We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but needs some changes”
Review of Kilauea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilauea Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place but needs some changes”
Reviewed 31 December 2006

I've always stayed at and recommended Kilauea Lodge to friends and family, and so was suprised when my stay there recently presented some problems. We stayed in room #2, the older portion of the B&B. The room was sweet looking and had pretty quilts and blankets and a fireplace. However, the windows had shutters which would be more appropriate as decoration for a kitchen. In order to get complete privacy, we took the extra blankets and hung them around the bed on the shutters which gave a really nice flop-house feel to our expensive digs. The wood for the fireplace was wet, and so it didn't matter that I'd spent years living out in the woods with a woodstove - the place filled with smoke and smelled up the room and our clothes. It seemed the flue wasn't working, and a sign stated we could not adjust it. There was some noise from the thin walls ajoining next door, as it sounded like they were moving furniture for a couple hours. (testing the rollers on their suitcases maybe? Feng shuing the room to better suit them?) Then when we'd finally gotten to sleep, we were awakened by cat fights. The staff seems more interested, evidenced by all the cat signs posted everywhere, in taking care of the cats interests rather than their guests. Breakfast was very good, but we irritated the waitress by wanting to sit in a private quiet corner, having had a rough night. She snapped at us, saying "You'll have to wait! It's not set!" We waited a long time and finally gave up and found a set table.
I am uncertain what to say after all this, as I still consider Kilauea lodge a special place. I just think the staff needs a little attitude adjustment - sometimes success can make you callous and unresponsive.

  • Liked — The decorations and touches in the room and general atmosphere of the property
  • Disliked — The noise, smoke from wet wood, shutters on the windows.
  • Tips/Secrets — Read all the reviews, decide for yourself. There are many B&Bs in the Volcanoes area.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Princess&TheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    216
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
261
430
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2006

We stayed at the Kilauea Lodge for two nights after staying at the Fairmont Orchid north of Kona. This is a great place to stay if you're planning to explore the volcano.

We lucked out and ended up with a last minute reservation for two nights at Tutu's Place, a beautiful cottage that's just a few blocks from the main lodge. Tutu's is so adorable. From the traditional linens to the stained glass windows, it's comfortable, spacious, and would be great for either a family vacation or a romantic getaway.

I may have been a bit picky considering I came here after staying at one of Hawaii's best resorts, but there are a few minor issues to look out for.

The first is that the staff maintains minimal office hours (9 a.m. to 5 p.m.), which can be a hassle if you're making reservations from five time zones away. The limited hours was also inconvenient upon our arrival. We arrived at 8 p.m. and were left to find the off property cottage with the map they provided us. This was not horribly difficult, but we would have saved ourselves five minutes if they would have left a light on for us (it is otherwise pitch black).

We were also disappointed to see that we didn't get housekeeping on the first day.

On the up side, you get a decent breakfast included with your stay. The staff, while not five-star (this isn't what you're coming for anyway) is friendly and helpful. Despite the few minor issues, we had a blast and will definitely go back on our next trip to the big island.

  • Liked — The house was so quaint and charming.
  • Disliked — A few staff issues
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely book Tutu's Place... especially if you have more than two people staying with you (or if you want to impress)
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jayfromfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

My husband & I stayed at the Kilauea Lodge during our honeymoon. Even though we only stayed one night, it will be stamped in our memories forever. The staff were friendly and informative about the National Park. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was large, clean, and had a serene balcony view. I watched the sun dip low from the balcony. I enjoyed the peaceful environment, while my husband was under the weather. Dinner at the restaurant is a must. If you are staying at the Lodge, the food is shipped in from all over the world. Our waitress was excellent, since we were staying at the Lodge, she allowed us to finish our bottle of wine in our room. After dinner we enjoyed the evening in the hot tub. If we ever journey back to the Volcano this would be our only stop and stay over! The only con about this place were the cats. I am allergic to cat hair and I was afraid I would have a reaction. In the end, I never noticed the cats and my allergies were calm and uneventful.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hasian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2006

If you are planning an overnight stay while visiting the volcano the Lodge is a great choice. It is only a couple miles from the park entrance and in "downtown" Volcano Village (they would need to get 3/4 more horse to be a one-horse town) so you can explore the park during the day, take a break, and then return in the evening for night-time lava viewing. You are also walking distance to the local stores (2) and other restaurants (2).

The rooms are spacious and in great shape- not luxurious but comfortable and well appointed. They even provide flashlights for exploring the lava tubes or night hikes. Just don't buy your rain poncho there as they are half the price at the general store 1/2 block away. Since they have a restaurant, breakfasts are not the cold continental breakfast or just one option that everyone must eat. Instead you order what you want and eat in the dining room of the restaurant.

And that's the other good news- since there is not much around there, it's great having a good restaurant on the property. It's not 4-star dining but its very good with good service where they let you linger over your meal.

  • Liked — Quality lodging near the volcano park
  • Disliked — Aging bathroom may be due for remodel soon
  • Tips/Secrets — Get upstairs room.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2006

Good place to stay while visiting Kilauea. Would recommend to anyone going to the Big Island to see the volcano. Good staff, good location, and the included breakfast is yummy.

  • Liked — Quiet and comfy.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay more than one night so as to see more of the volcano.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank KCS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. We used this as our base camp for exploring the east side of the island, including Hilo and Volcano National Park. A very comfortable place to stay, we had a cheery wood-burning fire place and a comfy bed - and we made good use of the hot tub after hiking in the park. The lodge serves a complimentary breakfast and its restaurant is open for dinner - both were quite good - not the best meals we had on the island, but all well above average. Though dinner reservations were strongly recommended, we made them during the dinner hours, upon return to the lodge, and had no problems - we just went to our room to relax until it was time to eat. Pros: Great location, cute cats (outside), fireplace, hot tub, attached high quality but somewhat pricey restaurant. Nice common room that we didn't really use, but admired. Cons: We couldn't get the light on in the hot tub area, and one night we couldn't get the fire to catch - the whole place was pretty damp that day, and that may not have helped. This was my wife's favorite stop on our honeymoon.

  • Liked — Great location, climate, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Path to hot tub should not be done in bare feet
  • Tips/Secrets — Good base to explore the east side of the island, not just Volcano National Park
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Torisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2006

We stayed for 1 night in Tutu's Place, a wonderful little cottage a few blocks from the main lodge. It was perfect for me, my wife, and 3 small kids. The house was very clean and roomy, with beautiful old time touches like wall paneling and stained glass windows. Very relaxing. It was a perfect base for exploring the National Park. Men, impress your wives with this place.

  • Liked — Tucked in a quiet wooded neighborhood. A truly unique Hawaiian experience.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do yourself a big favor and spend at least 2 nights.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Lodge

Property: Kilauea Lodge
Address: 19-3948 Old Volcano Rd, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kilauea Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Lodge is located in the quiet village of Volcano a mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The Park, home of Hawaii's active volcano Kilauea, offers miles of scenic overlook and trails. Romantic rooms and cottage are available with private bath, towel warmers, central heat and some with fireplaces. The off property homes have full kitchens, gas fireplace, TVs and phones. Full breakfast is included. Hot tub and Wi-Fi available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilauea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilauea Hotel Volcano
Kilauea Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing