We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Quiet, Relaxing - IDEAL”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2007

My wife and I stayed two nights at Kilauea in the middle of 2 weeks in the Islands. We visited Hawaii (the Big Island) specifically for Volcano Nat'l Park and we were not disappointed. With Kilauea, we were pleasently surprised.

Having just flown from a week at the Westin Ka'anapali Beach Resort on Maui, we were stunned to find FOUR STAR dining at reasonable prices at Kilauea - the owner, an Austrian, is also a chef and has a fantastic menu. The papaya half at breakfast is a great, unique start - to eggs, waffles, whatever - but the dinners are unbelievable. A compact, yet excellent and reasonably priced wine list accompanies the meal, if you are so inclined.

We stayed in the Cottage, a single structure with sitting room, bedroom and bath. Very nice, and probably worth the extra $20 or so over a standard room. We availed ourselves to the hot tub, which was good to relax in after a day's hiking around Volcano Nat'l Park. Not resort quality, but warm and clean. The water cooler in the room is a nice touch - you're staying at 4,000 feet, so you need to hydrate a lot, and it came in handy.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. A bit 'rules oriented' but nothing stuffy.

Volcano Village, where the lodge is located, is maybe a mile outside the park, but you're very convenient into the park. Definitely take the time to drive back into the park after dark, find a clear spot, and shut off the car and lights. Allow your eyes to adjust for 15 minutes or so, and gaze at the stars. Never seen so many. It's a hidden treasure of the park.

Volcano Village is also convenient to drive to the Black Sand beach on the South shore (perhaps 45 minutes or so toward Kona) - where we saw a sea turtle resting. It's a 45 minute drive the other way to Hilo, where we flew out of - and for two days (from when we left Kona to when we drove down to Hilo), we didn't see a single stop light. Now THAT's relaxing!

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2007

Dear Lorna & Albert Jeyte and staff at Kilauea Lodge,

My wife Charlene and I, along with our two friends Dan and Harriet really, and I do mean really, enjoyed our stay at Kilauea Lodge. The Pi'i Mauna house at your lodge was absolutely the best place to stay of any place available on the Big Island. You can keep all those fancy large hotels in Kona; give us the quiet, romantic life at the lodge anytime. The mornings were cool, but comfortable and the afternoons and evenings were just perfect. The nights were cool enough to sleep with the windows open all the time, but the best thing was to air was so clear and crisp the night time sky was just unbelievable. I have never seen so many stars in all my life!
Anyone contemplating a visit to the Big Island should consider staying at the Kilauea Lodge. Guest services were terrific, the staff was very helpful and courteous and the free breakfasts far exceeded any of our expectations. Most hotels only provide a free continental breakfast, but to have free eggs cooked most anyway desired and bacon, to pancakes or French toast, along with half a mango or OJ were beyond belief. You say Mahalo for us staying there, but we say Mahalo for the pleasure of allowing us to stay there.

Mahalo,
John and Charlene Bolton (Florida) &
Dan and Harriet Johnson (Georgia)

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ForceRecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

I have stayed at the Kilauea Lodge each year for the past few years. It is quiet, convenient and a great place to relax. Hawaii Volcano National Park is nearby and it is a convenient place to use as a base when exploring the Big Island by rental car. It is in the rain forest - above the bug altitude so nights are cool - the restaurant is very good. Service is friendly and excellent as are the rooms - some with fireplaces which are great in the cool evenings and mornings. The lodge has a good web site and is a super place to escape for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

We have been travelling to the Big Island for many years and once we found Kilauea Lodge we knew we found our island ohana. The staff, the property, the attention to every detail is stellar. From the minute you walk in and smell the logs in the fireplace, to the time you turn in at night on the authentic and beautiful Hawaiian Quilted bed, you know you are in a special corner of paradise. Over the years we shared with the staff and other guests their children growing up, the loss of loved ones and the celebrations of the Merrie Monarch Festival. Kick back, talk story and wrap yourself around the Aloha that is always present at the Kilauea Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlohaRugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

We chose this destination to celebrate our once in a lifetime 25th wedding anniversary. Everything about this location is memorable.
We had a very personable greeting when we checked in including a congratulations for our milestone. Our room was perfect looking out to yellow kahili ginger plants everywhere. The room was very clean. The fireplace, the most comfortable bed and even towel warmers made us feel so at home.
Our meal that evening was wonderful as well. We walked in and again we were warmly greeted. Our table was near the warm fireplace and was decorated with festive balloons. Our server knew of our anniversary as did the notation on the actual menu!! We felt so special. The food was unique as well as delicious.
The night music by nature sang us to sleep.
We woke to a pristine blue sky and crisp, clean air. We had a delicious breakfast and then packed up reluctantly to explore this most unique location. There is a new area where the lava has broken through. There is much to see here.
It was truly a weekend to remember. Many thanks to Albert and Lorna Jeyte and their wonderful staff for this experience of a lifetime.
We will return!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10thavemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCKLVolcano, Office Manager at Kilauea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2007

Mahalo for your wonderful review and we are so happy that we were able to make your 25th Anniversary such a memorable one! We look forward in helping you celebrate many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

I can't believe the rave reviews of this place. Our room was dirty, cold, and depressing, and we found dead bugs. Who cares if there is a fireplace when the bathroom is freezing?
Obviously, the owners try to get every last dollar from you. If you want a nicer room in the newer section (which wasn't available), you're paying big bucks; if you want a decent dinner, you're paying big-city prices in the restaurant. Just because it's the only game in town doesn't mean that they should take advantage of you.
The lodge was hard to find and located in an area that didn't even seem safe.
I'd never stay there again and must, in good conscience, provide the facts to you. We booked this accommodation because of the rave reviews we read on this website.
Kilauea Lodge was the low point of our trip, and just about ruined it for us. We'll never forget that we got such bad advice on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ILUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCKLVolcano, Owner at Kilauea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2007

ILUS writes his review 20 months after his stay at Kilauea Lodge. Isn't it possible his recollection could be less than reliable after such a long time?
Kilauea Lodge has central heat in all rooms and bathrooms on property. It can get chilly here due to our high elevation. ILUS's room had a fireplace, central heat, bathrobes, and a heated towel warmer.
The Lodge is not hard to find if you can find Volcano Village. We are a large property right on the walking main street of Volcano Village. Our guests walk to the country stores, post office and other restaurants In the Village. There are four restaurants so we are not "the only game in town." and I've never heard a guest remark on feeling unsafe walking in the Village.
Thanks for the chance to put in my comments.
Lorna Jeyte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Kilauea Lodge on our recent honeymoon in (surprise!) the honeymoon suite, #12.

The room itself was very cute and it felt like we were staying in a relative's guest room. We had a fireplace, but no tv or phone (which I don't necessarily consider a bad thing). The room had little extra touches, like wineglasses, firewood and kindling already set up in the fireplace and even an umbrella and flashlight.

The grounds were well-kept, but I agree with other posters who mentioned that the staff wasn't very attentive or helpful. We had made arrangements to arrive at 8 pm, but once we arrived, we found that we had to go through the restaurant to check in. The waitress/hotel clerk seemed almost put out that we were arriving so late, even though we'd informed the hotel that our flight didn't arrive in Hilo until 6:30 pm. We did note the MANY signs asking guests to watch out for the cat--at least they're animal people.

The good:
- The room itself was cute, clean, and had little personal touches.
- The grounds are beautiful and lush.
- Breakfast was good and complimentary
- We were literally 5 minutes from Volcanoes National Park, which was the whole reason for going to the east side of the Big Island.

The not-so-good:
- The staff. They weren't rude, but they weren't very attentive at check in or check out. It wasn't clear for us where to go to check in or check out.
- Volcano Village has absolutely NOTHING to do at night. There are a whopping 3 or 4 restaurants.
- The "curious cat" ended up sneaking into one of our fellow guest's rooms and wouldn't leave for 15-20 minutes. The cat was friendly enough, but some people might not want an unexpected visitor.

Overall, I'd stay here again if we were to revisit the area, but honestly, one visit to the volcano was enough for me.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alligeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
53.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
548 reviews
1 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £162 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing