We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - but overpriced for the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great - but overpriced for the experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

These guys are really nice and thoughtful but overall, it was very pricey for the accommodations. The fireplace was rinky dinky, the kitchenette was in a closet and somewhat awkward, the jacuzzi was barely big enough for 2 people. It would have been nice if they left a bottle of wine in the fridge instead of the weird microwave popcorn. In general, everything felt like they did the minimum to say they offered it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We were sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your time at Volcano Village Lodge.

We encourage our guests to bring issues to our attention so that we may correct them immediately. Our complimentary snack basket is provided in addition to the breakfast items we prepare for our guests. This basket is filled with items to enjoy at breakfast time, take into the national park, or to snack on after they return for the day. We find that the majority of our guests appreciate having the complimentary granola bars, fresh fruit, mac nuts, hot cocoa and popcorn available inside their guest room. If our guests are unhappy with the items provided, we are happy to find a replacement that would suit their individual needs.

The Hale Manaluna cottage is equipped with an electric fireplace as well as a heated mattress pad for those cooler nights (low 50s). This guest room is unique as it is the only one with a jacuzzi bath tub in the bathroom. We were saddened to hear that these comforts did not meet your expectations. We will look into possible fireplace upgrades.

We hope to not only meet but exceed your expectations on your next stay with us. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    57
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
129
506
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We did the entire drive around the island so stayed in a different place every night. Volcano Village Lodge was the only place we wished we had more time at and promised to come back one day and spend a few more days there. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the room is unique and has everything you need (down to robes & slippers), and the staff was so friendly and helpful. After having done the entire island, I'd say if you don't make it over to the East side you're missing the best part.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Haleakala (with the octagon room) and would definitely recommend it. Really unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Mahalo for your kind words!

We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope that you will make it back again in the near future.

We have to agree with you about the East side of the island being a "must see"! A lot of first-time travelers to the Big Island believe that Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is something that can easily been done in a day trip, but we would have to argue that a full day (if not two full days!) are needed to really experience the area. There are several wonderful places worth exploring outside of HVNP as well!

- The Staff at Volcano Village Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I went to the big island for business purposes. We attended a conference at the Fairmont Orchid. The Fairmont was nice to be sure Volcano Village was a treasure though. Far and away the nicest place we have ever stayed. It was just a short trip to Volcano Park but we were always thrilled to get back to our little nest in the rain forest. Staying here is a bit pricey but it is a wonderful luxury to do do. Also, the pre-made breakfasts were very good. .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
The staff here at Volcano Village Lodge say "mahalo!" for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our property.

Our 5 guest cottages are nestled into the last of the Hawaiian rainforest, which provides a unique experience that many travelers don't even know exists! The idea of preparing our guest's breakfast the evening before was implemented to allow for some schedule flexibility in the morning. Often, we find that the majority of our guests like the idea of eating a private meal inside their guest cottage when they are ready to get up for the day. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We search for peace and happiness most of lives, yet we found the place where reality is left behind and nirvana is a quiet lodge room in the middle of the rainforest.
The girls who run Volcano Village Lodge do an incredible job with creating a place of peace and quiet with every single detail addressed down to umbrellas, flashlights, binoculars, and breakfast in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthialov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Mahalo nui loa for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

- The Staff at Volcano Village Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Serenity, rainforest views, cozy, and wonderful attention to detail by the lodge hosts. Only minutes from Volcano Village and Volcano National Park, who can ask for anything more?

The room is equipped with everything you could need (fireplace, coffee, small refrigerator, wifi, etc...). While the lodge doesn't have a restaurant, each night we found the next mornings breakfast which was always delicious and easy to heat up and enjoy on our private deck overlooking the rainforest.

The lodge was a real treat. As were the chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us on our second day and the fresh baked treats in the lodges common room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds5459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Mahalo nui loa for your kind review. Volcano Village Lodge is nestled in the native Hawaiian rain forest only two miles from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Many guests comment on our attention to details in the rooms and love breakfast waiting in their rooms for a leisurely morning.
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back with our warmest aloha's. -Staff at Volcano Village Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Although the lodge is a more a honey moon lodge than a place to be with small kids, our kids (6) and (9) loved it,
Intuitively they recognized the natural beauty of the lodge, perfectly settled in the rainforest and very close to the volcano national park. And behaved according to such a beautiful and peaceful place.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast awesome.
Volcano national park is only 5 minuets away and its worth a stay of at least 2 or 3 days or even more. We are glad that we decided to stay over in Volcano and not only to plan a day trip from the Kona coast.
When we left our son forgot his little stuffed doggie, which was send immediately back to us, with a packet of Hawaiian chocolate.
Unfortunately we are back in Germany now, far away from Volcano and Big Island.
If you go to Big Island, take the chance and visit Volcano and stay in the Volcano Village Lodge.
With kids or without kids.
Mahalo , Mahalo nui loa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zirkuszelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are happy that your ohana had a wonderful stay with us. While a lot of honeymooners do stay at Volcano Village Lodge, we do have many families as well stay with us. We're located on a very private property that is completely safe for small kids. Our staff provides world class hospitality and will go above and beyond for our guests.
Mahalo nui loa and we hope you can make it back. -Staff at Volcano Village Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because we read all the reviews and thought it would be a grand place to stay when visiting the volcano. We loved the place even more than we expected.
The lodge is quaint and quiet stuck in the rainforest only minutes from the national park. We had a romantic stay in one of the places that had great views of the rainforest.
We only had issues with wishing we had more fruit in the room the first day. The lady took amazing care of us and we had more fruit the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SynergyMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaspencerliving, Manager at Volcano Village Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Mahalo for sharing your experience.

At Volcano Village Lodge, we strive to provide a 5 star experience to each and every one of our guests. We encourage guests to bring their needs to our attention so that we can make their stay as perfect as possible. If a guest desires more of an item (food, towels, soap, etc), we are happy to do what we can to make that happen.

We appreciate you for giving us a chance to make things better by letting us know you preferred more fruit for breakfast. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
408 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
903 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Property: Volcano Village Lodge
Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing