We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcano Village Lodge has the best beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Volcano Village Lodge
Ranked #2 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, MD
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Volcano Village Lodge has the best beds!”
Reviewed 18 August 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Mauna Loa lodge in January 2007 and loved it. The whole village is so beautifully done and the gardens are kept up by local Buddhist monks. Our lodge had a separate bedroom, but we stayed in the magnificent king bed in the main room. The bed was the most comfortable bed we’ve ever slept in, so much so that we actually contacted Kay recently to find out what brand she used so that we could purchase one just like it. We enjoyed the hot tub, especially after our 10 mile hike throughout Volcano National Park, which is just a couple miles down the road. There are only a few restaurants in town, but we loved the Thai place—went there twice in the 3 days we were there. I must say that the blinds that cover the windows do allow you to see inside the rooms at night, which was disconcerting at first, but everyone is very respectful of each other’s privacy and it was never an issue.

  • Liked — The bed and the beautiful gardens.
  • Disliked — We found 2 roaches on our last day.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michaelbw1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    56
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
128
504
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

The highest compliment you can give a bed and breakfast is to let people know this is where other bed and breakfast owners come to relax. Volcano Village Lodge is delightful, a magical place to stay. Our cottage the Mauna Loa is spacious and beautifully decorated, the bed is the princess and the pea variety where you sink down in and do not want to get up. I personally loved the pull down shades that you could see out and no one can see in (i tried). Kay Lee the owner is warm, welcoming and very knowledgeable it is obvious she loves what she does. I could have stayed a week and next time perhaps I will.

  • Liked — Just about everything
  • Disliked — It was raining and that was also fun
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

The Volcano Village Lodge is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for lodging near the Volcano National Park but don't want to sacrifice the comfort of a luxury resort hotel. There are only 4 rooms in this "b and b",but each light filled "room" is essentially like a freestanding building tucked away in a rainforest setting (without bugs!). We stayed in the Mauna Loa room with our 2 children. The lodge (newly built in 2006) has an Asian feel with high end modern touches (hardwood floors, granite counters in the kitchen area, luxury linens, a towel warmer in the bathroom!). The fridge is stocked with breakfast foods on arrival (we had homemade omelets in the fridge with a fruit plate and an assortment of yogurt, cereal, juice, and other snacks) so you can eat the next morning whenever you want.

Most amazing is the sound of rain falling on the roof in the early morning with the sounds of the birds and rustling of the trees through the windows. This is a very private, beautiful, intimate setting. We were only able to stay one night as the rooms book up very quickly here but it was the perfect way to get to spend a little more time in the VNP area; I wish we could have stayed a longer. Truly a hidden gem!

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, clean and high end accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing-loved it!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ardenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

The Haleakala cottage at Volcano Village Lodge is the best place we've ever stayed, period! Calming, and peaceful, it is the perfect setting to deepen relationships and become closer to nature. The scent of our cedar wood cottage mingled with the cool night air and sounds of the rainforest gently lulled us to sleep each night. Awakened more refreshed than we've been in years we dined on breakfasts of fresh fruits, breads and much more! The private lanai was the perfect place to catch up on a good book and good conversation! Finishing off the day with a quiet soak in the hot tub was the best, so relaxing! Kudos to Kay and her staff Cheyenne and Mary! We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Luxurious, incredibly clean. Gives you the feeling you are alone in the rainforest together.
  • Disliked — There are no faults!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank HSEDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

This gem of a lodge is a hideaway tucked in a miniature rain forest. It is in a most peaceful location, just minutes from Volcano Park, and at 3500 ft., a cool respite from beach heat. We even used the remote-controlled fireplace in the evening! Daytime temps allowed lounging on our private deck or beautiful common room.
Owner Kay is a calm, personable, fun hostess whose taste is obvious in the decor, beds and luxurious linens and the superb variety of breakfast and healthy snack food in each "cottage" every morning. Don't be fooled by the high def TV in the room - since there are no "stations" it's there to watch videos, including spectacular volcano footage in case Pele is not cooperating with a live show at the park.
Our only concern is that word will get out about this relatively new gem on the Big Island.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We stayed here on July 8 and 9. The B&B was as beautiful as all the reviews said it would be. Kay is a kind and gracious person who cares alot about the property and our happiness. I wish there were more like her out there. Our cabin had the most amazing smell as it was made of white cedar (I believe that it was the Mauna Kea Lodge). The remote controlled gas fireplace and candles gave a nice ambience as well. My wife says it was extremely romantic. Dont forget to crush some macadamian nuts while at the reception area. They taste much better than canned ones you find elsewhere. We would definitely come back and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a romantic and relaxing retreat.

  • Liked — Beautiful and relaxing
  • Disliked — Only spent two days there
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sldkjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

I just got home from my honeymoon where we spent 10 days on the big island. Unfortunately, we only spent 1 night at the Volcano Village lodge as we were at a timeshare in Kona. Staying at the lodge was the best night we had on the island. My husband and I were blown away at just how amazing the entire facility is, our room was incredibly clean and prepared for us. The lodge is private and everything you could possbily need was there and Kay and her husband were absolutely wonderful. I worked with Kay to suprise my husband with champagne and cheese and fruit..... wow! Just an absolute stunning place to stay wtih music, beautiful furniture, towel warmer in the shower, and all of the amenities you could possbily want. The hot tub was great, complete with slippers and robe. Do not hesistate to stay here, we now understand why everyone gave it such great ratings...... you MUST stay here! You will not regret it! We are already planning our return, but want to be there for several days!!!

  • Liked — Attention to every detail.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank JR11678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
403 reviews
2.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
860 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
864 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Village Lodge

Property: Volcano Village Lodge
Address: 19-4183 Road E, 19-4183 Road E, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven on Earth. Welcome to the paradox of fire and tranquility. We created the Hawaii Volcano Village Lodge for people who want more out of life than a whirlwind tour of the island. Located just a mile from the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, our lodges and retreat are where you will wake up in peace and beauty. Stroll through the sacred rainforest and rest in your deluxe lodge with every comfort, including the plushest bedding, a fireplace, DVD, CD, private telephone, wireless connection, tropical breakfasts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Volcano Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Village Hotel Volcano
Volcano Village Lodge Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing