We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainforest Chalet - Too expensive for what you get”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Cottages
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rainforest Chalet - Too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Rainforest Chalet is a beautiful cottage, the architecture is great and the setting is breathtaking but unfortunately the inside needs a huge upgrade. The shower curtain is moldy, the appliances are very outdated, the plates and kitchen utensils are old. Another complaint I have is the $20 per additional person. Personally, I think it's robbery since it's a cottage and the place does sleep 4 people, so it's not like they have to bring extra beds or re-arrange the floor plan, why charge the extra money when the nightly fee is high enough? greed I'm sure.
Another problem was that we were told we would get breakfast fixings if we stayed 3 days but in the morning we noticed we didn't have any of that stuff, so we had to call the property manager and had to wait about an hour for her to bring it.
No internet either.
Bottom line: for what you pay per night you should be getting a much nicer place with upgraded stuff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U_s_a_Viajera2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We were a family of 5. Parents, the 2 of us and my little son. We were amazed with the hospitality and friendliness of Beate (Cant thank her and her husband enough). They went all out to help us. The folks around Volcano are very warm and friendly willing to help visitors in times of need.
Now to the place we stayed. We were housed at the Lehua Lodge Retreat. Its a nice place, sleeps 5. Has a washer/dryer right inside the home. It has a wood burning heater in the house. The home is fully equipped in the kitchen. It has a fully loaded kitchen from the other guests. We are vegetarian folks and hence preferred to cook in and eat. The place is real close to the volcano national park.
Overall great place to stay. Certainly would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Before going into detail, I highly recommend Turtle House as a wonderful place to stay while visiting the Big Island's can't-miss Volcanoes National Park (VNP) and its environs. The manager, Beate Arnopole, with her helpfulness and hospitality, contributed greatly to this outstanding experience. My only regret is that we could only stay one night; I'd have preferred a multi-night stay if time had allowed.

A little background... This was our first visit to the Big Island and we only had a week. One of our priorities was visiting VNP, one of the unique attractions of the Big Island, and we knew the 2 hour-or-so drive each way to and from the Waikoloa Beach Resort area (where we were staying) in one day would severely limit our time at VNP and Hilo. So we looked for a place to say at Volcano (the town by VNP) for a night.

I looked through the TripAdvisor's listings for Volcano, and found a number of tempting-looking places, but the thought of staying at a private cottage for my wife, 10-year-old son, and me was really appealing. I found Kilauea Volcano Cottages on this site and called Beate, who manages the properties that comprise Kilauea Volcano Cottages.

Beate was extremely helpful, giving me a number of choices for cottages. I asked her of the cottages currently available what she would recommend for my family and our particular needs and interests. She suggested Turtle House, which especially resonated with me, because I've been interested in turtles since I was a kid. Given the turtle-themed furnishings around the house, "Turtle House" is appropriately named! I can't recommend this property highly enough, as you can tell by my ratings.

Beate gave us easy-to-follow directions and we had no mishaps finding Turtle House. Shortly after our arrival, Beate stopped by, giving us information about the amenities of the house, nearby restaurants as well as invaluable tips about the must-sees around not just VNP, but the beaches around close-by Hilo.

For example, on Beate’s suggestion, we drove after dark into VNP, parked in the Jaggar Museum’s lot, strolled a few hundred feet, and saw the glow from the area surrounding the volcano. You wouldn’t see this glow – or at least as dramatically – during the day. I recommend bring a flashlight though; the parking lot is dark!

Turtle House is in a private, lush, rainforest type of setting. You can only see the driveway from the street, and the only view through the house's many windows is of its beautiful surroundings. Yet, the house is a. mere 3-minute drive to the main street of Volcano, which has a number of charming stores, and restaurants ranging from fancy to very casual. (We really enjoyed dinner at Kilauea Lodge. The service - Ellen was our server - and the food was excellent.

Turtle House has two bedrooms, two baths (the upstairs master bedroom has its own bath), with a fully equipped kitchen (minus a dishwasher, which we didn't care about). The living room has a TV with a DVD player and VCR (with a small movie library, including kid and family-oriented titles), a good choice of books, Hawaiiana and otherwise, a nice, comfortable sofa, and a relaxing recliner. There's a nice area off the kitchen with a dining table and chairs. The house even has a laundry room. The upstairs master bedroom has a comfortable, queen-sized bed with a quilt; the lower bedroom has two single beds. My son enjoyed having his own bedroom.

For the cool nights in this area, we used Turtle House’s radiant heating system. This warms the floor on the bottom level. The house also has a convenient space heater for the upstairs. We were very comfortable, day and night. With all of its amenities, including a lighted, covered side porch, free wireless internet which worked very well, and its private location, Turtle House is an ideal place to stay, both for a family and as a romantic get-away. It made our whole VNP experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passglx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kahului, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Had a super stay for two at the Mauna Loa Cottage in Volcano, Hawaii--the one with the nice covered hot tub, park-like backyard, and lava tub beside the house. This cottage fits the bill for seamless R & R. While not as luxurious as some of the larger, more expensive cottages, it has the feel of a real home and everything needed for a comfortable stay. The gas fire place is especially convenient since warmth is sometimes a nighttime issue when staying in Volcano. The covered parking area is great too; connects directly to the house so no scrambling when going in and out if it's raining. (Try the park's Kau Desert trail on rainy days--fifteen minutes by car and it's often dry out there even when Volcano is socked-in. Great for sunsets too.) Five minutes from the National Park, the Mauna Loa Cottage made for a very peaceful stay, and the price saved us enough to go out to eat each night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ean2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This beautifully designed home is a complete compliment to the gorgeous rainforest setting privately enclosing it. It is THE BEST Jacuzzi I have ever been in, sauna, outdoor showers and fish pond. Extensive private grounds to stroll through. And that's just the outside! Inside bamboo floors, fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, everything you could possibly need to enjoy hiking all over Volcano, even a cooler to put your lunch in if you like. The master bedroom is surrounded by sliding windows looking out on a wrap around deck and the master bath has jetted tub and a sexy shower that is nearly all glass including the outside wall so you are gazing at the rainforest while you shower. The owner owns a lot of acreage there and it is very private. Lying in bed in the morning you can listen to the orchestra of birds as they awaken. We loved it so much the first weekend we were there and had to travel to Waikoloa Hilton for business and were scheduled to spend 5 days there but upon arriving at the commercial Disney Hilton we quickly called to see if we could get the "Honeymoon Retreat" back and were thrilled to return there after 3 business days at the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxfireSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We spent a week at Apapane Lodge with 4 adults and 2 young children. Everyone was comfortable-- the kitchen and dining area were great, and the laundry facility was a real plus. We woke in the morning to bird song and gentle breezes... no traffic noise or bright lights. Cable internet was fast and dependable, house was clean and ready for us. Would love to stay here again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueflax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waialua, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We have so enjoyed staying at the maunaloa cottage...this is our 4th trip there and as always the ambiance and the stay was relaxing and heavenly. We love having the jacuzzi on the back porch..it is great after a long day hiking. Love the open market, and the community is delightful. The scenery is absoultely beautiful..the ohia lehua and the hapuu ferns always fills the senses. The house is comfortable and has everything you need to have a wonderful vacation. Much better than the hotels....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyshorewoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#14 of 31 in Volcano
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Cottages

Property: Kilauea Volcano Cottages
Address: 11-3980 Lanihuli Road, P.O. Box 108-309, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilauea Volcano Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Cottages Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Volcano Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing