We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room & Breakfast”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Room & Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent one night in one of the Hale Maluna rooms while visiting volcano NP. Room was excellent and the gas fireplace was welcome after a day of hiking in the mist & rain (only downside was the queen bed & not a king). Breakfast was included with the room and was outstanding. Great place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikemontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    213
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
248
414
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a wonderful place to stay and the FOOD WOW! Ritz eat your heart out.

Room Tip: All are good but top floor is the best? I really liked #12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Hideaway cottage at the the Kilauea Lodge. We asked for a quiet room, since we are both light sleepers and this was the room suggested. It was a wonderful experience. This is really like our own little cabin in the rain forest. You could only hear the wonderful birds singing, nothing else! I truly felt like a guest, no just a tourist passing through

The food in their restaurant was of very good quality and we ate there 2 of the 3 nights as it was just so convenient and tasty!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in the Pi'i Mauna cottage. Although the cottage itself is modest, the grounds are extensive and lush, with wild turkeys and other wildlife providing entertainment, punctuated by the occasional cracking sound of a golf club hitting a ball.

The cottage is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, and because it's actually two separate buildings, one of which includes a kitchen, it's perfect for a family with teens or two couples. Our sons stayed in the smaller half of the cottage; one slept in a bed, the other on the sofabed. We all enjoyed hanging out in the hottub. Too bad the vog was so thick that we could not see the stars; if there's ever a clear night in Volcano, the starwatching is probably spectacular.

Although I'd rather not have driven 10 minutes back to the lodge for breakfast, it was worth the trip as our breakfast was lavish and cooked to order. Definitely not your typical "breakfast-included."

We liked having the space afforded by the cottage, but all things being equal I would have preferred to have stayed in the lodge, which is centrally located in Volcano.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmanneercsAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Kilauea Lodge was a highlight of our trip to Hawaii. Our room was warm, clean and very comfortable. Next to our room was a large lounge with large selection of books, television. large fire and comfortable chairs. Just outside is a large garden with hot tub. The food at the lodge is excellent and all the meals we had were a delight. Staff were always very pleasant and helpful.
The lodge is just a short drive from the National Park and therefore very easy to visit the park during the day come back have dinner and then go back to the park to see the glow of the lava in the dark, which is spectacular.
On our final night before dinner we had a Blue Hawaiian cocktail, delicious and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We made a last minute reservation at Kilauea Lodge over Easter weekend, and were made feel at home in this lovely small lodge just outside Volcano Natl. park. The room was spacious but cozy, nice decor and beddings, all kinds of treats from books about the islands to hot drinks, quality soaps and lotion. Great to end the day in the new hot tub amids lush gardens. Nice common room with fireplace, internet and lots of books. Full Breakfast is included. The only downside were some noisy guests upstairs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izumishikibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Short drive from the Hilo airport. Think this side of the island much nicer than dry baren Kona side. We stayed in the Hale Aloha room with our two kids who slept on futons. Shared family room and lanai outside is perfect. Small outside Jacuzzi right nearby (which means some, limited foot traffic outside our window). If you like to sleep in complete darkness, tough here since outside lights that are not turned off shone in through windows. Probably on the pricey side, but we enjoyed our stay. Walked to the small Saturday farmer's market - purchased baked goods, apple bananas, local honey and more

Lunch at the lodge was excellent - great salads, burgers etc. Dinner has fancier, interesting items. Several other good restaurants at lower cost very nearby. (Thai place has large portions). Lodge Breakfast (part of room cost) very nice.
Drive to caldera close - We took the walk across, which was well worth it (about 4 miles) and walked through the lava tube after the hordes had left.

Room Tip: Stayed in Hale Aloha room with two kids who slept on futons. I'd not want to be in this room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwKids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Property: Kilauea Lodge
Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing