We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Volcano
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
93
59
25
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
59
25
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin cottagesvolcano villageb btropical paradisegrounds are beautifulfive minutesalanecolanaisettingunitinnkeepersprivacywoods
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We picked the Volcano Guest House for its location and amenities.It's located only about 5 minutes from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Being a family with two teens, we chose the Olapa cottage with its three bedrooms and three baths. The cottage was clean and simple, yet roomy, and had everything we needed, including free WiFi. The decor was classic Hawaiian, and the beds were very comfy. Little touches greeted us, like fresh tropical flowers in every bath and the kitchen. They also provided a laminated area guide/map, flashlights and umbrellas. The grounds were naturally landscaped, and a garden pathway led to the "Breakfast Lanai," stocked full with fruit, cereals, bagels, milk, juice, coffee and all the trimmings. There's also a hot tub. The owners' environmentally friendly practices include recycling bins throughout, composting of the breakfast waste, CFL's, catchment water and openable windows (no A/C needed!). Though we only stayed 2 days, we wished we could have stayed longer. The kids LOVED it, and bragged to their friends about its environmental bent. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This is a great place to stay when visiting the National Park!

Pros: We stayed in one of the Twin rooms - comfy furnishings, clean and private - well equiped and very nice to come home to after a day out in the national park. The breakfast is self serve but there is more than enough on offer - fresh fruit, breads and coffee (as long as you don't mind making it yourself).

Cons: None - thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GivemeaGumTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Bed and accommodations here were fine and the price would have been fine EXCEPT, the second B at this place is terrible. I've never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast that didn't serve breakfast. I don't consider a do it yourself bagel and toaster, cereal and milk a breakfast at a B&B. You also are instructed to put the dishes in the dishwasher. We were VERY disappointed. We've stayed at another B&B in Volcano (Aloha Junction) that does it right. If you want a real B&B experience don't bother with Volcano Guest House. I would not recommend this place based on the quality (or complete lack) of a breakfast. There wasn't even coffee!! Yesterday's old coffee (cold) was in in the pot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vgh, Owner at Volcano Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

We are very sorry you were disappointed. I cannot speak to the leftover coffee because we were away on vacation, but we had several people taking over for us. If you were there before about 6:30 am when the coffee is made and the breakfast put out, you may well have found lukewarm coffee in the thermal carafe, perhaps left by guests who brewed some the night before. As for the do-it-yourself clean-up, that is a decision we have made to accommodate the many families and mixed large groups, who may stop-by our Breakfast Lanai up to noon, or for snacks later. We will go over our website again to insure that it is very clear what we are offering for breakfast. If you are looking for a home-cooked breakfast we can recommend any number of excellent places here in Volcano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary here from Waimea. We just love this place! Bonnie was so helpful the minute we walk into her house. She gave us tips where all the good spot to eat and places to go. The fact that she takes pride on low energy use, sustainability and sufficiency made us even more proud to be staying in this place. We stayed in the room Olapa 3 and even got the whole house to ourselves. The bed was so soft and comfortable. The kitchen had a nice view of the fern garden from the outside. The whole property was so quiet and peaceful. We really love this place and will definetely come back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

It was our family's great pleasure to decide to stay at Alan and Bonnie's exceptionally lovely mountain retreat in Volcano, HI. They have both dedicated lots of time and love over many years into making their property exceptional. Set amidst a lush rainforest filled with tree ferns the atmosphere ranges from an ethereal fog shrouded forest to crystal clear azure sky and refreshing pure air to breathe.

We stayed in the 'Akala guesthouse which very comfortably accommodated our seven person group. The care and craftsmanship that Bonnie and Alan put into the construction of the house is evident

We have stayed together in Volcano several times previously and this place was by far the best overall experience. Stay with Bonnie and Alan and experience the aloha spirit at its finest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfarkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews