We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and wonderful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Country Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Country Cottages
Ranked #9 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2007

These cottages are set in the rainforest just minutes away from the entrance to the national park. It is convenient, clean and a wonderful place to relax. We were amazed at how spacious our cottage was with large living room and kitchen dining area. It is new and very clean and the hosts have included amenities to make our stay more comfortable-space heater, flashlights, water purifier, umbrellas etc. Breakfast was left for us in the refrigerator consisting of fresh fruit and homemade breads which were delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend this place for couples and for families with young children.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alpinehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
104
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oregon city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2006

This was the best place we stayed at on the big island. Clean, friendly, and laid back. The setting is just great, especially the hot tub. Think hawaiian forest jungle, stary nite, sitting in a hot tub after a hard evenings walk on a'a lava. This location is great, especially if you are interested in seeing the glowing lava at night, without having to drive all the way back to kona or hilo.

I didn't mind not having a 'sit down' breakfast- as we were not expecting this. (i'm not really into that anyways-i'd rather get up at my own time, or be out hiking)

only wish we could have stayed longer....

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chinookgrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Artist House with his parents since there are 2 bedrooms, a living room/dining room, full kitchen, and very nicely redone bathroom. Sandy and Garret were both very helpful about the area and friendly to talk to about other parts of the island too. It was a bit rainy while there, but the natural surroundings , Hilo side and Volcano National Park were beautiful. I highly suggest VCC for your stay. It is a home away from home, esp. the Artist House. It is fully equipped with all utensils for cooking breakfast, making coffee, etc.. The fireplace at night is a nice way to hangout too in the living room. We look forward to returning here in the future. Mahalo.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank loves2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2006

Artist cottage was very nice and was also impressed with the other newer cottages. You will not be dissappointed. Very private and quite. Loved the beautful well kept yards and clean rooms. Thanks for opting to put dehumidifiers in your rooms. It made for much more comfortable evenings. Also a hugh thanks for suggesting the "Big Island Revealed" tour book.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2006

First of all, the place was imaculate! Absoultly no mildew smell like you have at some other B&B's. The surroundings were lovely, and the hosts were super friendly and helpful! We would DEFINATELY stay there again.

  • Liked — How clean it was.
  • Disliked — Ummmm.... I can't think of anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

In short, I'd definitely stay at this location in a future visit.

The cottage was located very close to the entrance of the Volcano National Park, which made planning our day hikes a lot easier.

The owners were very friendly and offered lots of suggestions for Volcano activities. The fruits and breads supplied for each morning's breakfast provided a nice start to the day.

The cottage was very clean and spacious. The full kitchen made it easy to cook our own food that we purchased at Costco's in Kona. Prices at the local Volcano store were quite expensive ($6.00 for a bag of Oreo's).

We only stayed 2 days in Volcano, but I think 3 days may have been better. If you plan on hiking to the lava flows, you need to start around 2pm. After a 45 minute drive, the 2 mile hike through the lava fields is very slow. Make sure you wear good shoes, have a lot of water, and feel comfortable walking on extremely uneven ground with lots of sharp edges. The walk back during night time is even slower. If you don't feel a need to see the Lava up close and personal, you can wait until the evening to see the lava from the distant location.

We are very grateful that TripAdvisor helped us locate this great Bed & Breakfast value.

  • Liked — Overall Value
  • Disliked — Narrow Driveway
  • Tips/Secrets — Just before Volcano, keep an eye out for the NeNe dwelling marked by specific signs. We were lucky enough to spot the endagered state bird of Hawaii.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelingTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ndog
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2006

Nice place, we were in the Ohelo Berry Cottage. Not bad, but a bit small, especially when we viewed the other houses. Do yourself a favor and upgrade. It's not that the Cottage was bad, just small and the others are much newer and larger, not to mention have their own washer/dryer.

The breakfast isn't gourmet, Costco muffins and some local fruit, but it did the job.

Garrett's helpful, if anything too helpful as he was bending over backward to answer questions for us.

The Thai place down the street was good as well.
Not alot to do there at night, but it's nice and cool and if the weather's not misty it's nice to relax on the porch.

Definitely recommend

  • Liked — The other houses & the hot tub
  • Disliked — having to take off your shoes when you went inside.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Property: Volcano Country Cottages
Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0545
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing