We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hidden Treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcano Country Cottages
Ranked #9 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2007

My husband and I visited Othello Berry cottage during our May 2007 stay on the Big Island. It is an adorable little cottage- perfect for two people. Clean, cozy and quiet. The grounds are nicely landscaped. We only had two days there and the owners were very helpful in guiding us to the best attractions in the amount of time we had. It is just a skip away from Volcano National Park which is great after a long day of exploring or an amazing night hike to see the lava flow. Also, the continental breakfast was fabulous! Because the area is quite small, the few restaurants close early so make sure you plan ahead. We had a wonderful time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventure19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2007

These cottages are set in the rainforest just minutes away from the entrance to the national park. It is convenient, clean and a wonderful place to relax. We were amazed at how spacious our cottage was with large living room and kitchen dining area. It is new and very clean and the hosts have included amenities to make our stay more comfortable-space heater, flashlights, water purifier, umbrellas etc. Breakfast was left for us in the refrigerator consisting of fresh fruit and homemade breads which were delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend this place for couples and for families with young children.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alpinehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2006

This was the best place we stayed at on the big island. Clean, friendly, and laid back. The setting is just great, especially the hot tub. Think hawaiian forest jungle, stary nite, sitting in a hot tub after a hard evenings walk on a'a lava. This location is great, especially if you are interested in seeing the glowing lava at night, without having to drive all the way back to kona or hilo.

I didn't mind not having a 'sit down' breakfast- as we were not expecting this. (i'm not really into that anyways-i'd rather get up at my own time, or be out hiking)

only wish we could have stayed longer....

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chinookgrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Artist House with his parents since there are 2 bedrooms, a living room/dining room, full kitchen, and very nicely redone bathroom. Sandy and Garret were both very helpful about the area and friendly to talk to about other parts of the island too. It was a bit rainy while there, but the natural surroundings , Hilo side and Volcano National Park were beautiful. I highly suggest VCC for your stay. It is a home away from home, esp. the Artist House. It is fully equipped with all utensils for cooking breakfast, making coffee, etc.. The fireplace at night is a nice way to hangout too in the living room. We look forward to returning here in the future. Mahalo.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank loves2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2006

Artist cottage was very nice and was also impressed with the other newer cottages. You will not be dissappointed. Very private and quite. Loved the beautful well kept yards and clean rooms. Thanks for opting to put dehumidifiers in your rooms. It made for much more comfortable evenings. Also a hugh thanks for suggesting the "Big Island Revealed" tour book.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

First of all, the place was imaculate! Absoultly no mildew smell like you have at some other B&B's. The surroundings were lovely, and the hosts were super friendly and helpful! We would DEFINATELY stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tdrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2006

In short, I'd definitely stay at this location in a future visit.

The cottage was located very close to the entrance of the Volcano National Park, which made planning our day hikes a lot easier.

The owners were very friendly and offered lots of suggestions for Volcano activities. The fruits and breads supplied for each morning's breakfast provided a nice start to the day.

The cottage was very clean and spacious. The full kitchen made it easy to cook our own food that we purchased at Costco's in Kona. Prices at the local Volcano store were quite expensive ($6.00 for a bag of Oreo's).

We only stayed 2 days in Volcano, but I think 3 days may have been better. If you plan on hiking to the lava flows, you need to start around 2pm. After a 45 minute drive, the 2 mile hike through the lava fields is very slow. Make sure you wear good shoes, have a lot of water, and feel comfortable walking on extremely uneven ground with lots of sharp edges. The walk back during night time is even slower. If you don't feel a need to see the Lava up close and personal, you can wait until the evening to see the lava from the distant location.

We are very grateful that TripAdvisor helped us locate this great Bed & Breakfast value.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank TravelingTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#16 of 32 in Volcano
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Country Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 545, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0545
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Country Cottages make paradise feel like home. The tranquil surroundings and cosy cottages help you relax and leave your world behind. We have several cottages to meet your needs, complete with a private bath, wireless internet access, hot tub access and usually a kitchen, living, and dining room. Breakfast is included and will be brought to your cottage. Our one-bedroom studio Ohelo Berry Cottage, sleeps one or two comfortably. Our two bedroom Artist's House will sleep up to four. The one bedroom Lehua Blossom Cottage and Ohia Forest Cottage will sleep four guests with a futon couch in the living room. Volcano Country Cottages sits on three breathtaking acres with hapu'u ferns, beautiful Ohia lehua trees and century old tsugi cedar trees. We are an excellent base for exploring the south east side of the island. You will be close to hiking trails in Volcanoes National Park and within walking distance of several wonderful restaurants in Volcano Village. Visit Hilo, Akaka Falls, and Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Country Cottages Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing