We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Volcano Hale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano Hale
Reviewed 31 January 2007

Very clean, convenient location, very affordable
Bathroom window rusted open - not great in rain or chilly weather
Not enough food provided at breakfast - bread and some fruits were gone before several guests appeared

Need clearer instructions on how to enter review on web site for folks who are not Internet savy, which really holds other guests up

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank buster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2007

This was our second stay in a Volcano B&B, the first at Lokahi Lodge also run by the same company (although now different owners). The lodge was more casual and family oriented (a bit noisy in the mornings and at bed time), so we decided to upgrade this time for a more romantic setting. We stayed five nights! First of all, the staff is really great and even helped us with a package we had delivered to Hawaii. We love these people. Noticibly missing this year however was Chloe, the resident cat who had passed away a few months prior, and my wife really missed him this year. Owner has no plans to replace Chloe and we feel this place could use an ambassador. Our stay was good but we felt other review's we had read over stated the quality a bit. Our room was Out of Africa, and it was not until we had booked and paid a 50% non-refundable deposit that we were told the room has no windows. I figured we would be ok, and for this time we were, but I would not stay in this small, dark and windowless room again, and certainly not for five nights. Breakfast although adequate was not as good as at the Lodge in 2004 and not as meanaeable to my wife's vegeatrian palate (we brought our own soy milk). Also, rooms were cleaner than most in Volcano but the carpet needs to be replaced (a carpet tack pricked my wife's foot the first hour we were there) and extra pilllows blankets should be a given not a special request. Knowing that as at many B&B's the walls are a bit thin and sound from others can be an issue, we were sure to keep it down, however other guests did not feel the same, and were definitely noisier than we would have expected at this type of place. One example of this was on our last night; two guests brought babies to the B&B ...a bit too noisy for us, especially at breakfast, and really doused the romantic setting (we were ready to leave). Broadband Internet is available (big plus for us, but not wireless, so we needed to hook up wired for each use). Nice hot tub, grounds and good location. So, for a few nights up at Volcano you should be ok, but you roll the dice on getting good value for the money and romance.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 2H's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2006

My husband and I needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu so I booked a week at Volcano Bed & Breakfast on the Big Island. I was a bit aprehensive because of the extreamely low price (we're used to Hawaii prices being very high), but we really needed a break and didn't have alot of money.
We were so pleasantly surprised! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The building we stayed in is an historic site, built in 1912. We felt like we were staying in old Hawaii. Very personable with decorations like a home not some sterile, cookie cutter hotel. Granted, the rooms are small, nothing is fancy, and the bathrooms are shared but the furnishings were comfortable (my husband spent most of the time on the sofa reading a book or watching TV), the continental breakfast was more than expected (bread, choice of cereals, fresh fruit not canned, coffee, and a choice of teas), and the area was wonderfully quiet, peaceful, and much cooler than lower elevations. Volcano is in a rainforest so it is damp all year long. Dress appropriately.
I've read, on this site, some people really slamming Volcano Bed & Breakfast so, even though is was a couple of years ago that we first stayed there, I had to write this review to show the positive side. We've gone back since then and brought friends and those friends have also gone back again even though we were unable to join them at that time.
If you're looking for a quiet, simple, inexpensive place to stay in Volcano I would definately recommend Volcano Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vkilolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2006

Chalet Kilauea was an okay hotel. I wouldn't recomend this hotel for families larger than 3. The rooms are very small (don't hold a lot of people) and very outdated. But, the staff was very friendly and kind. At breakfast, there wasn't a table that my family of 4 could sit at together. I wish there were choices for breakfast and I would have liked it to not have been as slow service.
Over all, an okay hotel and interesting setting.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
2  Thank Traveler9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres de l’étage sont moins bruyantes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se quiser uma pousada é essa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edson f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Freeburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.3 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 21 in Volcano
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hale

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £60 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Hale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cute budget property for travelers in search of comfort at a great value! This charming, historic, fully renovated 1912 property is complete with 3 floors and 4+ accommodations offering cable TV. Amenities include: free WIFI, common full mini kitchen for quick meal creations, and 2 clean, fully-stocked common bathrooms with showers. This property is perfect for travelers with an independent spirit in search of eco-friendly accommodations! Our sharing aspects uniquely provide the smallest impact upon the surrounding rainforest ecology. Back to Mother Nature, low-impact vacationing. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hale (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Volcano Hale Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing