We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and lovely accommodation in a quiet and lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Garden Cottages
Ranked #1 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
“Quiet and lovely accommodation in a quiet and lovely town”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed three nights at this bed and breakfast in Volcano. It is a short drive into Volcano Village and the National Park, which was great since we really enjoyed going between the park and the accommodation multiple times. The Lotus Suite room was very spacious with plenty of room to sleep, eat, and watch TV. But most of all, John, the proprietor, was friendly, helpful in describing the town, accommodating, and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    60
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
413
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A peaceful and serene Asian style lodge on stilts, while accommodation was a suite, not just a room, with sitting and food prep areas as well as a snug up a ladder. We wished we had stayed here 2 nights rather than just 1 on our round island tour. The Volcanoes National Park is worth a whole day if you like walking, so it would be best to bracket it with 2 nights here.
Lovely individual fresh breakfast served on the verandah outside your room was a gentle and refreshing start to the day.
Pay careful attention to John's instructions about the heating and turn it on before going out for dinner as it gets chilly at night here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What am amazing place! John is a fantastic host and a fascinating individual. His Bed & Breakfast is beautiful and very clean. It was a wonderful place to return to after our fun daily adventures. Breakfast every morning was delicious and more than we expected. The rooms are very comfortable and make you feel at home.
If you are looking for a nice, quiet place, where you have no worries, you have found the perfect place!
We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evergreenchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights in the Korean suite. Wonderful decor, nice cosy fireplace and whirlpool hot tub more than appreciated after a night stargazing. Breakfast was gorgeous every day as well.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtizorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Lotus Garden Cottages with some friends a few days ago and highly recommend it. Each room is in a raised, Balinese style building, lovely and spacious with indoor and outside seating. The bed was so comfortable and the whole place is decorated with Asian art. John Kim is a very gracious host and he brought us a plentiful breakfast on a tray which we enjoyed outside on the covered deck in the rain forest environment of Volcano. It's in a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood, about 15 minutes from the park headquarters. We ate dinner at thai Thai which he recommended and were very happy with our delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydiaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for two nights last week and loved it -- such a calm, zen, and really beautiful place. It is also very clean and John is a wonderful host.

Location is great, just minutes away from the park entrance, while still in a peaceful neighbourhood, surrounded by rainforest.

Looking forward to visit again sometimes in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at Lotus Garden Cottages in the Hula Moon Suite. Mr. Kim was very welcoming and helpful. The cottage was lovely, and very clean. Our suite had everything we could need and the location was perfect for travel to the national park. The proximity and great reviews on TA were a few of the reasons why I selected this place for our stay. We did not want to drive back to Hilo at night and after reading various recommendations to stay in the Volcano area, we selected Lotus Garden. Our stay also included breakfast which was plentiful and quite delicious. Mr. Kim really spoils you when you stay here. I booked my reservation on line through the website and I had no problems what so ever. I would stay here again and would certainly recommend this place. After a long afternoon at the park we were starving and ventured to Thai Thai for dinner. Also recommended. Great service, food and very close to Lotus Garden.

Room Tip: Hula Moon, cut outs with screens that allow the stars to peak in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
53.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
55.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Garden Cottages

Property: Lotus Garden Cottages
Address: 194245 Kekoa Nui Blvd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heavenly Paradise! Nestled in the heart of the Volcanic Rainforest lies Lotus Garden Cottages. Zen-like luxury accommodations immerse guests in the peace of paradise. Conveniently situated in Volcano Village, minutes from dining, galleries, and the unforgettable Volcanoes National Park. This wonderful getaway offers a genuine and quaint experience of deep relaxation for visitors and local Island guests as well. Lotus Garden Cottages offers an elegance guests will enjoy year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Garden Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing