We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Cottage in a Fern Forest”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alemmenes
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage in a Fern Forest”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We loved our stay at the Volcott Volcano Cottage. It is a very welcoming and attractive cottage in a lovely location conveniently close to Volcano National Park. The beds were comfortable, the cottage well appointed, and you awake to the sounds of very happy birds right outside your window. We stayed two nights and spent three days exploring the area and especially Volcano Park. We will visit the area again, and would be happy to stay at Volcott Volcano Cottage again.
That said, when we arrived for our stay at the cottage, at 5pm the first night of our stay, there were dirty dishes in the sink, wet towels hanging on the rods and on the bathroom floor, garbage in all the garbage cans, and both beds were completely disheveled. We called the very nice cleaning lady, and it became obvious that there had been a snafu with the scheduling and that the cottage had not gotten cleaned between the last guests' check out and our arrival. She was very apologetic and we hold nothing against her. These things happen and we are fully capable of taking dirty sheets off of beds and putting clean sheets on, doing some dishes wiping counters, and hauling all of the laundry out to the washing machine. When Merlenna called she said that the cleaning lady had asked her to refund the entire cleaning fee for our stay and that she was willing to do that. We thought that was appropriate, but felt that we deserved a little more for the fact that we had to do our own cleaning, after hiking all day in Volcano Park, before collapsing into a clean bed. I asked Merlenna to refund us an extra $15 (a low fee I thought for this work done while on my Hawaii vacation), but she said that was not possible. We didn't let that spoil our stay there, but we found it hard to understand and quite vexing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Aloha,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at this lovely home. We sincerely apologize for this double booking mixup but thank you for your understanding in this matter. The housecleaner was so apologetic and we do have to pay her the whole cleaning fee for her services since she has mouths to feed. We do hope you come again to this lovely home soon or to enjoy any of our other lovely vacation homes in Volcano Village.

Mahalo,
Merlenna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckyJ550
1 review
“Stay in Volcano”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved it. The cottage was so nice and homey feeling. Sitting back in the forest you could sit and listen to the birds or just enjoy the peace and tranquility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It is a big cottage very very furnitured and maintained in a fern grove! We loved to stay there even longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
We are really glad you loved the place! And we do hope you come stay in this lovely home again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Big Place!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Really tranquil setting and close to town. It has everything a family could need for a long and restful stay. I had a little problem with the fireplace but I'm no boy scout.
We could live there full time, it was very nice!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher...
1 review
“Would do it again!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Clean, and close to the National park entrance. Second time staying at Volcott House. Would go back for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degkam
arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cottage with lots of nice things.”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very lovely place and well furnished. Got cold at night and the wood stove helped but a larger space heater would be nice if you don't want to have to make and tend the wood stove.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and I will forward your concerns to the homeowner and housecleaner.

Mahalo,
Merlenna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flouresce...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Paradise Cottage”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

stayed at the cottage for 4 nights on Hilo and it was a great little paradise in the rainforest it was a great location to get to the national park with it only being a 5 min drive down the road. Lovely and clean cottage with lots of space and plenty of rooms just a nice place to stay. Great wood burning fire!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing