We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from the beach and into the mountains!”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I loved this small lodge with its incredibly beautiful setting, fabulous food (Safari Schnitzel is outstanding!) and lovely cottage rooms with traditional Hawaiian quilts and fireplaces. You'll wake to the song of native Hawaiian birds (which is almost impossible elsewhere on the islands.)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Cookie from Canada is right on in the review. Only thing was slight noise level ( I don't like hearing the neighbors in their rooms) but after hiking all day, eating the fantastic meals, sitting in the calm hot tub, you don't hear much. This is the ONLY place to stay if your going to the park.
Staff is very friendly, the chef, Ramon, is the owner with his wife and he cooks a mean Antelope Schnitzel I have to say. Wow.

Awesome place and we will go back when Pele invites us again!

Room Tip: Top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were part of a group of six riding bicycles around the island. The folks at Kilauea Lodge were very welcoming and allowed us to store our bikes in the laundry/garage beneath our rooms. We arrived cold and tired and really appreciated the gas fireplace in each room. Dinner at the lodge restaurant was delicious and so convenient and the complimentary breakfast ordered off a special menu offered many choices. The hot tub, community room, the flowers and plantings in the lovely grounds and the charming rooms all made the lodge one of our group's favorites after a two night stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed one night in this beautiful lodge, but would have loved to stay longer. The room (Ohia) was large and very well furnished, with a cute little porch just outside. There is a community room with a fireplace that we would have enjoyed had we more time. The dinner in the lodge dining room was great, a highlight of our trip. The breakfast that is included is generous. I especially loved the grounds with many ferns and flowers. Also appreciated the senior cat and the care they take of her.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintPauli_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed one night at Kilauea Lodge as part of our 9 night trip to the Big Island and were very happy to have chosen this place. It was charming and unique and our room (Hale Aloha Room) was very spacious. (Also stayed at Hale Kona Kai and Marriott Waikoloa – reviews posted separately if you’re interested).

Our room was on the upper floor and the only negative I found was that the floor was somewhat squeaky in one area. Not a big deal to us but we did try to avoid walking there out of consideration for the guests in the room below. Of course in an older building these things are to be expected and I’d not want to give up the quaintness for an issue like this but future guests may want to weigh the pros and cons of 2nd floor (carrying luggage up the stairs) vs 1st floor (possible floor noise from above).

We had dinner in the lodge and were surprisingly disappointed after reading so many glowing reviews. Service was excellent, soup & salad were good but we didn’t even finish our main courses due to taste…and the fact that my meal had a hair in it. On the bright side, the included breakfast was great – my french toast and my husband’s omelet were delicious. Interestingly, other reviewers experienced the opposite of what I’m saying – enjoyed their dinner, not so much for the breakfast.

Best part of our stay at the lodge? Proximity to the Volcano National Park, waking up in a cozy room to the sounds of the birds in the rainforest and the yummy breakfast. We’d stay again if ever in the area & recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Kilauea Lodge and loved every minute of it. It was beyond our expectations. We stayed in the "Hideway" which is a one bedroom located above the owner's 3 car garage. Don't let that scare you away - it was a beautiful room with full kitchen, fireplace, and separate bedroom. With the peaked wood beamed ceiling and cute cubbie holes you feel like you're in Yosemite Valley instead of on the edge of an active volcano. The room comes with a full breakfast in their dining room which was great! We had dinner there one night and were more than impressed with the service and food. The Lodge is about a mile from the entrance to Volcano National Park so we drove back each night to watch Madam Pele's beautiful glow. Can't say enough about this beautiful lodge!

Room Tip: We loved the "Hideaway." Ask for it, if it's available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We recently stayed in the Ola'a cottage for two nights. It was just like the pictures show. Very clean and comfortable. Great location for exploring the area. Breakfast was very good, plenty of options. We ate dinner at the restaurant one night. It was excellent with a few unusual (but good) options. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
53.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
431 reviews
54.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £169 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing