We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We stayed here on July 8 and 9. The B&B was as beautiful as all the reviews said it would be. Kay is a kind and gracious person who cares alot about the property and our happiness. I wish there were more like her out there. Our cabin had the most amazing smell as it was made of white cedar (I believe that it was the Mauna Kea Lodge). The remote controlled gas fireplace and candles gave a nice ambience as well. My wife says it was extremely romantic. Dont forget to crush some macadamian nuts while at the reception area. They taste much better than canned ones you find elsewhere. We would definitely come back and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a romantic and relaxing retreat.

  • Liked — Beautiful and relaxing
  • Disliked — Only spent two days there
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sldkjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    56
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
128
505
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

I just got home from my honeymoon where we spent 10 days on the big island. Unfortunately, we only spent 1 night at the Volcano Village lodge as we were at a timeshare in Kona. Staying at the lodge was the best night we had on the island. My husband and I were blown away at just how amazing the entire facility is, our room was incredibly clean and prepared for us. The lodge is private and everything you could possbily need was there and Kay and her husband were absolutely wonderful. I worked with Kay to suprise my husband with champagne and cheese and fruit..... wow! Just an absolute stunning place to stay wtih music, beautiful furniture, towel warmer in the shower, and all of the amenities you could possbily want. The hot tub was great, complete with slippers and robe. Do not hesistate to stay here, we now understand why everyone gave it such great ratings...... you MUST stay here! You will not regret it! We are already planning our return, but want to be there for several days!!!

  • Liked — Attention to every detail.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank JR11678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Volcano Village Lodge is an amazing place to stay. We were there for 2 nights of our honeymoon in late June and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We have already decided to return on one of our anniversaries.

The lodges are beautiful. They are built of cedar and the wonderful smell fills the rooms. Showers are an unforgettable experience in the fresh, clean rain water they collect for tap water as well as the organic soaps they provide. Taking a dip in their hot tub at night, with a light rain falling in the jungle was awesome!

Kay is a wonderful, welcoming person who truly makes you feel at home. Let her know your plans while you are staying there, she is very accommodating! We had an early morning flight from Hilo to Maui so she provided breakfast food that we could take with us.

We also got Lomi Lomi massages right in our room which was a great experience. I highly recommend couples visiting the park to stay here.

  • Liked — The rooms are incredible, surrounded by jungle
  • Disliked — The town itself - I would love to spend a week here but there isn't enough to do in Volcano!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank phillyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

Volcano Village Lodge is a very peaceful getaway just 5 minutes from the Park, which is great if you plan on spending a lot of time in the park as my wife and I did on our honeymoon. Each lodge is made of very hight quality wood, mostly cedar I think and is equipped with very nice wood furniture, a mini fridge, a peaceful lanai, an LCD TV and DVD player with a volcano eruption DVD, we liked it so much we bought the latest one at the park vistors center. There's also a hot tub which is perfect after those long day hikes in the park.

Kay is a wonderful host and prepares a very good breakfast, although a little small, and puts it in your fridge the previous afternoon so you can eat it at your leisure. She is also very knowledgeable about the area and told us about a short hike to see the Lava flow into the the ocean. It was a 4.5 miles if you hiked through the park to see it, which we did the previous day and couldn't get very close to the flow. If you decide to hike outside the park beware, there are no roped off areas and you can easily walk up on a pahoehoe flow(slow moving) without knowing it. We got within 15' of one before we realized the ground was glowing!!

Cons:
It's pricey but not enough to stop us from coming back

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mntbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

A very short drive from Volcanoes National Park, this place is beautiful and well kept. Kay is very helpful and provides you with lots of great tips about activities, restaurants, the park. Nice hot-tub. Gorgeous, manicured grounds. Several nice restaurants very nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank apaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Everything was wonderful, food, room, hot tub! My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in early June. Kay was great giving insider tips on everything in the area. Other than that - the stay was one of the most peaceful we've had anywhere (US or other), and we'd consider the long flight from NY just to get away to stay here and visit nothing else in Hawaii.

Also - visiting the Volcano & getting to see an active lava flow for the 1st time is unforgettable. I would recommend staying in Volcano Village for anyone who really wants to hike out to the lava flow. The hike can be long depending on where it is flowing, and just exploring really knocks you out.

  • Liked — The feeling of being home (acess to necessities), but the tranquility & set up of the lodge.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Par4Grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2007

This place will probably take your breath away. It's less of a B&B and more of a relaxation spa resort. There are four lodges which are separate from each other so you feel like you're on your own in the jungle. They're made with white cedar and smell great. The patter of rain on the roof as you sit on your covered lanai is great background noise while you read a book. The bed is really, really comfy. Bring some DVDs, since there is a LCD TV in each lodge (there is also a small library of movies already there). The breakfast, placed in your mini-fridge for you the night before, worked great for us, as we were able to stash a lot of it in our packs for our hikes in the nearby national park.

I found the cool temperature of the town of Volcano a welcome break to the humid hot of the rest of our Hawaiian vacation.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, convenient packable breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Property: Volcano Village Lodge
Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing