We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful setting but the internet didn't work.”

Review of Kipuka Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JefferyHo...
kailua kona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful setting but the internet didn't work.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was great and it was in a beautiful setting surrounded by hapu fern trees and luscious jungle. It was great having the wood burning stove and the kitchen was well equipped. We were disappointed that the internet didn't work because we were going to veg out with some Netflix on my tablet but we read books instead which was ok. The place felt nice and secluded and cozy. I really liked it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Aloha Jeffrey,
We're happy you enjoyed Kipuka and our little patch of rainforest. So sorry about the Internet problem. We got a new router and all is working well now.
Hope you can come back one day,
Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fourdarli...
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage is an oasis near Volcano National Park. We spent 3 nights in June before moving on to Kona for 4 nights. This is a perfect location to explore VNP.

We felt like we were secluded in our own private tropical forest!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Aloha Fourdarlings,

Mahalo nui loa (Thank you very much) for taking the time to share your experience at Kipuka Cottage. We're happy you enjoyed our little patch of rainforest near the park. Hope to have you stay with us again one day!
A Hui Hou (Until Next Time)
Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Knowledgable host. Knows the area. Clean neat and remote.

A very unique stay and and interesting setup.

We enjoyed our visit .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thanks for the nice review, Don, but I don't recognize your name as one of our guests in March. Did you get us mixed up with another cottage? Or perhaps the reservation was under another name?
Bill Harby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TONYfromT...
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a lovely retreat from the hussle and bussle of Waikiki”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled here to spend some time in and around the area, seeing the volcano and just relaxing. It is very close to the park and the instructions on how to get there plus some tips about food and amenities in the area helped make the arrival trouble free. It is off a side road and very secluded. The home is lovely and everything was there for us to enjoy a lovely stay. Like most people, we left some items there for the next folks...pay it forward. We loved sleeping at night with the sounds of the forest outside and will definitely make this a return destination in the near future. Only one thing, anyone who is mobility challenged will not like the spiral staircase to the upstairs bedroom. Other than that, this is a perfect spot to rest up and do some local exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and the local flora and fauna (many birds and plants to explore)
Liked least: spiral staircase to bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Aloha Tony,
Mahalo for taking the time to write. We're glad you enjoyed Kipuka Cottage and our little patch of native forest. Thanks to for pointing out that we have a rather narrow spiral staircase up to the loft. Hope to see you again. Happy trails!
A Hui Hou, (Until Next Time)
Bill Harby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
echonayth
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed at this cottage for 2 nights in March, wish we stayed longer. Fantastic cottage surrounded by nature, could not of asked for anything more.

Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Aloha echonayth,
We're so happy you enjoyed our Kipuka Cottage and the surrounding forest. Next, we hope you can stay longer!
A Hui Hou, (Until Next Time)
Bill Harby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelerW...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A wonderful, peaceful oasis so close to an extraordinary park”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We loved our stay at Kipuka. It is a beautiful cottage. We particularly loved the upstairs bedroom with all of the windows and light and the comfortable couch on the 1st floor with the huge window where we savored the bird song, the lush vegetation, the changing colors of the sky and the peacefulness. It is very close to Volcano National Park which offers so much. We can't wait to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Aloha Traveler,
Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to write. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay at Kipuka Cottage, particularly up there in the loft. It is kind of like hanging out with the birds, yeah? Looking forward to your return one day.
A Hui Hou (Until Next Time)
Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland...
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in the jungle!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in Volcano and we just loved the cottage. The setting is beautiful, and the open architecture with many large windows makes it feel like you are right out in the jungle (but with all the comforts of being inside!). We loved the loft - it feels like you are sleeping under the stars, and with the cold nights the soft, cozy flannel sheets and extra blankets made it difficult to get out of bed. We didn't cook but really appreciated the coffee grinder and espresso maker (great for enjoying all those kona coffees!) The wifi worked very well (we did reset it once or twice but otherwise was good). The location is great - about 5 minutes from the Volcanoes National Park entrance. The shower was amazing - an incredible view. Also I really liked the deck for a convenient place to drop our muddy shoes and gear (we did a lot of muddy hiking). There is a great stash of books including some great Hawaii guides. Definitely bring your music along and warm clothes for evening (it gets much colder than I expected there at night) and ... will be lovely!
P.S. We saw early reviews of it seeming musty. I think it's just stale air from being closed up - with all those huge windows it airs out in about 5 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture, the setting
Liked least: Dogs barking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Aloha Cleveland Wanderer.
Mahalo for your kind words. We're so happy you fell a little in love with Kipuka Cottage -- and our flannel sheets! Hope to have you stay with us again in the not-too-distant future, so I'll say ...
A Hui Hou (Until Next Time)
Bill Harby
owner, Kipuka Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing