We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic stay”
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet Kilauea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very romantic stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We've chosen the Hapu'u Forest Bungalow. It was so beautiful, a bungalow just for us with a lanai with a fireplace, a separate bedroom, a kitchen and a bathroom with a lavashower with big windows. So you have a direct vue of the rainforest while you're in the shower. The Bungalow is really located in the rainforest, absolute fabulous and really quite. The staff was really friendly. Everything was nice and clean. And it's only 5 minutes away from the Volcano N.P.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Myriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Hapu'u bungalow and always appreciate when guests share their fabulous experiences with us. Again, thank you for your comments and hope to see you back for any future Volcano vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    129
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
45
281
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This place was absolutely fantastic! So quiet and serene. If you want to escape the touristy type areas, it's so worth the drive from Hilo. Only 5 minutes from the Volcano National Park too and a wonderful restaurant, Kilauea Lodge. It felt like a bed & breakfast, and it even felt like staying in someone's home. The Ohana room is great chill spot, and the rom itself was gorgeous. Spacious bathroom and little kitchenette. We stayed in the Continental suite and I loved that the bed faced the window so we can see the rain and yet it was still very private. The breakfast was very simple but definitely satisfying and I believe it was only $6. Would absolutely stay here again! If you want a quiet, relaxing experience please stay here. Wish I'd gotten to stay more than 1 night. For as much as this place has to offer, the price is very reasonable and affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We enjoy hearing about our guests' experiences with us and appreciate any feedback or comments you may have. We definitely pride ourselves in being a place for guests to get away from the norm and enjoy the rain- forest surroundings we are so blessed with. We are happy that you had an enjoyable experience and hope you will return for any future vacations. Aloha and Mahalo from Chalet Kilauea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Being in the middle of the forest in the Hapu'u Forest Bungalow you almost forget you're next to a volcano on a Hawaiian Island. It's a very cool experience that Chalet Kilauea has created. We appreciated the updated touches to the bungalow. We loved that it was private and cozy. We enjoyed the jetted tub and the glass wall shower. The shower was like nothing I've ever seen before! If the weather were a little nicer we would have liked to sit on the porch to enjoy being in the rainforest. The grounds are lush and enjoyable to walk through. Breakfast was provided for a small cost but we were glad we chose it as the fruit and sweet breads were tasty. This property is an excellent location and worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hapu'u bungalow. Your comments are much appreciated and hope that you will choose Chalet Kilauea for any future vacations to the Big Island of Hawai'i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We come from Austria and we visited 3 Islands of Hawaii in June 2013.
One stay was in Chalet Kilauea and we were surprised from the beautiful and great location. We booked the Continental room and there was the next surprise. Very nice, clean and spacious rooms. In the morning we had delicious breakfast with several fruits and excellent coffee and tea. Also the receptionest was very friendly, booked our boat trip and and gave us some individual advices.
All in all an unforgettable residence and we would book Chalet Kilauea again.
Many Thanks to Bianca from the Austrian guests.

Room Tip: Continental room atr spacious and nice furnished and good equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Herbert56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking your time to review your stay at Chalet Kilauea. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit our beautiful rain-forest surroundings. Please come see us again on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i. Again, thank you and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hapu'u Forest Bungalow for two nights. What a great, quiet, private, cozy place to stay! This is a one bedroom cabin with livingroom, kitchen and on-suite bathroom. The bathroom has a jetted tub and the shower has a glass wall to the outside, so that you feel like you're showering in the forest. It's location is also very convenient, because a very short walk on a path through the forest gets you to reception or to breakfast. We would certainly stay here again if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildWestCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was a cute BB very close to Volcano National Park. The room was very up to date. Hotel staff was very friendly and the property was well taken care of. Breakfast was a bit high for what was available. Check in was quick and easy.Overall this is a great tropical hide a way!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Arrived at the property and felt like coming home from the very beginning. We had the Continental Suite which was just so nice. The personel at the reception are very helpful and supportive in regards to room requests but also providing very helpful information about the Island.

This is certainly a place which we would choose any time in the future again.

Thank you for making our stay so pleasent !

Harald & Petra

Room Tip: Continental Suite is sertainly worth to pay. You'll enjoy the time. However, if you want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
843 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
22.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
22.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
53.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Property: Chalet Kilauea
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing