We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights of Honeymoon!”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I booked this place pretty much solely on Trip Advisor reviews and I am so glad I did. We loved it! We stayed in the Hideway Cottage and it was perfect. The grounds are beautiful and secluded and we loved seeing the resident kitties around outside. It felt very private and was only 5 minutes away from the HVNP. We had dinner one night at the Lodge and it was SO GOOD! Ask for their famous "Margaritas". It is one of the best drinks I have ever had. We also had the free breakfast there two mornings which was equally as good. Suzy was an awesome server! Everyone we encountered was nice and we had no problem with the cottage. Loved it - would totally stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LVB1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for Kilauea Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

This definitely has a lodge feel to it, so don't expect a luxurious resort, but the rooms were clean and comfortable, the atmosphere was exactly what I was hoping for, and the food was excellent. The location is great, and the staff was so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50D1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here on September 26 & 27 in the cottage closest to the lodge and it was absolutely fantastic. It exceeded our expectations! It was luxurious, comfortable, and spa-like with 3 rooms; bedroom, bath, front room with fireplace, and a porch to sit outside on. The grounds are stunning and the birds sing you songs all day long in the rain forest. The restaurant was great and the breakfast that comes with was filling and delicious. We also had dinner there and the servers are wonderful. The gift shop has unique boutique-type items that we didn't find elsewhere on the island so be sure to pick something up if you like it. The Volcano Park is only about a mile from this lodge. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaniAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed there on a whim but was totally impressed. The room was cozy with a nice gas fireplace. We ate at the restaurant which was delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and wonderful. The breakfast was also awesome. The common room had many different things to do. Can't wait to go back there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our trip to the Big Island and Maui. We wanted to be close to the Hawaii Volcano National Park so that we could try some photography at night. The lodge is very, very nice. We stayed in the Hale Maluna building which has 4 rooms. Our room was on the second story, very spacious and nicely decorated, quite comfortable and had a nice fireplace which was great on a cool morning! The bath towels were on a heated rack, and there was a large dispenser of bottled water for drinking as their main water source is catchment and though it is fine to drink they provide the bottled water as a courtesy to guests. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the common room, but did take advantage of the fruit and snacks available on a table outside during the day. Included in the room rate was a full breakfast in the dining room of the main lodge. Excellent meal and service! The grounds are beautiful (look for artwork amongst the ferns and flowers), the main lodge has awesome displays of local artists works and a great little gift shop. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat_C316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage which was lovely and cosy – and only a five minute drive from Volcano National Park. The only slight negative was the lack of curtains on the windows, which combined with the jet lag led to early waking! But we really looked forward to coming back here after long days of hiking in the park, soaking in the hot tub then having a great meal. The grounds are beautiful and with breakfasts included in the rate, this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rls35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kilauea Lodge for two nights at the end of September 2013 and found the place to be rustically romantic, spotless, homey. It feels like an European alpine wooden lodge surrounded by ferns and rainforest with rooms complete with fireplaces which exuded such a unique atmosphere that it left a special impression. We had the Ohia room (room 9) situated in a separate building from the restaurant (but it's located literally right next to it) and our room exceeded our expectation in that the bathroom and bedroom were spotless. The attached restaurant has great service and food, and the dining room was decorated with art and a center fireplace, with an atmosphere similar to an alpine lodge, where instead of people coming in to eat after a day of skiing, you have people sharing their stories after a day hiking and exploring the Volcano National Park (which by the way, was a 10 minute easy drive from the lodge).

Our only minor comment is that whilst everything has good attention to details and clean, some parts of the room were showing some age (such as the pillows and comforter) and other amenities were adequate (not superior), and the hot tub was under renovation during our stay and was moved away from where it was and in its place were some power tools etc which detracted from overall atmosphere (but not a big issue as the outside hot tub was surrounded by tree and ferns anyway so the sight was somehow obscured). This is why we can only give it a 4-stars but to be fair, we were not expecting a luxurious hotel so this doesn't stop us from recommending this lodge wholeheartedly if you happen to be in the area and need a wonderful B&B type place to stay!

And by the way, the Volcano and Kalapana areas are wonderful and so different from the west coast. Lots of great hikes and opportunities to see an active volcano.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjjason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
913 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
708 reviews
54.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £132 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing