We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy and Garrett are the reason you want to stay here...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Country Cottages
Ranked #10 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Volcano Country Cottages is a gem. Garrett and Sandy work hard to mke sure every guest's stay is memorable and it shows.
The cottage is a very short drive to the Volcano National Park. Garrett is extremely knowledgeable and made sure we have the best experience in the 2 days we were staying there- where to hike,what routes to take, where to eat, what to do and what not to do. My wife and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary there and I wouldn't hesitate to come back again...

Oh yes, the botanical garden that they have is amazing- my wife just loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitingupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Ohelo Berry Cottage while we explored the volcano national park. Sandy and Garrett were great hosts, with excellent knowledge about the park and helped us make the most of the short time we had there. Cottage was clean and the grounds were well maintained. We were thinking of staying in Hilo, but glad we saved the time driving back and forth!

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Aloha!!

We didn't expect a place like this. Not only Lehua Blossom, a cottage in the middle of a rainforest garden is awesome, it's the whole property. Birds singing who wake up you, tropical flowers, the other houses, the spa... you must see them.

Garret and sandy are the perfect hosts. They are always prepared to help you any time, their advices and knowledge about what to do in the area, hiking, dinning, highlights are superb. Last advice, if you go, don't forget to take a bath in the spa......the best moment to relax after a journey.

Mahalo !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My family and I stayed for three nights over Christmas holidays at the Artists Cottage. I would highly recommend this great location to anyone visiting Volcano National Park. Our cottage was a beautiful 2 bedroom cottage complete with wood stove (needed on those chilly Volcano mornings) modern bath and kitchen. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The place was very clean and comfortable and after coming from the Marriott the previous days it was so nice to be greeted by the friendly and helpful owners offering tips on every thing from restauarant reco's to itinerary planning. Garrett and Sandy were there when we needed them and helped us organize our days so we could make the most of our time there. The warm robes and jacuzzi were added features that we weren't expecting and came in very handy.

Room Tip: Artists cottage is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parshenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in the Ohelo Berry Cottage for 2 nights in early January. Prior to our stay Sandy had given great advice on a couple of places to stop upon our arrival where she thought our luggage would be safe in the car. Great advice! Upon our arrival we found a very friendly Garret eager share the beautiful surroundings, restaurant tips, and Volcano Must-Sees. The Thai-Thai restaurant next door was so good that we went there both nights! Our room was chilly, but we elected not to use the space heater, instead layering up with the extra blanket provided. Breakfast was very simple, a yummy homemade banana (or other) bread and a plate with some papaya, apple-bananas, and pineapple. Other reviewers mentioned eggs, but perhaps they've discontinued them? Anyway, what was provided was tasty and sufficient. Also juice, milk, and coffee. Truly the only complaints I can come up with is the mold in the shower area and the bed being to soft--but the fleece sheets were heavenly. We would happily return, if the airfare didn't make it unlikely.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Aloha, we are happy to say the bathroom in the Ohelo Berry Cottage has been cleaned and repainted. New light fixtures, all looks great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was our third trip to see Kilauea and the many other nearby attractions, and also third hotel/B&B we visited in Volcano Village. The other two were nice, but Volcano Country Cottages is the best choice! As you approach and look down the narrow driveway, you know you're someplace special - quiet, peaceful, relaxing, private - and real. The proprietors, Garrett and Sandy, are helpful, welcoming hosts, great conversationalists and are truly engaged in helping you plan your activities with their good advice and suggestions. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, providing privacy for each cabin and letting you know without doubt that you are in a rainforest! Our cabin was clean, comfortable and easily met all of our needs.

I find Volcano Village a great base from which to visit not only the national park, but also Ka Lae (South Point), black sand beach park Punalu'u, Hilo and many other great places around that part of Hawaii.

Although it was never explicitly mentioned, I left there with the sense that Volcano Country Cottages is run in a most environmentally friendly way.

I know I'll return to Hawaii, to the Volcano National Park - and to Volcano Country Cottages!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at the Ohelo Berry Cottage. The location is really great and the hosts were very nice and helpful. I knew before I arrived that breakfast was fruit and bread, every day. It tasted good and we enjoyed it. The room is dated and not very romantic, but we were mostly staying here for the good price and location to the volcano. I was happy to comply with the host's rule to wash my own dishes after breakfast. On the second day, we opted not to eat their provided breakfast so that I wouldn't have to wash my dishes. The bathroom is clean in the high use areas but mold above the shower and lots of debris in the overhead light was not appealing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Garret, Owner at Volcano Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Aloha, we are happy to say the bathroom in the Ohelo Berry Cottage has been cleaned and repainted. New light fixtures, all looks great! Other updates on the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#7 of 32 in Volcano
434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,032 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
0.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#13 of 32 in Volcano
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0545
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: £54 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing