We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcano Inn fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Inn Cottages
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I enjoyed my 2 days at Volcano Inn. Very clean and very close to the volcano and a couple of nice restaurants. Nice little hot tub for the cold evenings at 4000 feet. Great little spot for 1 or 2 people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Inn Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Liked:
1) 5-minute drive to Volcano National Park
2) Lovely grounds, nice hot tub after a day's hike
3) Clean unit

Disliked:
1) bed was uncomfortably hard (like futon) and incredibly creaky.
2) Female worker (who turned out to be one of the owners) needs to be a bit more personable. for someone who's in the service industry, she needs to be a bit friendlier to her guests. She never said "hi" or anything, and when she saw us struggling with our bags, she didn't stop to ask if we needed any help. She made us feel uncomfortable and unwanted.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had read good reviews so we decided to book two nights while visiting the Volcano National Park. We were very disappointed and left after the first night. The staff was friendly at check in but we were assigned to an unit several blocks from the main inn so we did not get a chance to enjoy the inn's amenities or gardens. Upon entering our room, there was an overwhelming dank, musty smell. We opened windows etc but it still was pretty bad, It became problematic for two of our party who had allergies. There is a small heater disguised as a fireplace that did a reasonably good job but you are ordered to turn it off at night. Since the temperature went down into the forties at night, the unit was icy cold in the morning. While the bedroom beds were comfortable, the one in the living area was not and did not have adequate bedding for the cold night. There are lots and lots of rules issued as demands too. I really like giving a good review to places I stay and I travel a lot. But I can't in this case and want to warn my fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avislou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in the Mauna Kea room for 2 nights and really enjoyed out stay. The room was spacious and very clean. The common living area was spacious, warm, very comfortable. the veranda dining area was lovely. microwave, hot and cold water and tea and coffee provided by the hotel, but a toaster would have been really handy! 5 min drive to the volcano national park entrance, some grocery stores and restaurants just up the road in Volcano town (which is a tiny town!). great clean outdoor hot tub, open 24hrs. this hotel has a lot of character and was a really nice place to stay. i would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Volcano.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquablue4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The room had two sets of bunk beds and one queen bed, large dining table, small fridge and microwave. Breakfast is served upstairs in a common room with nice views of the surrounding forest. It was very quiet, but the place had a little bit of a weird vibe.

Plan your trip to VNP well and do your research. It is a long drive and if you only there during the day you might not see much. The town of Volcano doesn't have much to offer. Only a few B&Bs, a store and a couple of restaurants. We visited Jagger at night, which was very cool and did the the lava boat tour with seelava.com.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ambersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had the great fortune to find the Volcano Inn family cottage quite by accident, after a long day of touring Volcano National Park. The roomy one bedroom "Gecko" cottage was tucked away in a lush tropical jungle, replete with anthuriums and giant tree ferns. We were delighted to have a well equipped, nearly full kitchen (minus a stove, but with a microwave). We loved the privacy, and admired the decor and excellent craftsmanship displayed throughout the cottage. The cottage had everything we needed, and we hope to return next year! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eclipse41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Inn for six nights in early November. The purpose of our stay was hiking Volcanoes National Park. We could not have chosen a better location nor a better property. The large, corner room we had was a few blocks away from the main inn in a quiet, beautiful spot complete with a hot tub! Everything about our stay was top notch! The room was clean, comfortable and cozy with a full kitchen and gas fireplace. When I researched the Inn online, the "more you stay, the less you pay" benefit helped me decide to stay there (plus the positive reviews on TripAdvisor!). I must say, though, the photos on their website don't really do the rooms justice. I was prepared for more humble accommodations. When we walked into our room, it was a "wow!" moment. Conveniently located near the park, great restaurants nearby, and a serene setting. A truly exceptional experience!

Room Tip: Volcano Inn has a wide variety of room types. We chose a large, corner room because of the length of...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.3 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
911 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
924 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Inn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Inn Cottages

Address: 19-3820 Old Volcano Rd., Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £93 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have nine cottage-style units beautifully nestled in the rain forest of Volcano Village, Hawaii. All rooms have private bathrooms, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Our larger, family, units have kitchenettes and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Volcano Inn Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Volcano
Volcano Inn Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing