We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area”
Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet Kilauea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in the Hapu'u Bungalow for 2 nights. Staff is very friendly and we thought the breakfast was fine (the sweet breads are yummy). Wifi worked well. A couple of hints (1) there's a blanket stored in the ottoman in the living room area. You'll need it, especially if you're not comfortable with space heaters while you're sleeping (that's all there are). I'm sure they're fine, but we're a little paranoid. (2) We did use the heaters to preheat the bathroom before showering. The bathroom can get very cold. (3) this is definitely different from what you'll experience elsewhere on the island. My allergies were crazy in Volcano village, but fine elsewhere (I think its the dampness).

Keep in mind there are limited resources in this area. There are 2 general stores where you can get some food/snacks. The kitchenette was nice to have for that purpose. There are a handful of restaurants in the area. We probably didn't need to stay 2 nights - one would have been sufficient to see most of the national park the next day. But of all the accommodations in this area, this is clearly the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawsonadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Hapu'u bungalow. I do agree that it does get a little "chilly" at night which is why we provide the heaters and blankets. Also, we are indeed a remote village on the Big Island, unlike any other for Hawaii. However, this is what makes us so unique and such a great "escape from the city life" for most guests. We have one of the few and most unique rain-forests in the world here, right at the base of the volcano, (an amazing place to see!!!) I would have to say that while one day may be enough to explore the National Park, for others, a week isn't enough. The national park here is the size of Oahu (our sister island) and there is more to do than you could possibly imagine for just one day. I hope you had a great time here on the Island and we hope to see you again for any future trips to the Big Island. Again, Mahalo! and Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    130
    46
    21
    17
See reviews for
46
285
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We and our son and daughter-in-law stayed here for two nights and found the staff very pleasant and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the setting delightful. They stayed in the Jade Room and we stayed in the Garden Room. The continental breakfast is $6 per person, plentiful, tasty, well presented, and a good value. They offer local fresh fruit, Hawaiian sweet bread, bagels, jam, butter, cream cheese, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, and tea. Self service is the rule, with the staff keeping the food and drink flowing. The Chalet is well located and close to the village and the Park entrance. We are well satisfied with our very enjoyable stay at the Chalet Kilauea. I suggest reading their web site and booking directly through the Chalet. The web site pretty much covers each room and its particular amenities.

Room Tip: We especially enjoyed the Garden Room, with its adjacent assigned parking spot and its wonderful pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all the wonderful comments you gave the Chalet Kilauea and particularly the Garden Room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of all the provided amenities in your rooms. We hope you had a wonderful vacation and hope to see you again on any future visits. Mahalo and Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Chalet Kilauea over the weekend. It was a wonderful visit. The first night we stayed in Volcano Hale and the next night we stayed in Chalet Kilauea. The room at Volcano Hale had a wonderful skylight and we could see the stars at night and then in the morning we could watch the clouds passing by while lying on our bed. The bathroom which was shared with two other rooms was clean and had a huge shower. We had a nice chat in the morning with a couple from Manitoba Canada. The Treehouse Suite at Chalet Kilauea is wonderful and unique with am amazing spiral staircase. The room has a beautiful large Jacuzzi bathtub which was very relaxing. Both bedrooms were immaculate and comfortable. The staff could not have been more pleasant and neither could our stay. The breakfast was simple but delicious and was a great way to start off the morning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mehu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to stay in two of our properties! We hope that you will come back and visit again. Thank you and have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just really neat! Breathe the air and appreciate where you come from. It was a great place to stay when spending special time with my fiance. The area is close to outdoor areas and not very populated!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiidavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great that you were able to immerse yourself in the surrounding beauty of Volcano and the serenity that our village offers. We hope to see you again on any future vacations to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We do not normally comments hotels unless extraordinarily good; this will be our 1st exception, thanks to the rudeness of the manager on duty overnight.

After (and before) quite some snorkeling/hiking/diving, we decided to spoil ourselves a bit for 1 night and get a room with Jacuzzi; price: 140$ (30$ more for the Jacuzzi inside). We arrived there a bit "late" (after 17.30) and the reception was closing already. We got the keys but when we entered in the room we discovered that there was no Jacuzzi. Well, no problem, we thought. Maybe a mistake or, because we arrived "late" they gave the room away already. We decided to call the manager on duty overnight (BTW the phone in our Continental Room was not working) to either ask a room switch, or a 30$ refund (30$ for Hawaii is NOTHING, believe me). Rather than make a customer happy, he decided to keep us 1.30h at the phone (12$ bill) telling us that it was not his problem, that websites like Orbitz are parasites and sell rooms with outdated images and information, that we should not complain and we should have paid more anyway etcetcetc. Cutting a very long phone-call short, he preferred never say sorry (not even once) and blame us/Orbitz for a wrong booking, rather than a much simpler room switch, or partial refund.
NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AVPES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding during a conversation you previously had with an employee here at Chalet Kilauea. We do in fact have jacuzzis in SOME of the rooms we offer. However, the guest did not book that category of rooms with Orbitz and we kindly tried to explain that to him. The mentioned jacuzzi is shown below from Orbitz:

From orbitz: "Amenities across the properties may include elements such as a fully-equipped kitchen, wood-burning fireplace, Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi, LCD TV, lava-rock waterfall shower, koi pond or forested surroundings"

I do understand where the guest may have been confused, but we do not state anything misleading in this statement. Amenities may include a jacuzzi only states that some rooms have them and some don't. I apologize for any confusion this may have caused our guest. Also, unfortunately for both parties, we were sold out that night and could not accommodate the guest with the room they demanded. Furthermore, the guest was threatening an employee and was asked multiple times to leave the property. Due to the severity of the demanding guest, we had to ask the guest to leave, (something we have not previously had to do). The guest became belligerent and continued threats. We offered a full refund if the guest agreed to leave, which they refused to take. The guest eventually hung up after we informed him that we would be calling law enforcement to have him removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in the bungalow and loved it, we really wish we could have stayed for more that one night. There is a nice patio outside with a chiminea which sadly we couldn't get to work.
The room is lovely with a little kitchenette with a microwave and seating area. Not a major grumble as they do have heaters in all rooms but a blanket would have been nice on the bed as we were a bit cold when we woke up.
5 minute drive from visitor centre and the thai restaurant we ate at.

It is cooler here so a jumper is required and raincoat. We didn't get time to try the communal hot tub but looked nice.

Breakfast is cereal, bagels, bread, white, brown and sweetbread, fruit, jam's etc, hot and cold drinks, I can assure you it will be the cheapest meal you will eat in Hawaii. It was very nice and filled us up
Loved my stay here thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairebooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We appreciate any comments and/or feedback that you may have. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree, it's a bit cooler here, considering that we are at a higher elevation. We always try to provide guests with everything they may need, including the provided heaters and extra blankets near the beds. It's great that you enjoyed the continental breakfast with all the island's breads and fresh fruits (and I agree, you won't find much cheaper than this / a coffee at starbucks is close to the same price:). We hope that you will come visit us again if you're in the area. Mahalo and Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were in the fern forest chalet and enjoyed it immensely! Spacious and charming inside and out! King-size bed, Jacuzzi tub, waterfall shower surrounded by forest, large living room, tv, small kitchenette and very close to Volcanoes National Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our charming Hapu'u Bungalow and all it has to offer. Hapu'u is one of the favorites of past guests, and we receive many compliments for the little "touches," such as the custom waterfall shower. We hope to see you again on any future vacations to Volcano, Hawaii. Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
22.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
51.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
22.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Property: Chalet Kilauea
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing