We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would spend more for better.”

Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed in their "Pele's Plantation" unit. The location is good, being close to the Volcanoes National Park. It has a functioning kitchen and a hot tub. The positive points end there.

The coffee machine uses a special filter, and there is no grinder in the kitchen--we ended up buying packets of coffee from the Volcano Vacation Homes office, and it was pretty awful coffee ("no less than 10% Kona coffee" the packets bragged--meaning they were 90% crap). There was a huge rear-projection TV in the main room, dating from somewhere around 1995 (on the other hand, you hopefully don't come here to watch television). The beds were a bit hard, but bearable. There were no vent fans in the restrooms. The kitchen had only the basics--no blenders, no salt or pepper or other basics that one does not take on a trip. Plan to eat out in the limited number of restaurants nearby.

But worst of all, the place smells terribly of mold or mildew. I recognize that, being in a rain forest, there is a great deal of water about. Still, the water should stay outside the house, not inside the house. They should install a dehumidifier and go over the place thoroughly with some water and bleach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhammoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, General Manager at Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection), responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2009

Although we appreciate the contents of this review, we find it in complete opposition to what most of our guests feel about the home. Volcano Village is located within a rainforest reserve at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (4,000-foot elevation). Sometimes, travelers expect all of Hawaii to be surrounded by white beaches and resorts. Albeit, the village is a quaint residential spot representing a unique alternative to mainstream Hawaii, some of our guests are very disappointed with the location. We can see, feel, hear, and smell that disappointment at the moment they arrive. Although we clearly have no control over our location, some travelers express their disappointment with Volcano Village's location (no white sandy beaches, no palm trees, no resort-styled shops, different weather patterns, etc.) by over-criticizing their accommodations. I have countless examples of absolutely terrible (by comparison) Hawaii beach accommodations that consistently receive great reviews; because of the valued location, the unit is held to a lesser standard. Taking into account the aforementioned, we have specific knowledge of the guest that wrote this review. Sadly, we find the review to be overly critical of a consistently fantasic vacation home. In addition, some of the comments made were in error: the bathrooms. The bathrooms in this home have windows for ventillation. As with many homes in the rest of the United States, usually bathrooms without windows come with venting systems; those with windows usually do not come with forced air ventilation systems. Coffee. We use a supplier in Honolulu to provide our coffee amenities. This is the largest supplier in the Hawaii Hotel industry. All is can say is that most Hawaii Hotels use the same coffee. If this guest had stayed anywhere prior to us or after us, chances are that he consumed the same coffee. Salt and Pepper. We provide an endless supply of salt and pepper with each vacation home. These items are always in the kitchen area, placed in a location most people would find convenient. This is the first time a guest has been unable to locate these items. Humidity. Yes we are in a rainforest. We are highly skilled in maintaining the climate within our homes. We have an extensive dehumidifying program for each home and unit. That is the only way to maintain structures in a rainforest. We know this well, given our location. Given the comment about ventillation, we are concerned that perhaps the guest closed every window available, creating a stuffy atmosphere for his party of travelers. The rainforest air is very pure and calming. However, like any home, when the windows are all closed, the interior air will become stale. Again, the comment is in opposition to most of our travelers comments about the interior atmosphere of the units. TV. The home does own a 62" flat screen plasma TV. No, it was not manufactured in 2009, however, it is definitely current with today's standards and is a very impressive piece. Again, most of our guests are more than pleased with this device. Kitchen items. The home is equipped with items most travelers find necessary. We realize that certain travelers may have needs outside what is supplied; given notice by the guest, we are always more than happy to supply those items. We have no record of any such requests from this traveler. We find that most vacation home guests do not prepare thanksgiving-style meals while traveling. Therefore, as a standard, all the culinary basics are always supplied. In summary, we truly feel this review was compiled in an attempt to express personal disappointment with Volcano Village; a location that is very very different with mainstream Hawaii marketing. That being said, Volcano Village is very unique and actually a world heritage site bearing fantastic flora and fauna found only here. Most travelers are absolutely amazed with the area; some however, cannot see past the lack of white sandy beaches, palm trees, and beach bunnies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

My family recently enjoyed a stay at the Pele's Plantation house. It was really a wonderful place to stay. YOu will really receive the whole package when you stay here. There is a lovely hot tub in the yard. The rooms are quaint and cute. There is a nice gas fireplace in the living room. And then, of course, what a more lovely place to have this cottage than the Hawaiian volcanoe national park! It was truly a wonderful stay.
Hail Pele!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColeZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We stayed in Pele's Plantation in August 2007. It is one of the larger properties in the Chalet Kilauea collection. I chose this as many of the other places allow cats and other animals access free reign to wander all over the property, and Kilauea did not.

I am very surprised to see such lukewarm reviews here - I realise most of the reviewers did not stay at Pele's but can't imagine there is that much difference in quality between the different Vacation Homes.

Whilst we were looking for Pele’s when we first arrived, it was dark, and yet a neighbor stopped to offer help and guide us on our way – not at all what we are used to! When we collected our keys, we were given a Welcome drink.

We had three large bedrooms there which slept the family very comfortably. Pele’s is in the middle of the rainforest, and yet was not unduly damp. Although it rained every day whilst we were there, it was fortunately early in the morning before we were up. Given the lushness of the surrounding vegetation, there clearly has to be a fair amount of rain here. The house is VERY convenient for exploring the volcano, but probably best to stock up on provisions before you get to Volcano Village, as you can only really get absolute necessities in the store there! Stunning views of the lush rainforest surrounded the house, and there was a delightful deck where you could sit out. Bedrooms all very comfortable, 2 doubles of reasonable size, and a twin bedded room. Bathrooms clean and everything worked. Also a jacuzzi (outside), though we didn't have time to use that. We weren't disturbed, though trash was removed, and the house was cleaned whilst we were out during the day. We really felt spoiled with all the space - the children loved the 60in TV! Decor pleasant, overall a very relaxing few days - a great place from which to explore the volcano. House was no less clean, than any of the (5*) hotels we stayed in for the rest of our trip! It is not 5star luxury - but then you have to stay a LONG way from the volcano to get that - and compared with what we got elsewhere, felt the price to be very reasonable.

Will certainly return here when we return to Volcano.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Very quiet and peaceful setting. Very clean except for the dishes which we rewashed ourselves. Kitchen could have used a few more items (ie wine glasses). Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider coming back for a second visit.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TXCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We spoke with a fellow from the visitor center in the village of Volcano and he recommended this place. The ginger cottage was clean and airy. It is old fashioned but has all you need. The staff was friendly. The main building has a hot tub , lanai, koi pond and and complimentary tea from 3 to 5 with frre inetrnet access. Best of all, we called late and asked for a deal and got one! Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thistlejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

The best place in Volcano!

At first, we reserved a room in the volcano chalet, near the commune kitchen. When we arrived for the check-in, they upgrade us to another room, the rainforest cottage (for no reason!)

The room was perfect! It was like a little house (bath, TV, radio, small kitchen, etc.)! After 2 weeks in different hostel, we found the paradise near the inferno (and it was cheaper than some hostel we visited!)!

This place also have free internet, afternoon tea (Amazing teas!), and a jacuzzi (but it's a secret!). The place is really relaxing and the staff is really helpfull and friendly (they received us with a fresh juice at the office). They have a beautiful garden with many fishs.

The location is perfect (10 minutes from volcano park) and the place was not crowded (and even if it were, there's place for everyone!).

I will come back again

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vieillechaussette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed at the Chalet Kilauea Ginger Cottage for 4 nights in February. The Ginger cottage sits on a great spot. There really is so much potential to be a nice rental, but it is, unfortunately, unmet potential.
When we arrived, the cottage was stuffy. We decided to open the windows to air it out. One of the bedroom window separated from the frame when we opened it. We had to have one person go outside and hold the glass in place and push the frame so we could get it closed. It never did completely close.
The cottage itself was flithy. It was apparent that the floors had not been cleaned in a long time. there was dust and hair balls in the coner of the living room. The dishes were filthy. I pulled out a spatula that actually still had food caked on it. And there was dirt in the cabinets and drawers. One of the cabinets even had a small pile of dirt in the corner. The bedspreads were filthy. I can't even guess as to when they were last washed.
A picture of the cottage on thier website shows a nice leather couch in the living room. What we found was a 1980's era reject with broken boards in the back.
To top off the cottage, I also had an unfortunate experience with a staff member. One member of our party was not feeling well so decided to stay back. Apparently, someone stopped by the cottage and said they were there to change the sheets. This was refused because the person at the cottage did not feel well. When I got back that afternoon I need to take the trash out. There is no trash bin at the property, so I called the main lodge and asked where I could take it. The staff member told me that there was no place to take it. She said there was no trash service in Volcano. So, I asked what they do with their trash. She repeated that there is no trash service and that since the service for the cottage had been refused, we would "just have to wait until the next cleaning service".
That evening, I took the trash to the main lodge and asked to speak with the general manager. He was out, so I told the person at the desk of the problems with the cottage and the rude staff member. She offered to have the cottage repaired and cleaned. However, since we had a member of our party not feeling well we declined. The simple fact is that the cottage should have been maintained well before our stay. When I asked her where I could take our garbage, she told me they have a dumpster out back I could use. I'm not sure why I wasn't told about the dumpster on my first attempt.
We e-mailed the general manager of the Chalet kilauea Collection a week after we returned from our trip. We still have heard nothing from him.
If you are going to the Big Island and plan on visiting Volcano National Park, the town of Volcano is easliy accessible, quaint, and a good option. However, there are other places to stay than the Chalet Kilauea Collection. I highly recommend finding one rather than settling for what we did.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
51.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,231 reviews
22.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
53.6 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,599 reviews
0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection)

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Pob 998, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £127 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within native Hapu'u tree ferns and Ohia trees, these delightful havens offer the luxury and privacy you seek. Each vacation home is masterfully designed with an elegant decor and comfortable furnishings ("Hawaiian Plantation" to "French Country"). Our vacation homes are strategically located within Volcano Village; as close as possible to the entrance to Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park! Attention to detail, direct phone line, cable TV, stereo system, full kitchen, living space, and dining space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Vacation Homes (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing