in the lush tropical rainforest!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

One of the best hotel (guest house) ever seen !
i've been here for 4 days.
they offer wonderful rooms with shared kitchens
a grat breakfast and all the amenities and conforts you will ever need
It's like to be at home and you will never get disturbed by owners, they privede also self check in and out, you you will feel really free to do what you want.
I just suggest to check the rooms map in their website and choose the biggers, because they are really amazing for a bit more price
you will find all you need: complete kitcken, refridgerator, microwave, coffemaker, free wireless internet, television, dvd, books, stereo music, umbrellas, flashlights, SPA, washing machine and much more.
the position is 1 mile from volcano visitor center

all is perfect !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thor_odt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
3.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
843 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
830 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Guest House

Property: Volcano Guest House
Address: 11-3733 Ala Ohia Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Guest House is 12 acres of high-altitude tropical rainforest and farm, with three cottages, two apartments, and two big houses that rent whole or by the bedroom. Ten minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, perfectly placed eco-accommodations to enjoy the wonders of an active volcano, and the native environments in this International Biosphere Reserve. Line-dried linens, solar-assisted hot water, free breakfast/snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Guest House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing