We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in a tent with mold before you stay at Ohia Hideaway”

Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Sleep in a tent with mold before you stay at Ohia Hideaway”
Reviewed 15 February 2008

My wife and I just returned from 10 days on the Big Island. We stayed in both budget hotels and a beautiful resort. While in Volcano we spent the worst 2 nights that we spent anywhere else. The Ohia Hideaway smelled musty, had mold throughout, bad tap water, inadequate heat and was dirty. They tell you that in Volcano to expect cold damp weather and then they supply the "house" with 2 tiny plug in heaters.
If I had spent 40.00 a night it would have been too much. I submit reviews every time I travel and like nothing better then to write a glowing review and do so about 95% of the time. We do not stay often in 5 star resorts but look for quality for the price locations and this was about the worst place we have stayed since we used to tent camp when we were younger, and even that was better.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jjapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

We stayed at the Hale Ohia Cottage for one night. It was very close to the Volcano National Park, though it was quite an adventure going down the gravel road to get to the cottage.
We were very pleased with the cottage on first arrival -- separate bedroom, well stocked kitchen (very important in the Volcano
area where the restaurants are limited), and nice sitting area.
The problem started after we returned in the early evening after it
started raining. It was cool and damp (temp was about 50 degrees outside). There was a small wood burning stove in the room with a duraflame log. The log was damp, and we were never able to light it. We went to plan B which was a small space heater. We turned it on, and an hour went by without any effect. We called the main office and they assured us it would "gradually"' warm the room. We were still shivering by the next morning!! Again, if it was warmer, we would have been perfectly happy with our stay but the weather put a damper on our short visit.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank chicagoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

One of the worst places I've ever slept; we should have slept in the car! My niece booked this place, "the cheapest she could find" in Volcano. Finances may not be her forte, as the entire 6 bedroom house cost us $350+ for the night, and you can rent some very nice private residences and condos for that price.

Upon entry, we were hit by an overwhelming odor of mildew / mold. The house REEKED. My niece killed several roaches in the kitchen. It was cold and damp, damp, damp. We started the ancient gas wall furnace in the basement but then it smelled like the house was going to blow sky-high from gas fumes, so we turned it off and scavenged some dura-flame logs for the woodstove. The house lacked an adequate heating system.

Downstairs, our bedspread reeked so much of mildew I had to push it off the bed. My sister did the same in her room. Then, when I awoke (freezing, early), and went aroud to my husband's side of the bed, I stepped in a puddle under the carpet! My husband's clothes were now in a puddle. Looking up, I saw three spots in the ceiling dripping a continuous trickle of water (about a drip a second). My husband told me that the dripping noise had kept him awake all night but that he couldn't identify it and had actually thought the noises were being made by rodents or other critters (based upon the huge gap underneath the exterior door downstairs).

On the way out, we complained to Christopher, & he graciously offered us breakfast, but we were on our way to bike in the Nat'l park. He promised to refer our concern to the mgr. We later received an e-mail from the mgr blaming the drip on the "tropical rain forest" location (it was NOT raining that night). No apology was offered.

If I had to do it over again, I'd curl up in the rental car with a blanket - it'd have better ambiance and protection from the elements.

  • Liked — Leaving the next morning
  • Disliked — Water dripping from ceiling all night, roaches in kitchen, mold & mildew odor
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcnunmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Volcano hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

We stayed at the Ohia Hideaway, thankfully for just one night. We arrrived cold and wet from a hike, hoping to warm ourselves by the advertised warm woodstove. It was so dank that the single Duraflame log provided to us when we checked in would not light--we had to use paper towels to get it lit. Worst yet, the small woodstove and a single plug-in radiant heater in the bedroom were the only sources of heat, and they were woefully inadequate. Without any heat to dry the house, it stayed disagreeably musty. We could not relax because we were so cold and wet, and eventually resorted to using a hair dryer to dry ourselves. Eventually, we drove back to the reception area for another Duraflame log -- which the Chateau Kilauea sold to us for $3.50! Now let's talk about the kitchen. As another reviewer noted, it was poorly equipped and dark, certainly not an inviting place to cook or eat. And the tap water was both soapy and full of iron -- the management really should provide bottled water. Finally, there's the bathroom. The advertisements for the Ohia Hideaway claim that it has a "marble" bathroom. Well, in a manner of speaking. The bathroom was old and tired, with rotting wood, but it does have a marble vanity top. All in all, not a place we would recommend to anyone, especially at the price. This might be OK at $75/night. On the plus side, the woman at the check-in was really really nice. They just happen to be renting you an overpriced and substandard product.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Love22saywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanside ca
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2007

The house was in a lovely setting. The kitchen and second bathroom were not clean. Hair in the tub. Microwasve oven was very dirty. Sink and counters in kitchen were not clean. The house livingroom needs more furniture. Was not comfortable to all sit in there for more than 3 people.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teachOceansideCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2007

The Ohia HIdeaway is a one-bedroom cottage operated by the Chalet Kilaueau Collection. It has cute furnishings, and is very quiet. We stayed there from June 20-23, 2007. It cost over $190 a night with tax, but lacked many of the basic amenities one would expect for that price.

First, the lighting was so dim it was hard to read, and even more difficult to cook in the poorly equipped kitchen. We had to call the management two days in a row to get maintenance to bring bulbs brighter than 60 watts. They never did replace the burned-out bulb in the light fixture over the sink. or the 40 and 25 watt bulbs in the fixture in the corner of the kitchen. Both fixtures are made of cheap plastic, with sockets that have corroded in the humidity. These cheap corroded fixtures may well start an electrical fire.

The cooking pots and utensils were inadequate. The cabinets were filthy. There was a half-sized refrigerator, with an unusable freezer. It hadn't been defrosted for years, so there was no room to put anything in it. There were no screens on any of the windows. When it got warm, we opened a few windows and the bugs swarmed in.

The queen bed had a too-short flat bottom sheet instead of a more common contoured sheet. The sheet was too short to stay tucked in, so it came undone in a snarled mess every night.

For nearly $200 a night (with no maid service unless you stay four nights or longer) we expected the basics to work. It may be that other cottages were better maintained and equipped, but this one was not worth the price.

Susan Helf
Seattle, WA

  • Liked — quiet, lovely setting
  • Disliked — lack of basic amenities
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justthebasics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua Kona, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2007

The Chalet Kilauea rents out small houses and rooms. We rented the 3 bedroom house "Pele's Plantation", and we were less than pleased. Our cost was over 250.00 per night, which is higher than any other B&B we have stayed at in Volcano. (We have stayed in about 6 others.) The cost does not include breakfast. You have to pay extra for any food of any kind. We also had to buy paper towels and coffee filters. This particular vacation house has a hot tub, but the temp was only 94, so when we went to use it, we couldn't warm it up fast enough. It is also outside about 25 yards from the house, but no slippers or robes were provided, and going from the hot tub to the house late can be really cold and wet. There was a giant 60" TV in the living room, but it only got about 6 channels. There were televisions in two of the bedrooms, that got all channels, but our friend who was getting the 3rd room had to go without as it had no TV. We have stayed at better places (try the Teapot Cottage) and really got our moneys worth. Sometimes its the little things that can make all the difference for not too much money. The service was great, and the house was nice. The beds were very comfy, but it would have been nice to have had breakfast included, and better amenities. Over all I would not recommend this place due to the high cost. I would have felt that about 125-175 would have been more appropriate, but breakfast would still have to be included.



  • Liked — The hot tub
  • Disliked — The mold on the curtains, the lack of ammenities
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank microgrooves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 31 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Property: Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, POB 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection) 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within native Hapu'u tree ferns and Ohia trees, these delightful havens offer the luxury and privacy you seek. Each vacation home is masterfully designed with an elegant decor and comfortable furnishings ("Hawaiian Plantation" to "French Country"). Our vacation homes are strategically located within Volcano Village; as close as possible to the entrance to Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park! Attention to detail, direct phone line, cable TV, stereo system, full kitchen, living space, and dining space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing