We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the no-frills traveler looking for value but not "cheapness"”
Review of Volcano Hale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Volcano Hale
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for the no-frills traveler looking for value but not "cheapness"”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We weren't interested in a fancy place because we were there just to sleep. Our main purpose was to visit Kilauea Volcano National Park. The proximity of Volcano Hale was great. It was clean, with a quaint decor, & a stocked kitchen we could use. The office staff was really helpful. They had afternoon tea available. Nice gardens.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tightwadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    90
    27
    20
    11
See reviews for
33
115
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I was very surprised to find a low rate of only $56 a nite fpr a king size room with shared bath and TV, only a mile from Volcano Natl Park entrance. Wife and I were more surprised to find the place extremely clean. Most cheap places for this rate are dirty, but no, very very clean. Recommend this place as Volcano lodge was $130 without TV!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We stayed at Volcano Hale for one night after a long day of exploring Volcano National Park. The location is very handy only five minutes from the National Park entrance. The check-in area was just down the road and we had a fifteen minute wait to be attended to.

The room in which we were in was very small. The lounge and dining areas were spacious and clean. There is no internet at this facility but is available on the establishment's computers at the main lodge. The walls are very thin and the room was beneath a bathroom so we could hear those in the rooms above us every move and use of facilities.

It was good value but request a room on the top floor to avoid this. The price was not to be beaten for the area and we had a cosy night's sleep at Volcano Hale.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuggyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We enjoyed the friendly staff, beautiful suroundings yet convenient to to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and the local Volcano village with restaurants and two general stores. The Thai Thai restaurant was closed, but we found good vegetarian options at the Lava Rock Cafe. Full kitchen access, spacious common areas, decent sized bedrooms. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We stayed in Volcano Hale in the Lokelani Room for two nights in March 2009.

Volcano Hale is a good shared accomodation in the Village of Volcano. Rooms are basic. Bathrooms are good, but the best features of the facility are the large common area and availabilty of kitchen. Main lodge, internet, and check in area are about a half a mile down the road. Price (at ~$60/night when we stayed) can't be beat. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable place near the volcanoes in Hawaii.

The only thing that bothered me about the facility is that it's website advertises it as an "eco-friendly" place, yet it still has incandescent lightbulbs and no apparent recycling bins.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESSIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, General Manager at Volcano Hale, responded to this review, 31 July 2009
We consistly strive to make each of our properties as energy efficient as possible. In regards to the lighting, at the time, the conversion to 100% CFL (compact flourescent lighting) had not been completed. In order to minimize waste and keep the nightly room rates low, we had replaced only expired incandescent bulbs. At this point, all bulbs in the home have been replaced with CFLs. We chose to complete the conversion gradually so as to minimize waste of good incandescent bulbs. Therefore, now, Volcano Hale is 100% energy efficient in regards to lighting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Good price/features-benefits ratio, clean, rustic, nice grounds, close to volcano park, kitchen for cooking (restaurant $ here are crazy, and not even local food, e.g., laulau, wahoo, etc. I can get pizza anywhere). Anyhoo, first time on Big Island/Hawaii and prefer not to return to the mainland...Aloha and Mahalo, ciao!

  • Liked — location, kitchen, clean, homey-like
  • Disliked — people talking very early at breakfast for what seemed liked forever, could hear them upstairs
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefBoyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Staying with friends fell through, so we called same-day and got one of the cheaper rooms in the Volcano Hale. It is on a different street from the main Chalet, but we were prefectly happy. Manicured and flush with higher-end amenities, the only drawback is the roadhouse-style shared bathroom. The kitchen is a great, and access to the main Chalet is incredibly useful. Free internet, afternoon tea. We got a lot more than we paid for!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank katp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 31 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Property: Volcano Hale
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing