We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Volcano Hale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Volcano Hale
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“The Best”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have stayed at Volcano Hale and at Lokili Lodge and enjoyed them both. The facilities are excellent, clean and all sorts of amenities are available to travellers like myself and my family. This time I stayed with my two daughters and we had cooking available, but ate in Volcano, Pahoa and Hilo and Kona instead, due to our travels around the island. I would recommend if you want privacy stay at Lokili lodge, if you want economy with amenities stay at Volcano Hale and the main lodge Chalet Kilauea is beauty in a rainforest. They have breakfast to die for. What a find. The BEST. Rick Bizzoco, Professor

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. First of all, as a returning guest, thank you for visiting us again. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and always like to hear about our guests' experiences in Volcano. We hope you had lovely travels as you toured the Island and welcome you back for any future vacations to Volcano, Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    90
    27
    20
    11
See reviews for
33
114
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The shared bathroom was not a problem at all. The property (rooms, bathrooms, living room, kitchen) is very clean. You can also get an excellent and cheap breakfast before you start your busy day on the trals of the Park...The only remark is about the rooms: too small for travellers that are planning to spend 2 or more weeks in Hawaii and have big suitcases.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Silvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for reviewing Volcano Hale on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. While I agree that for some people, the rooms are not ideal for long term stays, however, we have many guests that do utilize the rooms for up to a month at a time. We do try our best to provide a nice place to stay for people working with a lower budget, and our prices at Volcano Hale are unbeatable for the Volcano National Park area. Again, thank you for your comments and feedback and hope to see you on any future vacations on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a great place! Fairly cheap but immaculate. Bathroom sharing was not and issue over our 3 night stay. We stayed in Lihua room- fairly small but adequate. Shared kitchen is very well equipped.... just bring along your coffee for the dripolator, and tea and other supplies. Cooking a meal was easy but we splurged and went to Volcano House for a fantastic meal one night. Food prices were good but wine was expensive. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamdenTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We are always pleased to hear about our guests' experiences with us and appreciate comments and feedback as well. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and welcome your return on any future Volcano vacations. Again, Aloha and Mahalo from Chalet Kilauea Collections!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Before I share my comments, it's worth noting that I stayed in the Lehua room of the Volcano Hale shared building which is just one part of Chalet Kilauea so be sure to find reviews that match whatever type of room you want as some are shared, others are not...

That said, as someone who was looking to have a clean bed, nice place to shower and was out at the Volcano before breakfast started, their accommodations were perfect, very well priced, and easy.

The room & building:

Lehua is a small, basic room just big enough for a queen bed, small tv and your bags. Perfect for a night stop, probably not ideal if you want to stay in for hours. 3 of us shared a very well furnished bathroom (with 2 more available up & downstairs) but aside from a brief passing in the halls, I never noticed anyone else or had any impact on my access. Towels & bathroom amenities are all provided as well.

There was also a community kitchen for the whole building (8 or so rooms) with a full sized fridge, water glasses, and what looked to be basic cooking tools provided.

WiFi was faster than anything I find in big name properties, probably because everyone was either out or asleep.

The hotel is well located on the lower side of Volcano. 10 minutes from the visitor center & national park and 5 from downtown Volcano shops & restaurants. It's a quiet town that closes early so plan ahead.

My only real frustration was the narrow window for check-in which they list as 3-5 (or after hours for a key left in a lock box). That said, it's hard enough to find anything in the town of Volcano so taking a break in daylight hours to sign in was probably a god idea.

Room Tip: The website photos don't do justice so be sure to ask about the room if you need more than the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We always welcome any comments or feedback that may help us or future guests have the best experience possible. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Volcano Hale and hope to see you for any future trips to the Big Island. Again, thank you for your comments and Mahalo!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

As a Chinese visiting scholar at UH, I was doing research on tradtional Chinese theatre in Hawaii, so I was excited to find four Peking Opera wooden idols in the living room on the middle floor when I stayed in the Room Kahili one night in March 2013, which has left me a briliant impression and sweet memory.

Room Tip: I was wondering who brought the four idols as decoration, why s/he did so, and where the idols were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humboldt, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Loved staying here. We stayed in the Malia room. It had a nice size bed, very clean, nice bathroom (there were 3 rooms on this ground level but we rarely had to wait for bathroom usage and it still felt pretty private). Easy access to outside. I wish all our vacations had an option like this!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Char440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Aloha!! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate any feedback or recommendations from our guests that will help us make Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) even better for future guests. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on any future "Volcano vacations"!!!! Best wishes to you and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My stay in the Malia room was more than I could have ever hoped for. This was my home away from home while I spent the days and early evenings with family for the week. Everything I needed was at my finger tips and a trip to the grocery store gave me simple meals tucked in the shared refrigerator utilizing many of the shared pots & pans and dishes. Everyone in the hale was friendly and always generous in cleaning up after themselves. A perfect perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: I preferred the ground floor, lugging only myself to the second floor kitchen and additional bath wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rondene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to utilize Volcano Hale as a place to spend quality time with your family. Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again for any future Volcano vacations. Aloha and Mahalo!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#14 of 31 in Volcano
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Property: Volcano Hale
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing