We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cute place”
Review of Volcano Hale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano Hale
El Cerrito, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very cute place”
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We liked this place, but we went in with no pretensions about it... as others said, it was very economically priced, and we were very pleased with what we found. There were three couples in our group, so we took three of the six(?) bedrooms, with only one other couple staying there. Perfect, if you have a large group and want to (almost) take over the place. LOTS of comfortable common areas (kitchen, dining, living room areas). Plenty of hot water in the showers; lots of towels, soaps, etc. provided. Yes, it's a little dank and humid, but, after all, this is Hawaii, and humidity is a given (plus, it was raining off and on). It was a little cold at night, so I'd look for, or request, an extra blanket. In the morning, we started a fire in the fireplace, and it gave off some nice heat. We paid a bit more for the larger room (Elepaio?), with a king bed. Beautiful grounds surrounding the house. Yes, it's a little hard to find (especially in the dark), but that also gives an atmosphere of seclusion (which you may or may not like). We mainly used it as a jump-off to hiking in the volcano (to the lava flow), so we actually didn't spend a whole lot of time here-- next time, we'll stay another night or two.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    91
    28
    20
    11
See reviews for
34
116
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portage, michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed at the Volcano Hale for 2 nights around May 18th 2008 or so. We chose it based on the price and location. I was a little worried when booking about the shared bathroom and small bedrooms. It turned out to be nothing to worry about. You check in at a different location and then find the Volcano Hale (driving distance, not walking distance, but close by). We arrived after dark, so finding the place was a bit tricky (not a lot of street lamps). They also need to put more lights around the house, it was hard to find the entrance to the first floor. We had to walk around the back and over the grass. Once inside, we discovered we had the house to ourselves. We were in the "nene" room on the first floor. The bed was somewhat small but we managed. I appreciated the shelves and closet space, and having a number of outlets. They had a small space heater, which at first I thought wasn't working, but then I realized that it was just very quiet, and it worked fine in warming our room at night (you'd be surprised at how chilly it gets at night there).

Our bedroom was small, but there was plenty of space within the house itself to sit around. They had a number of common areas. The upstairs had a complete kitchen - fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, etc. They also had a small fireplace and piano. There was another bathroom upstairs, if the bathroom downstairs is occupied you can try the one upstairs. There was a faint, vague smell of mildew, but I'm pretty sure that has something to do with the sulfur from the volcano and i've heard similar complaints from many of the nearby hotels - I don't think it's something that the hotel can change.

After falling asleep, we did hear some people come in to the house, so we weren't completely alone after all. The walls were a little thin, but the people quieted down after a minute or two and we fell back asleep.

In the morning we didn't have problems sharing the bathroom. The bathroom is stocked with a large amount of fresh towels and ample hotel-sized containers of conditioning shampoos, soap, and lotions.

In the end, I was happy with my choice of staying at the Volcano Hale and would gladly do so again. It was not glamorous but excellent for the price.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — small bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

i booked a room at volcano hale because it was the lowest price that i saw for a stay near volcano national park. the location was excellent, just 2 miles from the park on a very quiet residential road. there are 6 guest rooms in the house, with a shared large kitchen, living room and sun porch/eating area. overall the house was very nice- only complaint is that the kitchen could've been cleaner. it can be a nice place to stay assuming that the other guests are nice. when i stayed there, a group of 12 college kids and other guests were in the house. it was overbooked in my opinion, with kids sleeping on the floor on mats
when i asked for a change to one of their other houses, the receptionist was extremely understanding and upgraded me w/o charge to one of their lodges which was obviously pricier and more luxurious. the service by the reception desk was exceptional and friendly. there was a computer for common use, free. they gave the impression that they really care about their guests!! it was a good experience.

  • Liked — price, location customer service
  • Disliked — volcano hale was overcrowded
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A.
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2008

This is a 3-story house that has been remodeled and various bedrooms given titles. We were sent to Nene, on the bottom floor, which was pretty small and had mildewed curtains. It was fairly cold and the walls were very thin. Bathroom was close but shared. The office upgraded us to the Lodge, the upper floor room, which was great. Another problem was that no one in town knew where this house was. The office for the properties is on Wright Road. You have to go there to check in. If you want breakfast at Volcano Hale you have to pay for it separately. Hilo is 28 miles from the Park and you might want to stay there, especially if the lava flows are not in the park itself, because you can't get to them in the park when that is the case.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaKool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Volcano Hale has always been a shared bathroom facility. All guests booking this property know the arrangement with the bathrooms. The facility is a great service to those searching for comfort and relaxation at a very very reasonable price. In regards to moldy curtains: Minor mold can occur at any facility located within a rainforest with very high humidity year-round. That being said, we take concerns like this very seriously! Shortly after this review, we employed several anti-mold systems at property. In particular, dehumidifiers in certain rooms, anti-mold paints & fabrics, etc.. Mold is a “second resident” in Volcano Village at Volcanoes National Park. We are in a rainforest; the perfect environment for molds. In staying with us, I would not be concerned about the rooms or the property since we have addressed the issue and have had absolutely no incidents in years. As a general public notice, I would, however, think about your sensitivity to molds vis a vis the National Park and surrounding area. You will undoubtedly encounter some mold in the park or on other rainforest trails as: rainforest is a beautiful, natural system of growth AND decay. You will not, however, encounter any with Volcano Hale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

As others have said in reviews before, we chose the Volcano Hale for two reasons. 1, it is so close to Volcanoes National Park you can be there in 5 minutes 2, it was cheap and appeared to be cheerful from the website.
We stayed in the Malia room for the rate of $70 per night. Our budget per night during our holiday was no more than $100 per night. Accomodation seems to be very expensive in this area so we thought this was very reasonable.
Basically we should have stayed in Hilo, or forked out the money to stay somewhere else in Volcano.
The room stank of damp. We wanted to leave the windows open, but couldn't as there were no security screens. Also, you check-in at another property up the road, so there is no one to speak to on site about any problems you might have. I'm glad we only spent one night here. The shower could have done with a clean as well.
Hilo is about half an hour away and offers more choice of accomodation. If I knew then what I know now I would have stayed there instead. I would recomend others to do the same!

  • Liked — Lots of towels in the shared bathroom
  • Disliked — Smell of the room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sublimerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Volcano Hale has always been a shared bathroom facility. All guests booking this property know the arrangement with the bathrooms. The facility is a great service to those searching for comfort and relaxation at a very very reasonable price. Sometimes other guests are not as considerate (or clean) in common areas as they should be; this is very rare. The vast majority of the guests at the facility are just like you and me: very nice and pleasurable. We do perform a cleaning of the common areas once per day.

In regards to damp: Dampness can occur at any facility located within a rainforest with very high humidity year-round. That being said, we take concerns like this very seriously! Shortly after this review, we employed several dehumidifiers. This issue has been addressed; we have had absolutely no incidents in years.

The facility is a historic, turn-of-the-century property. That being said, many windows without screens have been replaced to meet modern demands. Many more will be replaced in the coming months. We are diligent about preserving the historic feel and value; we are also diligent about guest comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bozeman, mt
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We stayed in the Ohia Room which is at the top of the house. The beds were comfortable and the windows full of green view of ohia (as promised in the name). The house has a nice kitchen and pretty sitting areas- very nice if you enjoy old style houses like I do. The bathroom was a bit humid, but shower worked fine. Character and charm- for romantic poets and naturalists. Maybe not so much for the 'high maintenance' traveler who expects everything to be perfect. Go to a chain if you want that. Stay here if you don't mind a bit more of an adventure.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bluephacelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

My husband and I spent one night at Volcano Hale. All I can say is I am glad it was just one night!. We stayed in the "Nene" room. The room was very small, had a queen bed, an outdated heater that belongs in a museum (you can feel the heat only if you 6 inches from it) and nothing else worth mentioning.

The biggest problem with this room was the smell. It smelt like no one had been in there for months and then a lot of cheap air freshner had been used to mask the dank smell. With a lot of diffcullity we managed to get one window open to air out the room but it didnt help much. The house is creaky and I woke up everytime someone in the floor above me decided to walk around, or use the rest room.

The drapes in the room were stained and the room overall was dirty. I think all they clean there are the sheets.

Ours was a last min trip and we didnt have choice in the accomodation available. This place was available, was cheap (now i know why!) and strangely, had great reviews!!!!!.

The three rooms on our floor shared one bathroom. The bathroom was clean, was well stocked with towels etc. The house in general was pretty, and did not have that smell. In fact I did consider sleeping on the couch!!

I'd rather spend double of what i spent here and stay in a clean, well aired room that does not stink. Will never stay with them again.

  • Liked — price, but i'd rather pay more for a decent room.
  • Disliked — Dirty, stinks, horrible place
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ejpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Property: Volcano Hale
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing